aliens

Author Topic: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread  (Read 257242 times)

Offline Ethereal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #840 on: July 24, 2021, 02:22:48 pm »
- Craft returning after mission don't join dogfights

Meridian, please make it an option that can be enabled or disabled as desired.

Although recently an aggressive UFO destroyed my ship returning from a mission, the player himself must take measures to prevent such a development of events and send interceptors to escort the transports. I made a mistake and was punished, but I am against the elimination of this threat.

Offline Juku121

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 350
  • We're all mad here.
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #841 on: July 28, 2021, 02:45:14 am »
- User option for (mouse) thumb buttons support (`thumbButtons: true/false` in options.cfg)
Is there something setup-specific about this, or does it always default to 'false'? Because if I hadn't remembered this from earlier versions and gone looking for how to re-enable it, I would never have suspected it was a thing.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7494
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #842 on: July 28, 2021, 10:07:31 am »
Is there something setup-specific about this, or does it always default to 'false'? Because if I hadn't remembered this from earlier versions and gone looking for how to re-enable it, I would never have suspected it was a thing.

Always defaults to false.

Offline Ethereal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #843 on: August 11, 2021, 07:45:53 pm »
There is one more option for the players.
Ctrl+X (during idle BattleScape) toggles unit response sounds on/off.

Yes, it is much more convenient. Can add such a function to the "Links" menu?
« Last Edit: August 11, 2021, 07:53:08 pm by Ethereal »

Offline Ethereal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #844 on: August 12, 2021, 05:16:49 pm »
How to remove the measurement system in miles? In the original there was a metric system, and now go to "stats for nerds" and see some horror, in the form of speed in knots and distance in miles. How to get rid of this?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7494
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #845 on: August 12, 2021, 10:43:58 pm »
How to remove the measurement system in miles? In the original there was a metric system, and now go to "stats for nerds" and see some horror, in the form of speed in knots and distance in miles. How to get rid of this?

Can you post an example/screenshot. I don't know what you mean.

Offline Ethereal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #846 on: August 13, 2021, 06:53:51 am »
Can you post an example/screenshot. I don't know what you mean.

Screenshots. I wanted to say that all these recalculations between miles and kilometers are unnecessary. I would really like to see in" stats for nerds " only what is written in the ".rul "file, and how to name these conditional units, everyone should decide for himself, through "extraStrings".

I don't know how to say it better... In general, need a toggle of basic calculus systems. We have adopted the metric system in Russia and no one measures anything in knots and miles. I set the characteristics of objects and write descriptions guided by the metric system (I don't know any others), and as a result, some kind of mess turns out.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7494
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #847 on: August 13, 2021, 09:31:08 am »
In the original there was a metric system

You said that in the original there was a metric system.
If there is a difference between the original and OpenXcom somewhere, I'm willing to fix it (unless it was a clear bug in the original)... but you didn't show any difference to the original.

As for "stats for nerds", it shows true units as used for real calculations.

I also have no idea how much a mile or a knot is... I'm from Europe... that's why I added conversion to kilometers and to km/h.
But the originals will stay because that's how they are written in rul files and both modders and players deserve to see the true ruleset values, which is the primary purpose of "stats for nerds".

Offline Mathel

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 203
  • Do not mistake Muton for mutton.
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #848 on: August 14, 2021, 05:26:52 pm »
So I ran UFO: Enemy unknown in DOSBox to check it.
Turns out, it was inconsistent.

Radar ranges in miles, Aircraft armament ranges in KM, Aircraft speeds without units.

Offline Ethereal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #849 on: August 14, 2021, 05:42:49 pm »
So I ran UFO: Enemy unknown in DOSBox to check it.
Turns out, it was inconsistent.

Radar ranges in miles, Aircraft armament ranges in KM, Aircraft speeds without units.

This, of course, makes some mess in a clear picture. I was also surprised by this. I were even more surprised by the three Russifications for the dos version. In one, everything is translated into kilometers, in another into miles, in the third... It is better to delete the third Russification and forget it as a terrible dream.

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1478
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #850 on: August 23, 2021, 09:46:53 pm »
I don't worry whether it's in kilometers or miles as long as it's listed which one it is and the values are correct. I just think of it as Magic Numbers A and Magic Numbers B, because they're really just good for comparison to each other.

For those who don't know, 1 knot is 1 nautical mile per hour. The base game uses knots for speed and nautical miles for distance on the geoscape, and it uses km for distance in the interception window. With knots vs nautical miles, you're really just comparing aircraft speed to flight distance, or flight time, so you don't need to know how far a nautical mile is. Similarly, in the interception window, you're simply comparing one weapon's range with another weapon's range, so you don't need to know how long a kilometer is.

Offline 0xEBJC

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Y'all are awesome! Thankful for this community.
    • View Profile
    • My Projects
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #851 on: September 11, 2021, 04:43:36 pm »
Hey Yankes,

Just wondering if your YAML syntax for mod extensions supports starting base? 
Like the following

Code: [Select]
startingBase:
  facilities: !add
    - type: STR_GENERAL_BUILDING
      x: 3
      y: 2

or

Code: [Select]
startingBase:
  items: !add
    STR_MARK_I_ARMOR: 1

also, is it possible to update properties of items without rewriting the entire items properties like such

Code: [Select]
ufopaedia:
  - id: STR_LMG
    requires: !add
      - STR_ADVANCED_FIREARMS
  - id: STR_LMG_CLIP
    requires: !add
      - STR_ADVANCED_FIREARMS
  - id: STR_LMG_AA_CLIP
    requires: !add
      - STR_ADVANCED_FIREARMS

or not sure on this one either?

Code: [Select]
  - type: STR_AUTO_CANNON
    tuAuto: 40
    tuSnap: 28
    tuAimed: 60
    autoShots: 6

I'm currently testing, but the starting base isn't working.

Thanks!

Offline Yankes

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2765
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #852 on: September 11, 2021, 08:40:29 pm »
Answer is simple `!info` will give you hit if given node support this.

For given question, `startingBase` do not support this, overall this nodes have specific handling that prevent use of this functionality.
For `ufopaedia` is not implemented but could be supported.

Offline mercy

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #853 on: September 16, 2021, 06:39:42 pm »
Can the turret be turned for tanks 85mm and 60mm cannons?
I searched through the forum, but only found CTRL + RMB and touch buttons. They don't work: my whole tanks are turning, just like the RMB function on all units.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7494
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #854 on: September 16, 2021, 06:46:23 pm »
Can the turret be turned for tanks 85mm and 60mm cannons?
I searched through the forum, but only found CTRL + RMB and touch buttons. They don't work: my whole tanks are turning, just like the RMB function on all units.

You need the "alternate movement methods" user setting turned on (the one that enables running and strafing).