aliens

Author Topic: How to run Mod on 2019 OpenXCom build?  (Read 11575 times)

Offline Red Floater

• Sergeant
  • Cheers, everyone!
    • View Profile
How to run Mod on 2019 OpenXCom build?
« on: October 18, 2020, 08:12:00 pm »
I have no prior experience with OpenXCom mods, and am running on 1.0 git 2019-04-28 build. This was my first attempt at running a mod, and it does not seem to work.

I have followed the YouTube tutorial as close as possible, but did not get the result. I have OXCE installed. What should I do to make it work?

Offline Solarius Scorch

• Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: How to run Mod on 2019 OpenXCom build?
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2020, 08:29:05 pm »
You said you were using 1.0, but also that you were using OXCE. Which one is it?

Offline JustTheDude/CABSHEP

• Colonel
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 18, 2020, 08:31:06 pm »
1) For the newest X-COM files you need newest OpenXCOM Extended. https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,5258.0.html
Download and install.
2) Then download newset X-COM Files from here: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,4595.0.html
3) Unpack the downloaded mod. Inside, you will find its "self-contained", all you have to do is to then copy UFO folder that contains files from original XCOM to the same folder you find in there.
4) After launch, click the "mods" and, pick "X-COM FILES", then enable it. The game will restart. Be sure to have English (US) set as game language.

However, since its your first mod experience, I don't recommend starting with X-COM FILES, because the beginning of the game is heavily modified and you might get lost. For that case I suggest "The Final Modpack": https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php?topic=2027.0
This mod is more of an extention to the game, than total conversion and this will let you easly and naturally grasp new concepts and mechanics.