aliens

Author Topic: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread  (Read 148274 times)

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6841
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #720 on: February 25, 2021, 03:17:21 pm »
And yet in 6.9.6. "ambienceRandom" and "ambience" are carried over from the first mission to the second, which is not in 6.9.1 version. Moreover, if the second has its own "ambience" - then both work. I just put it before the fact.

И тем не менее в 6.9.6. "ambienceRandom" и "ambience" переносятся из первой миссии во вторую, чего в 6.9.1 версии нет. Причём, если во второй есть свой "ambience" - то работают оба. Просто ставлю перед фактом.

Doesn't happen for me.

If you have a way to reproduce, share the necessary files, saves and steps.

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #721 on: February 25, 2021, 03:33:45 pm »
Okay.
But first you need to download and install my modification.  https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,5724.0.html

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #722 on: February 25, 2021, 05:41:16 pm »
Now for the details. If the first mission has "ambienceRandom" and the second "ambience:", then the "ambience:" of the second mission is added to the "ambienceRandom" list of the first mission. In version 6.9.1 this is definitely not the case. Introduced with installation 6.9.6. Checked it three times on both versions.

Теперь подробности. Если первая миссия имеет "ambienceRandom", а вторая "ambience:", то "ambience:" второй миссии добавляется к списку "ambienceRandom" первой миссии. В версии 6.9.1 такого точно нет. Появилось с установкой 6.9.6. Проверил трижды на обеих версиях.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6841
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #723 on: February 25, 2021, 08:38:46 pm »
The behavior is the same on v6.9.1 and v6.9.6

The different results are caused by RNG.

Your second stage has two different terrains with two different ambient sounds. The result depends on which terrain is picked.

Code: [Select]
  - type: STR_ALIEN_CAVE_MISSION_P2
...
    terrains:
      - UBASE
      - LEVEL

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #724 on: February 25, 2021, 09:21:15 pm »
No, that's not the point. Both underground locations have NO bird sounds from the surface. UBASE does not have " ambience:". LEVEL has, and its " ambience: "is added to the "ambienceRandom" list from the previous level's location.

Нет, дело не в этом. На обоих подземных локациях НЕТ звуков птиц с поверхности. UBASE не имеет "ambience:". LEVEL имеет, и его "ambience:" добавляется в лист "ambienceRandom" с локации предыдущего уровня.

In short, there is a superimposition of "ambience:" and "ambienceRandom".
« Last Edit: February 25, 2021, 09:26:27 pm by Ethereal »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6841
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #725 on: February 25, 2021, 09:39:17 pm »
"ambience" cannot be added to "ambienceRandom"... that is absolutely impossible. Variables are kept separated at all times.

On stage one, the variables contain:
Code: [Select]
  ambience: -1
  ambientVolume: 1.25
  ambienceRandom:
    - 1563
    - 1564
    - 1565
    - 1566
    - 1567
    - 1568
    - 1530
    - 1531
    - 1532
    - 1534
    - 1535

On stage two, for first terrain, the attributes contain:

Code: [Select]
  ambience: -1
  ambientVolume: 0.5
  ambienceRandom:
    []

On stage two, for second terrain, the attributes contain:

Code: [Select]
  ambience: 1494
  ambientVolume: 1
  ambienceRandom:
    - 1563
    - 1564
    - 1565
    - 1566
    - 1567
    - 1568
    - 1530
    - 1531
    - 1532
    - 1534
    - 1535

No superimposition.

ambienceRandom is from previous stage, ambience is from next stage and it was not added into the ambienceRandom list
« Last Edit: February 25, 2021, 09:53:05 pm by Meridian »

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #726 on: February 25, 2021, 09:54:27 pm »
I don't know where it came from.

Code: [Select]
alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_ALIEN_CAVE_MISSION
    terrains:
      - CULTACAV
    nextStage: STR_ALIEN_CAVE_MISSION_P2

  - type: STR_ALIEN_CAVE_MISSION_P2
    terrains:
      - UBASE
      - LEVEL

terrains:
  - name: CULTACAV
    script: FARMPCAV
    mapDataSets:
      - BLANKS
      - CULTIVAT
      - BARN
    ambienceRandom: [563, 564, 565, 566, 567, 568, 530, 531, 532, 534, 535]
    ambienceRandomDelay: [8, 16]
    ambientVolume: 1.25

  - name: UBASE
    mapDataSets:
      - BLANKS
      - U_BASE
      - U_WALL02
      - U_PODS
      - BRAIN
      - U_BASE2
      - U_DISEC2
      - U_OPER2
    script: ALIENBASE
    mapBlocks: &Ubase1
      - name: UBASE_00

  - name: LEVEL
    music:
      - GMTACWET
    ambience: 494
    ambientVolume: 1.0
    enviroEffects: STR_Underwater_D
    mapDataSets:
      - BLANKS
      - SEAORGANIC1
      - SEAORGANIC2
      - SEAORGANIC3
      - SEANOM
    script: TLETH_P2_P3
    mapBlocks:
      - name: LEVEL01

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6841
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #727 on: February 25, 2021, 10:06:26 pm »
It came from the previous stage.

