aliens

Author Topic: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1  (Read 109970 times)

Offline Reuged

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #615 on: March 23, 2024, 10:13:07 pm »
maybe the targeting calculations is mess up when you re-work the targeting system cuz whenever i move the mouse off the limits, the values decrease to zero as intended but it quickly come back to original values
« Last Edit: March 23, 2024, 10:15:37 pm by Reuged »

Offline Xilmi

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #616 on: March 23, 2024, 10:29:05 pm »
maybe the targeting calculations is mess up when you re-work the targeting system cuz whenever i move the mouse off the limits, the values decrease to zero as intended but it quickly come back to original values
I think I found it. It's not the targeting-calculations itself that are faulty but the cursor-drawing. There he replaced the line:

totalDamage -= rule->getPowerRangeReduction(distance * 16);

with

totalDamage -= rule->getPowerRangeReduction(distanceTiles * 16);

In this case "distanceTiles" is supposed to be the same that "distance" previously was. However, "distanceTiles" is initialized with 0 and only calculated for the accuracy-dropoff-part wheras distance was initialized like this:

int distance = (int)std::ceil(sqrt(float(distanceSq)));

I think that simply initializing distanceTiles the same way distance was initialized should fix the issue.

Offline Reuged

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #617 on: March 23, 2024, 10:33:46 pm »
 :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) cool let's try it out
« Last Edit: March 23, 2024, 10:35:35 pm by Reuged »

Offline jnarical

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #618 on: April 09, 2024, 08:31:36 am »
I think that simply initializing distanceTiles the same way distance was initialized should fix the issue.

Does that work?

Offline Xilmi

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #619 on: April 09, 2024, 11:56:12 am »
Does that work?
Yes, this helped for this issue. But I've found a new issue with something else since.

Offline Akamashi

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #620 on: May 10, 2024, 06:07:23 am »
I'm doing a video guide installation. I'm getting to the first launch. Swears at the absence msvcp140.dll . When I add it to the folder with the game, the error 0xc000007b starts swearing. Where did I make a mistake? The latest version of brutal. Win7 64.

Offline Xilmi

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #621 on: May 10, 2024, 11:40:12 pm »
I'm doing a video guide installation. I'm getting to the first launch. Swears at the absence msvcp140.dll . When I add it to the folder with the game, the error 0xc000007b starts swearing. Where did I make a mistake? The latest version of brutal. Win7 64.
I'm compiling on Win 11. I have no idea if it's supposed to be compatible with Win 7.

When I search the issue I get the recommendation to download this:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=53840

in order to fix it.

But I have no idea if it will work.

Offline Akamashi

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #622 on: May 11, 2024, 06:09:57 am »
I'm compiling on Win 11. I have no idea if it's supposed to be compatible with Win 7.

When I search the issue I get the recommendation to download this:

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=53840

in order to fix it.

But I have no idea if it will work.
Thanks, I've already done it myself. But it is strange that the updater showed the latest version of the libraries, but manually reinstalling them solved this problem anyway.

Offline Ronios

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #623 on: August 09, 2024, 04:56:50 pm »
I apologize in advance if such a request has surfaced and was answered with a refusal. If there was an answer, then direct me to it, if it is not difficult.

I have 2 requests:
1) In the prison menu, at the base and at the end of the mission, add another function (button), in addition to selling the selected prisoners. The "kill" button, which will kill the selected prisoners and send their bodies to the warehouse.

Quite often there are situations when ONLY corpses are needed for production, and in battle there may be no opportunity to finish them off or you were simply unlucky and stunned by a combat weapon. At the same time, it was always very strange that at the base you cannot make "living" prisoners "dead".

There are also situations when corpses or living are needed, but the stunned ones do not fit into containers and you have to forcibly sell them, when it would be good to kill and use them for business, especially rare enemies.


2) When opponents with Brutal AI enabled get up after being stunned at the beginning of their turn, they get 100% AP and calmly take a weapon and kill someone, or even half the team. Often there are a lot of enemies and on the last AP you stun everyone, skip a turn and now you have a bunch of corpses of your team.

I found the tuRecoveryWakeUpNewTurn parameter, which can be used to adjust the AP after removing the stun in such a situation, but it works for absolutely everyone. At the same time, monsters are very fast and even if you give 20-30%, it will be enough for them to get up and kill someone. So it would be great for opponents with Brutal AI enabled to have the ability to choose how much AP% they will restore at the beginning of the turn in the settings, while monsters can be left at 0% and not worry about them.
This is not very important, but it would be useful.

Offline Juku121

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1819
  • We're all mad here.
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #624 on: August 09, 2024, 05:47:58 pm »
1) In the prison menu, at the base and at the end of the mission, add another function (button), in addition to selling the selected prisoners. The "kill" button, which will kill the selected prisoners and send their bodies to the warehouse.
Advanced options -> OXC -> 'retain interrogated aliens'. This allows you to retain 'removed' aliens as corpses. If you want the three-button version, enable 'live alien sale' as well. Of course, this also gives you corpses for vivisecting live aliens, but since you're already into extraterrestrial cadavers, I imagine it's not a big deal. ;)

The end-of-battle menu should also include this, if I'm remembering right.

Offline Ronios

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #625 on: August 10, 2024, 06:34:49 am »
Advanced options -> OXC -> 'retain interrogated aliens'. This allows you to retain 'removed' aliens as corpses. If you want the three-button version, enable 'live alien sale' as well. Of course, this also gives you corpses for vivisecting live aliens, but since you're already into extraterrestrial cadavers, I imagine it's not a big deal. ;)

The end-of-battle menu should also include this, if I'm remembering right.

I always thought that this option leaves corpses only after examining a living alien and I didn't even try to check.

Many thanks for the tip. It works as I wanted and after the battle too.

Offline kelltozet

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #626 on: August 10, 2024, 02:02:53 pm »
Aggressiveness now can be set from levels 0-3 and choosing option 4 means aggressivness is inherited from unit-aggression.

There's now 4 distinct levels:
0> Camper
1> Ambusher
2> Skirmisher
3> Zealot


I want to tweak the aggression level of the units in XPiratez. The aggression level in the .rul file goes from 0 to 8. How does inheritance work?

Is 0 - camper, 1 - ambusher, 2 - Skirmisher, 3-8 - Zealot?
Or is there another formula?

Offline Xilmi

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 639
    • View Profile
Re: [SOURCEMOD] Brutal-OXCE 7.12.1
« Reply #627 on: August 15, 2024, 11:55:17 pm »
Aggressiveness now can be set from levels 0-3 and choosing option 4 means aggressivness is inherited from unit-aggression.

There's now 4 distinct levels:
0> Camper
1> Ambusher
2> Skirmisher
3> Zealot


I want to tweak the aggression level of the units in XPiratez. The aggression level in the .rul file goes from 0 to 8. How does inheritance work?

Is 0 - camper, 1 - ambusher, 2 - Skirmisher, 3-8 - Zealot?
Or is there another formula?
Yes, with inherit enabled everyone >=3 will be zealot.