Author Topic: Old OXCE+ discussion thread  (Read 239977 times)

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1240
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1665 on: August 30, 2018, 11:52:23 am »
How do I put aircraft and personnel into item categories?

I did this:
Code: [Select]
itemCategories:
  - type: STR_CAT_AIRCRAFT
crafts:
  - type: STR_INTERCEPTOR
    categories: [STR_CAT_AIRCRAFT]
And that didn't work.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5218
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1666 on: August 30, 2018, 01:49:29 pm »
Craft and personnel are not items, thus cannot be put into item categories.

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1240
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1667 on: August 30, 2018, 02:24:59 pm »
I just want them to show up in the dropdown menu in the purchase and sell screen. They show when using the default categories. How do I make them show with custom categories?

Offline Ridаn

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1668 on: September 02, 2018, 02:19:34 pm »
Can we please have "by Armour" sorting in craft Crew menu, with armor text string being displayed next to unit name?
Alternatively allow to move people up/down the unit order in craft Armor menu, even when filtered by "Original Order".

I have to sort people in Armor menu before every sortie, just for "up/down" buttons to appear. And that sorting, no matter the filter, messes up the unit order, and I have to rearrange it back every single time, to make sure every unit spawns in appropriate place (power armour up front, snipers next to a hatch etc).

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5218
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1669 on: September 02, 2018, 04:34:08 pm »
Can we please have "by Armour" sorting in craft Crew menu, with armor text string being displayed next to unit name?

Maybe.

Alternatively allow to move people up/down the unit order in craft Armor menu, even when filtered by "Original Order".

I have to sort people in Armor menu before every sortie, just for "up/down" buttons to appear. And that sorting, no matter the filter, messes up the unit order, and I have to rearrange it back every single time, to make sure every unit spawns in appropriate place (power armour up front, snipers next to a hatch etc).

You can hold CTRL when sorting, which will just display the attribute and manual sorting arrows without changing the sorting automatically.

Offline Ridаn

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1670 on: September 02, 2018, 05:01:59 pm »
You can hold CTRL when sorting, which will just display the attribute and manual sorting arrows without changing the sorting automatically.
Thank you, thats exactly what I was looking for.

Now I wish there was an universal hotkey, like "?", that will bring up a specific "Hotkey List" for currently selected interface screen (be it Base, Craft, Ufopedia etc), which would then list all the applicable shortcuts for that specific screen. But thats too much busywork I guess.

Offline 5taras

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1671 on: September 03, 2018, 02:12:50 am »
Hello.
Download link for Linux version of oxce+ is not working seemingly.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2018, 03:29:26 am by 5taras »

Offline vetzki

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1672 on: September 03, 2018, 10:37:10 am »
try
git clone https://github.com/MeridianOXC/OpenXcom -b oxce3.5-plus-proto
after cloning:
cd OpenXcom
mkdir build
cd build
cmake ..
ccmake ..  # adjust options
make # -jcpus

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1240
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1673 on: September 03, 2018, 04:06:22 pm »
Balance suggestion:

There is a feature which makes weapon reload time dependent on which slot the ammo is being pulled from, but it's unbalanced. The vanilla TU cost to reload is 15, but in OXCE+ it is 15+X where X is the TU cost to move the ammo to the weapon hand. It's anywhere from 3-8 TUs usually, thus the final TU cost is like 18-23, much higher than the original 15. If the base value was changed to 10, then the final value would be more like 13-18, closer to the original 15 and thus not affecting the balance much.

I changed the weapons in my mod to use 10 TUs as the base value, but I think you should consider changing the default to 10. Having it at 15 disrupted the balance of one of my weapons which relied on a cheap reload time to be able to fire 3 times in one turn. In OXCE+ initially it could only fire twice per turn.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5218
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1674 on: September 03, 2018, 04:21:39 pm »
In general, I understand and almost agree.

In practice:
- needs to happen in OXCE, we don't want a difference between OXCE and OXCE+
- megamods like piratez have already done the tedious work of changing/balancing this for every weapon... I don't want to make them do it again...

Offline 5taras

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1675 on: September 03, 2018, 05:35:19 pm »
I mean that link for OXCE+ is not working.
 https://lxnt.wtf/oxem/#/ExtendedPlus

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5218
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1676 on: September 03, 2018, 06:13:24 pm »
I mean that link for OXCE+ is not working.
 https://lxnt.wtf/oxem/#/ExtendedPlus

I have reported it to Stoddard, without reply yet.
I have no control over that website... we'll just have to wait a little.

Offline Yankes

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2129
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1677 on: September 03, 2018, 08:13:02 pm »
Balance suggestion:

There is a feature which makes weapon reload time dependent on which slot the ammo is being pulled from, but it's unbalanced. The vanilla TU cost to reload is 15, but in OXCE+ it is 15+X where X is the TU cost to move the ammo to the weapon hand. It's anywhere from 3-8 TUs usually, thus the final TU cost is like 18-23, much higher than the original 15. If the base value was changed to 10, then the final value would be more like 13-18, closer to the original 15 and thus not affecting the balance much.

I changed the weapons in my mod to use 10 TUs as the base value, but I think you should consider changing the default to 10. Having it at 15 disrupted the balance of one of my weapons which relied on a cheap reload time to be able to fire 3 times in one turn. In OXCE+ initially it could only fire twice per turn.
Yes this is change from vanilla but is really that big?
a) most normal weapons from ufo need couple of turns of shooting before next reload.
b) this have bigger "game play" depth because is difference between QS slot and backpack, this mean placemen of ammo matters, keep it in hand and you will pay 0 extra. If you can't, use slot that is fastest, this will give on avenge total cost of 18 not 23.
c) not all solder could shoot 3 times and reload with original reload cost and other can even with bigger cost.
d) As Meridian said most big mods are already balanced around this cost, or if not then its mean this change do not affect balance.
e) You can change this cost per item if it matters.

Offline 5taras

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1678 on: September 03, 2018, 10:31:53 pm »
I have reported it to Stoddard, without reply yet.
I have no control over that website... we'll just have to wait a little.
Where can I download ready version of OXCE+ then for linux?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5218
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1679 on: September 03, 2018, 10:36:41 pm »
Where can I download ready version of OXCE+ then for linux?

At the moment... nowhere.