I still don't get what you want from me:

1/ you said it works differently in 6.9.1 and 6.9.6 ... I have proved to you that it works the same way in both.

2/ I have also proved that the two attributes are not mixed, you can see it in the saved game yourself if you don't believe me

The correct solution is to not mix ambience with ambienceRandom... as it is described on the wiki: https://www.ufopaedia.org/index.php/Ruleset_Reference_Nightly_(OpenXcom)#Terrains
It explicitly says for ambienceRandom: "Doesn't work when ambience is defined."

The correct solution is to replace

Code: [Select]
ambience: 494

with

Code: [Select]
ambienceRandom: [494]

Stick to using either ambience or ambienceRandom, not both.


I can check if I can make it better, but for now it works as described on the wiki and on the forum.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2021, 10:11:00 pm by Meridian »

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #728 on: February 25, 2021, 10:17:10 pm »
I have it nowhere and does not mix.
Do you mean that can use either "ambience:" or "ambienceRandom" in general in the entire modification?
Why then in version 6.9.1 nothing of the kind was observed?

Changed to "ambienceRandom: [494]" - the sound stopped playing at all.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2021, 10:48:21 pm by Ethereal »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6841
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #729 on: February 25, 2021, 10:51:46 pm »
Do you mean that can use either "ambience:" or "ambienceRandom" in general in the entire modification?

During the same mission, you should use only one of them.

Why then in version 6.9.1 nothing of the kind was observed?

I have observed it today many times in 6.9.1, there's a 50% chance for it to happen.

Attaching a video as proof.

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #730 on: February 25, 2021, 10:59:28 pm »
I wrote about that that it is good to tie "ambience:" and "ambienceRandom" to "terrains.rul", not to the mission.

During the same mission, you should use only one of them.

Understand.
« Last Edit: February 25, 2021, 11:03:28 pm by Ethereal »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6841
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #731 on: February 27, 2021, 11:15:59 am »
Big request to return the option - difficultyBasedRetaliationDelay. Or tell me a way to completely avoid the Retaliation missions in the first month.

Implemented today in v6.9.7.

During the same mission, you should use only one of them.

In v6.9.7, all the ambient sounds will be reset when moving from one mission stage to another.
You don't have to reset them manually anymore.
You can now also use different types of ambient sound (`ambience` or `ambienceRandom`) on each mission stage.

https://lxnt.wtf/oxem/builds//Extended/Extended-6.9.7-7c2b57431-2021-02-27-win64.7z
« Last Edit: February 27, 2021, 11:23:50 am by Meridian »

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 462
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #732 on: February 28, 2021, 10:41:31 am »
Working. Thank you.

Offline Markus Ramikin

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #733 on: March 02, 2021, 03:33:29 pm »
I just tried out Extended for the first time. Loaded an OXC save...

1. In Battlescape, what's the little number 2 in the lower-right corner of the psi-amp in my soldier's hand?

2. Why would the game tell me I'm missing mods, even though I carefully checked that I have exactly the same mods as in OXC? The same selection of standard mods, as well as this mod that transferred no problem. Should I worry about savegame compatibility from OXC -> OXCE?

3. is there a comprehensive list of differences between OXC and OXCE to be read anywhere? I don't just mean the ruleset referece, but features in general.

For example I see that the unequal LOS that leads to failure of mutual surprise when smoke is involved is solved. This is good, and important - but I do not see how I could know this if it hadn't been mentioned by some forum member in a conversation I was part of elsewhere.
« Last Edit: March 02, 2021, 03:39:30 pm by Markus Ramikin »

Offline Nilex

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 312
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #734 on: March 02, 2021, 04:47:03 pm »
I'm not an authority when it comes to answering this so I'll give what I think is right, until proper answers arrive:
1. In another mod I currently play, the number denotes if item requires 2 hands to use (green - allowed use but with acc penalty; red - other hand must be free to allow use). Not sure why or if Psi-Amp is a unique case here.
2. Don't know. I'm only worried about retaining OXC <-> OXCE vanilla savegames compatibility, nothing else. Additional mods complicate things in unforeseen ways so you may not get satisfactory answer to this.
3. Only this short list, afaik. I actually prefer OXCE way. If we were to load saves in OXC the game simply assumes vanilla behavior without loss of information (except additional UI options in OXCE).

LOS and other stuff, if indeed the case, may be unintentional case of undocumented changes. Those creep up over time and get increasingly more difficult to keep track of? Could be on your end though, since you mentioned mods. Residue in configs/rules/etc from pasts mods perhaps? Anyway, like I said, let's wait for proper authority as topic mildly interests me as well.