Author Topic: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste  (Read 160861 times)

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 8665
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1470 on: October 25, 2018, 07:30:33 pm »
I found the problem: apparently all ranks for these race except lowest and highest were Leaders, and Fighters are crewed by rank 4 (normally Navigators). This race simply doesn't have Navigators, Medics or Engineers (same in vanilla).
I changed the Ethereal race to also have Soldiers on rank 4.

Offline nicedayright

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1471 on: October 26, 2018, 01:00:54 am »
Sorry it took me so long, I'm phoneposting due to no internet.

edit: woo, I'm superfluous, ignore me.
« Last Edit: October 26, 2018, 01:34:25 am by nicedayright »

Offline Nord

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 881
  • The Gate will open... someday.
    • View Profile
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1472 on: October 30, 2018, 06:30:46 pm »
I was  confused.
Code: [Select]
  - name: STR_COELACANTH_GAS_CANNON_AP_AMMO
    category: STR_AMMUNITION
maybe move to hwp ammo?

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 8665
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1473 on: October 30, 2018, 06:46:12 pm »
I was  confused.
Code: [Select]
  - name: STR_COELACANTH_GAS_CANNON_AP_AMMO
    category: STR_AMMUNITION
maybe move to hwp ammo?

Yes indeed, a bug. Thanks.

Offline OXC_temp

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1474 on: November 01, 2018, 09:12:14 pm »
Ratings below -1000 are not given a rating.

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 8665
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1475 on: November 03, 2018, 09:03:49 pm »
Thanks, fixed.
(I hope nobody goes below -9999)

Offline legionof1

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1425
  • Bullets go that way. Money comes this way.
    • View Profile
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1476 on: November 04, 2018, 04:10:25 am »
i'm sure nobody with take that as a challenge  ;)

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 8665
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1477 on: November 04, 2018, 04:15:49 am »
i'm sure nobody with take that as a challenge  ;)

You would have to be so great at sucking, that if there was a competition in sucking, you would only take second place, because you suck so damn hard.

Offline Alex_D

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1478 on: November 04, 2018, 08:46:52 am »
I just started this mod. Very good!

Two comments:
- City of Maracaibo, Venezuela, is way off location in the geoscape.  The actual location is:
lon: 5.0304582889272318
lat: -0.19171555321853498

- I noticed something odd with the Audio. The music volume level in geoscape sort of controls the volume for the whole UI and effects. And when switched to battlescape the volume sort of changes. I haven't experienced such problem with Piratez. Then I noticed that the EXE build of OXCE in Piratez is 2018-10-14 and the one in XCF is 2018-10-07. Therefore I must assume the audio problem may be related to the EXE build. I suppose I can update the EXE with the one from Piratez and things should work fine.


Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 8665
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1479 on: November 04, 2018, 12:26:44 pm »
I tried using your coordinates, but it's somewhere west of Libreville... :) Probably some language issue?

As for the sounds, I can't really say much - I haven't noticed. And it's up to the devs anyway.

Offline krautbernd

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 450
    • View Profile
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1480 on: November 04, 2018, 01:31:21 pm »
As far as i can tell from looking at the screenshots, openxcom also uses Greenwich as a prime meridian. You should be able to use the actual coordinates (10°39′N 71°38′W as per wikipedia), i.e. 10.65, 71.63.

Offline gix

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1481 on: November 04, 2018, 05:04:26 pm »
Hi, Solarius
In armor_XCOMFILES.rul (0.9.6. b and c) you have twice the STR_XCOM_CYBERDISC_ARMOR (for both laser and plasma variants). The latter shouldn't be there as is fulfilled by STR_XCOM_CYBERDISC_ARMOR_ORANGE, right?
As well, the STR_NONE_UC and STR_NONE_H_UC have 2 builtInWeapons sections...
« Last Edit: November 04, 2018, 05:19:14 pm by gix »

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 8665
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1482 on: November 04, 2018, 06:55:31 pm »
As far as i can tell from looking at the screenshots, openxcom also uses Greenwich as a prime meridian. You should be able to use the actual coordinates (10°39′N 71°38′W as per wikipedia), i.e. 10.65, 71.63.

Yes, thanks, but Alex_D specified different coordinates. Just wanted to make sure what his intention was.

Hi, Solarius
In armor_XCOMFILES.rul (0.9.6. b and c) you have twice the STR_XCOM_CYBERDISC_ARMOR (for both laser and plasma variants). The latter shouldn't be there as is fulfilled by STR_XCOM_CYBERDISC_ARMOR_ORANGE, right?
As well, the STR_NONE_UC and STR_NONE_H_UC have 2 builtInWeapons sections...

You are right, these are duplication bugs. Many thanks, fixed.

Offline Alex_D

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 259
    • View Profile
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1483 on: November 05, 2018, 01:26:34 am »
Yes, thanks, but Alex_D specified different coordinates. Just wanted to make sure what his intention was.

I suppose I put the coordinates in the wrong units. The number I got was from looking at the save game and see the destination coordinates of the vehicle, as shown on the screenshot. But maybe I don't understand the inner workings of the game as much as the modders here :)

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 8665
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Bugs, crashes, typos & bad taste
« Reply #1484 on: November 05, 2018, 01:46:41 am »
As far as i can tell from looking at the screenshots, openxcom also uses Greenwich as a prime meridian. You should be able to use the actual coordinates (10°39′N 71°38′W as per wikipedia), i.e. 10.65, 71.63.

Umm, this is Antarctica.