aliens

Author Topic: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread  (Read 457972 times)

Offline Ethereal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 628
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #840 on: August 11, 2021, 07:45:53 pm »
There is one more option for the players.
Ctrl+X (during idle BattleScape) toggles unit response sounds on/off.

Yes, it is much more convenient. Can add such a function to the "Links" menu?
« Last Edit: August 11, 2021, 07:53:08 pm by Ethereal »

Offline Ethereal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 628
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #841 on: August 12, 2021, 05:16:49 pm »
How to remove the measurement system in miles? In the original there was a metric system, and now go to "stats for nerds" and see some horror, in the form of speed in knots and distance in miles. How to get rid of this?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 8626
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #842 on: August 12, 2021, 10:43:58 pm »
How to remove the measurement system in miles? In the original there was a metric system, and now go to "stats for nerds" and see some horror, in the form of speed in knots and distance in miles. How to get rid of this?

Can you post an example/screenshot. I don't know what you mean.

Offline Ethereal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 628
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #843 on: August 13, 2021, 06:53:51 am »
Can you post an example/screenshot. I don't know what you mean.

Screenshots. I wanted to say that all these recalculations between miles and kilometers are unnecessary. I would really like to see in" stats for nerds " only what is written in the ".rul "file, and how to name these conditional units, everyone should decide for himself, through "extraStrings".

I don't know how to say it better... In general, need a toggle of basic calculus systems. We have adopted the metric system in Russia and no one measures anything in knots and miles. I set the characteristics of objects and write descriptions guided by the metric system (I don't know any others), and as a result, some kind of mess turns out.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 8626
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #844 on: August 13, 2021, 09:31:08 am »
In the original there was a metric system

You said that in the original there was a metric system.
If there is a difference between the original and OpenXcom somewhere, I'm willing to fix it (unless it was a clear bug in the original)... but you didn't show any difference to the original.

As for "stats for nerds", it shows true units as used for real calculations.

I also have no idea how much a mile or a knot is... I'm from Europe... that's why I added conversion to kilometers and to km/h.
But the originals will stay because that's how they are written in rul files and both modders and players deserve to see the true ruleset values, which is the primary purpose of "stats for nerds".

Online Mathel

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Do not mistake Muton for mutton.
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #845 on: August 14, 2021, 05:26:52 pm »
So I ran UFO: Enemy unknown in DOSBox to check it.
Turns out, it was inconsistent.

Radar ranges in miles, Aircraft armament ranges in KM, Aircraft speeds without units.

Offline Ethereal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 628
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #846 on: August 14, 2021, 05:42:49 pm »
So I ran UFO: Enemy unknown in DOSBox to check it.
Turns out, it was inconsistent.

Radar ranges in miles, Aircraft armament ranges in KM, Aircraft speeds without units.

This, of course, makes some mess in a clear picture. I was also surprised by this. I were even more surprised by the three Russifications for the dos version. In one, everything is translated into kilometers, in another into miles, in the third... It is better to delete the third Russification and forget it as a terrible dream.

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1510
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #847 on: August 23, 2021, 09:46:53 pm »
I don't worry whether it's in kilometers or miles as long as it's listed which one it is and the values are correct. I just think of it as Magic Numbers A and Magic Numbers B, because they're really just good for comparison to each other.

For those who don't know, 1 knot is 1 nautical mile per hour. The base game uses knots for speed and nautical miles for distance on the geoscape, and it uses km for distance in the interception window. With knots vs nautical miles, you're really just comparing aircraft speed to flight distance, or flight time, so you don't need to know how far a nautical mile is. Similarly, in the interception window, you're simply comparing one weapon's range with another weapon's range, so you don't need to know how long a kilometer is.

Offline 0xEBJC

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 178
  • Y'all are awesome! Thankful for this community.
    • View Profile
    • My Projects
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #848 on: September 11, 2021, 04:43:36 pm »
Hey Yankes,

Just wondering if your YAML syntax for mod extensions supports starting base? 
Like the following

Code: [Select]
startingBase:
  facilities: !add
    - type: STR_GENERAL_BUILDING
      x: 3
      y: 2

or

Code: [Select]
startingBase:
  items: !add
    STR_MARK_I_ARMOR: 1

also, is it possible to update properties of items without rewriting the entire items properties like such

Code: [Select]
ufopaedia:
  - id: STR_LMG
    requires: !add
      - STR_ADVANCED_FIREARMS
  - id: STR_LMG_CLIP
    requires: !add
      - STR_ADVANCED_FIREARMS
  - id: STR_LMG_AA_CLIP
    requires: !add
      - STR_ADVANCED_FIREARMS

or not sure on this one either?

