Author Topic: Changelog + Old OXCE+ discussion thread  (Read 537229 times)

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7509
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1650 on: August 29, 2018, 10:45:44 am »
Hi.
Two small questions:
First: What does "IgnoreDirection: true"? A damage is applied to some specific side or bodypart?

It turns off the calculation of where the unit was hit and just uses FRONT/TORSO.
Used in vanilla for smoke and fire.

How to create a weapon with limited charges, which will be recharged at base (each time, no matter how many charges was used)? Is it "isConsumable: false"? (Of course i have added "clipSize" to the weapon description.)
Thanks.

This is not possible as far as I know.

If you would be OK with just a melee-range weapon with 100% hit chance... you can override a medikit-type weapon to behave this way.

Offline Nord

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1430
  • The Gate is open.
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1651 on: August 29, 2018, 11:04:12 am »
Thanks.
This is not possible as far as I know.
So, if any ranged weapon has limited uses per battle, it will be spent at a time?
Sad. Looks like i will do very-slow-to-use weapon to limit its effectiveness.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7509
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1652 on: August 29, 2018, 11:16:22 am »
Thanks.So, if any ranged weapon has limited uses per battle, it will be spent at a time?
Sad. Looks like i will do very-slow-to-use weapon to limit its effectiveness.

Or you could just give it ammo as normal... and make the reload time 999 TUs, so that it cannot be reloaded during the battle.

Offline Nord

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1430
  • The Gate is open.
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1653 on: August 29, 2018, 11:47:46 am »
Or you could just give it ammo as normal... and make the reload time 999 TUs, so that it cannot be reloaded during the battle.
Interesting idea. But point was - create rare item.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7509
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1654 on: August 29, 2018, 11:53:30 am »
Interesting idea. But point was - create rare item.

I don't see anything about "rare item" in the original question.

Anyway, you can make the weapon item rare by any already available means... I was talking only about ammo item (which doesn't need to be rare... you even wanted to reload automatically in the base, so it's the opposite of rare).

Offline ohartenstein23

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1939
  • Flamethrowers fry cyberdisk circuits
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1655 on: August 29, 2018, 02:07:40 pm »
You can make the weapon a built-in item on an armor with just one clip, then you get the ammo back every new battle.

Offline Nord

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1430
  • The Gate is open.
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1656 on: August 29, 2018, 06:29:08 pm »
Thanks for ideas. I need to decide which one to use now. :-)

Offline robin

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1177
  • ULTIMATE ROOKIE
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1657 on: August 29, 2018, 10:05:58 pm »
Or you could just give it ammo as normal... and make the reload time 999 TUs, so that it cannot be reloaded during the battle.
IMO this is the best option if you want to make a non-expendable firearm with numbered uses.

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1478
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1658 on: August 30, 2018, 11:52:23 am »
How do I put aircraft and personnel into item categories?

I did this:
Code: [Select]
itemCategories:
  - type: STR_CAT_AIRCRAFT
crafts:
  - type: STR_INTERCEPTOR
    categories: [STR_CAT_AIRCRAFT]
And that didn't work.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7509
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1659 on: August 30, 2018, 01:49:29 pm »
Craft and personnel are not items, thus cannot be put into item categories.

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1478
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1660 on: August 30, 2018, 02:24:59 pm »
I just want them to show up in the dropdown menu in the purchase and sell screen. They show when using the default categories. How do I make them show with custom categories?

Offline Ridаn

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1661 on: September 02, 2018, 02:19:34 pm »
Can we please have "by Armour" sorting in craft Crew menu, with armor text string being displayed next to unit name?
Alternatively allow to move people up/down the unit order in craft Armor menu, even when filtered by "Original Order".

I have to sort people in Armor menu before every sortie, just for "up/down" buttons to appear. And that sorting, no matter the filter, messes up the unit order, and I have to rearrange it back every single time, to make sure every unit spawns in appropriate place (power armour up front, snipers next to a hatch etc).

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7509
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1662 on: September 02, 2018, 04:34:08 pm »
Can we please have "by Armour" sorting in craft Crew menu, with armor text string being displayed next to unit name?

Maybe.

Alternatively allow to move people up/down the unit order in craft Armor menu, even when filtered by "Original Order".

I have to sort people in Armor menu before every sortie, just for "up/down" buttons to appear. And that sorting, no matter the filter, messes up the unit order, and I have to rearrange it back every single time, to make sure every unit spawns in appropriate place (power armour up front, snipers next to a hatch etc).

You can hold CTRL when sorting, which will just display the attribute and manual sorting arrows without changing the sorting automatically.

Offline Ridаn

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 269
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1663 on: September 02, 2018, 05:01:59 pm »
You can hold CTRL when sorting, which will just display the attribute and manual sorting arrows without changing the sorting automatically.
Thank you, thats exactly what I was looking for.

Now I wish there was an universal hotkey, like "?", that will bring up a specific "Hotkey List" for currently selected interface screen (be it Base, Craft, Ufopedia etc), which would then list all the applicable shortcuts for that specific screen. But thats too much busywork I guess.

Offline 5taras

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Original discussion thread
« Reply #1664 on: September 03, 2018, 02:12:50 am »
Hello.
Download link for Linux version of oxce+ is not working seemingly.
« Last Edit: September 03, 2018, 03:29:26 am by 5taras »