Author Topic: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread  (Read 37687 times)

Offline robin

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
  • ULTIMATE ROOKIE
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #345 on: November 08, 2019, 11:11:17 pm »
Still haven't tested, but it does say:
Quote
If you were using these bigobs in your mod, you have 2 options how to fix it:
What I get from this is that I should use the other fixes only if I have those indexes already occupied.

Tested: lol nope it doesn't work
« Last Edit: November 08, 2019, 11:15:57 pm by robin »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5578
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #346 on: November 08, 2019, 11:18:39 pm »
What I get from this is that I should use the other fixes only if I have those indexes already occupied.

No, that's not what it says :(

It says that if you had a negative index used anywhere, it will stop working (in 100% of cases) and you will need to fix it in one of the 2 provided ways.

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 317
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #347 on: November 21, 2019, 08:20:39 am »
When trying to update OXCE version received:

Code: [Select]
Error for 'STR_TANK_CANNON_ALLOY': offset '9106' exceeds mod size limit 1000 in set 'BIGOBS.PCK'
Can get around, expand at least to 10,000, or completely remove this restriction?
« Last Edit: November 21, 2019, 08:24:15 am by Ethereal »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5578
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #348 on: November 21, 2019, 10:15:31 am »
Can get around, expand at least to 10,000, or completely remove this restriction?

The restriction is there to prevent conflicts between mods, save memory and to improve performance.

I recommend to use smaller indices before you start using bigger ones.

If you are already using most of the indices below 1000, you can tell OpenXcom to reserve more memory for your mod in the metadata.yml file. Example:

Code: [Select]
name: "X-Com Files"
version: "1.0.2"
requiredExtendedVersion: "6.1.1"
author: "Solarius Scorch"
description: "snip"
id: x-com-files
master: xcom1
reservedSpace: 2        # this reserves 2,000 indices in the memory... if you want to reserve 10,000 indices you can write reservedSpace: 10
« Last Edit: November 22, 2019, 10:21:12 am by Meridian »

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 317
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #349 on: November 21, 2019, 11:05:16 am »
If you are already using most of the indices below 1000, you can tell OpenXcom to reserve more memory for your mod in the metadata.yml file. Example:

Thank you very much. Now everything works.

Offline robin

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
  • ULTIMATE ROOKIE
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #350 on: November 21, 2019, 10:02:24 pm »
I see there are several options to define psi devices/weapons. Can the AI use them or is it always going to fallback on the ALIEN_PSI_WEAPON ?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5578
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #351 on: November 22, 2019, 12:04:49 am »
I see there are several options to define psi devices/weapons. Can the AI use them or is it always going to fallback on the ALIEN_PSI_WEAPON ?

AI can use other weapons too.

Offline robin

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
  • ULTIMATE ROOKIE
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #352 on: November 23, 2019, 12:32:03 am »
Code: [Select]
  - type: STR_PSICLONE
    requires:
      - STR_PSICLONE
    size: 0.1
    costSell: 63000
    weight: 5
    bigSprite: 456
    floorSprite: 456
    handSprite: 456
    hitAnimation: 96
    psiAnimation: 96
    hitSound: 36
    psiSound: 96
    battleType: 9
    twoHanded: false
    invWidth: 1
    invHeight: 2
    accuracyMultiplier:  # but what is the base accuracy? if they're multipliers and base accuracy is 0, then 0*x=0
      psiSkill: 0.5
      flatHundred: 0.5
    tuUse: 25
    tuMindControl: 0  # diables mind control
    tuPanic: 25
    flatRate: true
    recoveryPoints: 8
    armor: 15
    attraction: 1
    psiRequired: false
    #aimRange: 1  # what about this, can dropoff work without it...?
    dropoff: 1  # does this reduce the accuracy over distance of mind control and panic too, or only the stun attack???
                     # what i'm trying to achieve is the chance of panic success to decrease with distance
    psiAttackName: STR_STUN_UNIT
    damageType: 6  # stun
    power: 50
    powerRangeReduction: 1
    damageBonus:
      psiStrength: 0.5
    damageAlter:
      ArmorEffectiveness: 0
      FixRadius: 0
      RandomType: 2
      IgnoreDirection: true
    LOSRequired: false

