Author Topic: OXCE v5.5 for Android  (Read 6022 times)

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 4861
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
OXCE v5.5 for Android
« on: September 19, 2018, 09:31:12 am »
Android version has been upgraded to v5.0 too.

Download: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,5258.0.html
« Last Edit: May 19, 2019, 07:59:31 pm by Meridian »

Offline Nord

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • The Gate will open... someday.
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE for Android
« Reply #1 on: September 20, 2018, 07:31:21 am »
Great.
By the way, how's going with those old theme about special buttons for run/strafe/n.vision?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 4861
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE for Android
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2018, 04:31:34 pm »
There is a separate thread for it here: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,6590.0.html

It's still high on my todo list.

Offline Alphyn

  • Rookie
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE for Android
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2018, 05:54:53 pm »
Hi, I'm new here, so forgive me if this is not the right place to post it.

I've tried playing OXCE on Android and the combat controls feel really odd and unpredictable. In odrer to make a soldier go to a certain tile you need to click the tile directly over the tile you want him to go. To confirm movement, you need to tap the top of the cursor cage. If you tap the bottom of the cage where the actual tile is and where the circle with an X that shows the remaining TUs is, you will select the tile under it.

This is even more noticeable when controlling a tank. Intuitively, you need to tap the intersection of the four tiles you want the tank to occupy. Te results of this are unpredictable. What you actually need to do is to tap the tile which is over the northern tile of the 4 tiles you want the tank to go to.

It looks like this behavior is inherited from the desktop version. But it isn't a problem on desktop because you can see the cursor cage all the time as you hover the mouse cursor over the battlescape. But you can't hover on Android. If you tap and drag you scroll map instead, so more precision is required for the mobile controls.

This issue results in a lot of annoying misclicks. It's especially bad when you want to select the tile to the north of the currently selected and you tap the top of the cursor and accidentally confirm the movement.

Is there anything that can be done about this?
« Last Edit: September 21, 2018, 05:57:16 pm by Alphyn »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 4861
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE v5.0 for Android
« Reply #4 on: September 21, 2018, 06:06:05 pm »
Honestly, I don't know... I have never played more than 5 minutes at a time on a mobile phone/tablet.

Can some regular Android user confirm that it feels like this and it's not just Alphyn's issue? @Yataka? @Nord?

As for a fix for this:
1/ I don't know what kind of options are available... any ideas/suggestions?
2/ I am not really an Android developer, I just took the Android support from OpenXcom and merged it into OXCE... maybe @sfalexrog could help? He did the OpenXcom for Android port.

Offline Nord

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • The Gate will open... someday.
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE v5.0 for Android
« Reply #5 on: September 22, 2018, 08:53:55 am »
It is partially true, if you use smartphone with relative small screen.
It is so for pc version, but there you see a "cage" when move your mouse.
To fix this problem you need only to turn on a option "confirm moves" (or something like that) to tap screen twice to make unit go.

Offline Yataka Shimaoka

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 282
  • I'm the trouble maker
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE v5.0 for Android
« Reply #6 on: September 22, 2018, 09:08:16 am »
Nord already answered it, though I'm here to report an oddity. Every time at the start of your turn, when you see the screen indicating its your turn, rapidly press on the location where you want your soldier to move. Even if its just the tile close to you, you'll lose all your TUs in that turn. I had this problem since the beginning, but always fails to report it

Offline Wyldesnelsson

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE v5.0 for Android
« Reply #7 on: September 28, 2018, 04:57:04 am »
Would it be possible to run mod packs like piratez, fmp or x-com files on the android port? if yes what changes/setup/whatever would need to be done? I did do some coding on adroid in my internship, I do know a bit, and judging by the fact these mods have a separate launcher all that would need to be done would be some  way to integrate that code into android am I on the mark, is it not possible or is it as simple as setting the files?

Offline Nord

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • The Gate will open... someday.
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE v5.0 for Android
« Reply #8 on: September 28, 2018, 07:04:21 am »
It is allready possible, just needs a plenty of RAM.
Copy files from "mods" folder of modpack to your mods directory.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 4861
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE v5.0 for Android
« Reply #9 on: September 28, 2018, 10:22:27 am »
It is allready possible, just needs a plenty of RAM.
Copy files from "mods" folder of modpack to your mods directory.

In the next version... in a few weeks... the RAM requirements will be drastically reduced.

Offline Wyldesnelsson

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE v5.0 for Android
« Reply #10 on: September 28, 2018, 04:33:56 pm »
It is allready possible, just needs a plenty of RAM.
Copy files from "mods" folder of modpack to your mods directory.
Roughly how much ram are we talking about here?

Offline Nord

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
  • The Gate will open... someday.
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE v5.0 for Android
« Reply #11 on: September 28, 2018, 07:18:11 pm »
Roughly how much ram are we talking about here?
Like 1,5GB for The X-com files and ~2GB for X-pirates.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 4861
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE v5.1 for Android
« Reply #12 on: October 03, 2018, 10:58:17 pm »
OXCE 5.1 for Android is ready.

Main feature for mods is lazy-loading extraSprites... which should drastically decrease memory (RAM) requirements and significantly improve startup time.

Download at the usual place: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,5258.0.html

Offline Stoddard

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 457
  • in a fey mood
    • View Profile
    • Linux builds & stuff
Re: OXCE v5.1 for Android
« Reply #13 on: October 12, 2018, 07:12:21 pm »
Btw it crashes on startup, just before the main menu. Nothing in the log.

Both 5.0 and 5.1 on my honor 9 lite, android 8.

Anyone got any idea how to debug that?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 4861
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE v5.1 for Android
« Reply #14 on: October 12, 2018, 07:35:56 pm »
Anyone got any idea how to debug that?

Don't know.
But it works on my samsung galaxy S4, android 5.0.1