Code: [Select]
  - type: STR_AUTO_CANNON
    tuAuto: 40
    tuSnap: 28
    tuAimed: 60
    autoShots: 6

I'm currently testing, but the starting base isn't working.

Thanks!

Offline Yankes

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 3208
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #849 on: September 11, 2021, 08:40:29 pm »
Answer is simple `!info` will give you hit if given node support this.

For given question, `startingBase` do not support this, overall this nodes have specific handling that prevent use of this functionality.
For `ufopaedia` is not implemented but could be supported.

Offline mercy

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 338
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #850 on: September 16, 2021, 06:39:42 pm »
Can the turret be turned for tanks 85mm and 60mm cannons?
I searched through the forum, but only found CTRL + RMB and touch buttons. They don't work: my whole tanks are turning, just like the RMB function on all units.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 8626
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #851 on: September 16, 2021, 06:46:23 pm »
Can the turret be turned for tanks 85mm and 60mm cannons?
I searched through the forum, but only found CTRL + RMB and touch buttons. They don't work: my whole tanks are turning, just like the RMB function on all units.

You need the "alternate movement methods" user setting turned on (the one that enables running and strafing).

Offline 0xEBJC

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 178
  • Y'all are awesome! Thankful for this community.
    • View Profile
    • My Projects
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #852 on: September 16, 2021, 08:00:33 pm »
I'm guessing this is a problem with X-Com files, but maybe an underlining issue with OXCE.  I'm running v7.0 13 Mar 2021 and XCF v2.0.1 as of 6d ago.  I figure I'd post here instead of on github ticket since it doesn't look like that option is enabled. Posting on openxcom.org/forum OXCE & on mod.io --> X-Com Files, not sure who would ultimately track this issue.

-Issue
Caused By:
-- UFO detected --> Intercept with 'public car' --> UFO detection lost --> choose 'patrol'

Effect:
-- public car immediately disappears from globe geoscape --> open up base menu, equip craft --> shows the craft is at the base currently --> next time an event comes up and choose intercept with same 'public car' --> it immediately appears at the location that it dispersal.

sorry I didn't have a save file for reproducing this.

-JC

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 8626
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #853 on: September 16, 2021, 08:06:16 pm »
Sorry, I don't understand the description, too much stuff going on.

Can you create just a single list of numbered steps to follow? And clearly highlight the step which contains the unexpected behaviour.

(And most likely the save will be needed too)

Offline 0xEBJC

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 178
  • Y'all are awesome! Thankful for this community.
    • View Profile
    • My Projects
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #854 on: September 16, 2021, 09:05:22 pm »
Yeah, sorry for the confusion.

This is early in the game progression of X-Com Files modpack, before blackops unlocked

Geoscape view
1.) UFO Detection
2.) Choose "Intercept"
3.) Choose "Public/Car"
4.) Public/Car is flying towards UFO
5.) UFO tracking lost
6.) At Menu "what to do with craft" - choose 'patrol'

Effect[1] 'public/car' yellow dot on geoscape immediately disappears.

7.) Immediately goto Base Menu
8.) Goto Equip Craft Menu
9.) 'public/car' shows 'ready' and is at the base

Expected[1] 'public/car' should be 'returning' and showing up as moving yellow dot on geoscape globe

10.) Later... another mission pops up on the geoscape view
11.) Choose intercept
12.) Choose public/car (the same one that disappeared earlier) (this will also be the very next time to choose this craft)

Effect[2]  'public/car' yellow dot immediate appears at the location on the globe where it disappeared, (not originating from the base location)

After that I didn't see this glitch again. and didn't think to post/comment on it until any save games around the time of the glitch were all overwritten with later in the game progression.

-JC
« Last Edit: September 16, 2021, 09:07:28 pm by 0xEBJC »