This seems to work. If I assign it to an unit with psiSkill=0, will the unit use this?
(Also I have lot's of doubts about how this all works...  :-[)

Maybe I should ass these in there:
Code: [Select]
    accuracyPanic: 60
    accuracyMindControl: 0
    accuracyUse: 50  # how does this accuracy work? I want the attack to always hit, like a psi attack
« Last Edit: November 23, 2019, 12:39:33 am by robin »

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 317
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #353 on: November 27, 2019, 04:59:03 pm »
Meridian please tell us how "mindPower" (facilities) works? The search provides links only to your presentations without any explanation.
« Last Edit: November 27, 2019, 05:00:52 pm by Ethereal »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5578
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #354 on: November 27, 2019, 05:17:19 pm »
Meridian please tell us how "mindPower" (facilities) works? The search provides links only to your presentations without any explanation.

Vanilla mind shield facility has a mind power of 1.
If you build 2 mind shield facilities in vanilla, they have together a mind power of 2.

In OXCE, instead of building 3 mind shields with power 1, you could also build just 1 mind shield with power 3... both would have the same effect.

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 317
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #355 on: November 27, 2019, 05:34:23 pm »
Vanilla mind shield facility has a mind power of 1.
If you build 2 mind shield facilities in vanilla, they have together a mind power of 2.

In OXCE, instead of building 3 mind shields with power 1, you could also build just 1 mind shield with power 3... both would have the same effect.

Oh, if I knew before ... Thanks for the answer. I think that for this parameter it is worth giving a more detailed description in the "ruleset reference", so that more questions would not arise. It says - "The power of the mind shield provided by this facility.", which misled me.

Offline Finnik

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #356 on: November 29, 2019, 12:45:49 am »
Is it doable to make a code addition to let modder define UFO in alienDeployment, and then transfer this info to map generation? As for now for many thinks like Cult houses in XCF we need to define the whole mapscript for such deployment - to add specific ufo into mapscript. There is a lot of copypasting because of it. And it does not let me use terrain-specific mapscripts with such a deployment, where is a need to define a ufo. That multiply copypasting to the near-impossible limit.

UPD: looks like there are some ways (https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,7631.0.html) =)
« Last Edit: November 29, 2019, 01:13:24 pm by Finnik »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5578
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #357 on: November 29, 2019, 08:50:38 pm »
New OXCE v6.2 is up.

2019-11-29
 - BREAKING CHANGE: Option for extended running behavior: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,7623.0.html
 - BREAKING CHANGE: Option for extended weapon reload cost: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,7613.0.html
 - Weapon/ammo category "sharing": https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,7632.0.html
 - Medikit targets: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,7633.0.html
 - EXPERIMENTAL: Options>Folders GUI
 - Mod startup check: Manufacturing time must be greater than zero
 - Unhardcoded alien inventory offsets: see 'alienInventoryOffsetX' and 'alienInventoryOffsetBigUnit'
 - Don't load custom mods from the "standard" folder
 - A few more hotkeys: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,7561.0.html
 - Consider monthly performance bonus during arc/mission/event scripts
 - Fix grenade timer during civilian missions
 - various bugfixes

Download: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,5258.0.html

OpenXcom ruleset validator has been updated too: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,6552.0.html

Updated ruleset reference: https://www.ufopaedia.org/index.php/Ruleset_Reference_Nightly_(OpenXcom)

Offline robin

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1027
  • ULTIMATE ROOKIE
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #358 on: December 01, 2019, 10:07:05 pm »
how to define damage types?
should i just add the extra modifiers to all the armors? but then how to name them?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5578
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #359 on: December 01, 2019, 10:44:46 pm »
You don't have to change all armors, if you don't define anything it will be considered 100%.

Code: [Select]
  STR_DAMAGE_10: "10"
  STR_DAMAGE_11: "11"
  STR_DAMAGE_12: "12"
  STR_DAMAGE_13: "13"
  STR_DAMAGE_14: "14"
  STR_DAMAGE_15: "15"
  STR_DAMAGE_16: "16"
  STR_DAMAGE_17: "17"
  STR_DAMAGE_18: "18"
  STR_DAMAGE_19: "19"