Author Topic: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports  (Read 94568 times)

Offline hellrazor

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2013
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #120 on: May 16, 2022, 02:47:59 pm »
It's just a missing sprite, as reported above.

Find a file called `items_HM.rul` and a section that looks like this:
Its not a missing Sprite, I am referencing a vanille Sprite in the wrong way.

Correctly it would be the following:

Code: [Select]
#BEGIN SPITTER ZOMBIE WEAPON ITEM
  - type: SPITTER_ZOMBIE_WEAPON
    weight: 3
    bigSprite: { mod: xcom1, index: 57 }
    meleeSound: 48
    strengthApplied: true
    damageType: 7
    accuracyMelee: 100
    tuMelee: 10
    battleType: 3
    fixedWeapon: true
    invWidth: 2
    invHeight: 3
    clipSize: -1
    recover: false
    flatRate: true
    listOrder: 11407
#END SPITTER ZOMBIE WEAPON ITEM

I merge this into Github, when i am home tomorrow evening and have access to my Laptop again. ;)
Hello. I got an error:
Error for 'SPITTER_ZOMBIE_WEAPON': Wrong index 1057 for surface set BIGOBS.PCK
What should I do with this?

Got to items_HM.rul Line 3251 and replace
Code: [Select]
bigSprite: 57

With:
Code: [Select]
bigSprite: { mod: xcom1, index: 57 }

This fixes the issue and also gives you the correct Sprite.
I am sorry for the inconvinience.

Offline Aytherio

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #121 on: May 16, 2022, 02:57:11 pm »
Solved.
There is no need to apologize here, thank all of you - modders for your selfless work.  :)

Offline psavola

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 609
    • View Profile
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #122 on: May 17, 2022, 10:58:34 am »
With OXCE 2022-04-29 and the latest released hardmode expansion, the game crashed after the debriefing when going to recover a small snakeman ufo that had been shot down. The stack trace suggests that there was some problem in checkForCasualties. This didn't occur when reloading so this is likely due to RNG, but I can provide a save if that would be useful or try to get this to compile with symbols. I suppose this is an OXCE issue, not in hardmode expansion.

[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   A fatal error has occurred: Segmentation fault.
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::CrossPlatform::stackTrace(void*)+0x36) [0x55d596eca2f6]
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::CrossPlatform::crashDump(void*, std::__cxx11::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&)+0x477) [0x55d596ecae97]
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(signalLogger(int)+0x43) [0x55d596cd6903]
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   /lib64/libc.so.6(+0x4ead0) [0x7f7983e40ad0]
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::BattlescapeGame::checkForCasualties(OpenXcom::RuleDamageType const*, OpenXcom::BattleActionAttack, bool, bool)+0xb1e) [0x55d596df1c4e]
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::BattlescapeGame::BattlescapeGame(OpenXcom::SavedBattleGame*, OpenXcom::BattlescapeState*)+0x22e) [0x55d596df2abe]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::BattlescapeState::BattlescapeState()+0x5bdd) [0x55d596e2877d]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::BriefingState::btnOkClick(OpenXcom::Action*)+0x9d) [0x55d596e2eb2d]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::InteractiveSurface::handle(OpenXcom::Action*, OpenXcom::State*)+0x15a) [0x55d596eeedea]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::State::handle(OpenXcom::Action*)+0x73) [0x55d596fc5153]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::Game::run()+0x342) [0x55d596eeada2]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(main+0x175) [0x55d596cb4455]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   /lib64/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xf3) [0x7f7983e2cca3]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(_start+0x2a) [0x55d596cbb15a]
[17-05-2022_10-35-58]   [FATAL]   OpenXcom has crashed: Segmentation fault.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8597
    • View Profile
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #123 on: May 17, 2022, 11:09:13 am »
You mean Briefing, not Debriefing.
RNG would be the same, unless you have Save Scumming turned on (or did different things after reloading). In any case, a save will help.
We haven't had a crash in `checkForCasualties` for ages, so I'd guess it's an issue in hardmode expansion... but we can be sure only after it's reproduced.

Offline psavola

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 609
    • View Profile
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #124 on: May 17, 2022, 05:43:58 pm »
You mean Briefing, not Debriefing.
RNG would be the same, unless you have Save Scumming turned on (or did different things after reloading). In any case, a save will help.
We haven't had a crash in `checkForCasualties` for ages, so I'd guess it's an issue in hardmode expansion... but we can be sure only after it's reproduced.

Yes, Briefing. Save scumming appears to be turned on. Hopefully it won't affect reproducibility. Here is a save.

Offline hellrazor

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2013
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #125 on: May 17, 2022, 05:45:48 pm »
Please provide a savegame so we can try to recreate this Bug.
It would also be important to know the OXCE Version and the Version of Hardmode Expansion you are using.
Helpful would also your Option.cfg from OXCE.

Thank you in advance.

With OXCE 2022-04-29 and the latest released hardmode expansion, the game crashed after the debriefing when going to recover a small snakeman ufo that had been shot down. The stack trace suggests that there was some problem in checkForCasualties. This didn't occur when reloading so this is likely due to RNG, but I can provide a save if that would be useful or try to get this to compile with symbols. I suppose this is an OXCE issue, not in hardmode expansion.

[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   A fatal error has occurred: Segmentation fault.
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::CrossPlatform::stackTrace(void*)+0x36) [0x55d596eca2f6]
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::CrossPlatform::crashDump(void*, std::__cxx11::basic_string<char, std::char_traits<char>, std::allocator<char> > const&)+0x477) [0x55d596ecae97]
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(signalLogger(int)+0x43) [0x55d596cd6903]
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   /lib64/libc.so.6(+0x4ead0) [0x7f7983e40ad0]
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::BattlescapeGame::checkForCasualties(OpenXcom::RuleDamageType const*, OpenXcom::BattleActionAttack, bool, bool)+0xb1e) [0x55d596df1c4e]
[17-05-2022_10-35-53]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::BattlescapeGame::BattlescapeGame(OpenXcom::SavedBattleGame*, OpenXcom::BattlescapeState*)+0x22e) [0x55d596df2abe]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::BattlescapeState::BattlescapeState()+0x5bdd) [0x55d596e2877d]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::BriefingState::btnOkClick(OpenXcom::Action*)+0x9d) [0x55d596e2eb2d]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::InteractiveSurface::handle(OpenXcom::Action*, OpenXcom::State*)+0x15a) [0x55d596eeedea]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::State::handle(OpenXcom::Action*)+0x73) [0x55d596fc5153]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(OpenXcom::Game::run()+0x342) [0x55d596eeada2]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(main+0x175) [0x55d596cb4455]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   /lib64/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xf3) [0x7f7983e2cca3]
[17-05-2022_10-35-54]   [FATAL]   ./OpenXcomEx(_start+0x2a) [0x55d596cbb15a]
[17-05-2022_10-35-58]   [FATAL]   OpenXcom has crashed: Segmentation fault.

I so far have not experienced any problems with OXCE Version 7.5.3.
It seems he used a more newer version, so there might be changes who potentially might introduce such a bug?

Well we will see. ;)

You mean Briefing, not Debriefing.
RNG would be the same, unless you have Save Scumming turned on (or did different things after reloading). In any case, a save will help.
We haven't had a crash in `checkForCasualties` for ages, so I'd guess it's an issue in hardmode expansion... but we can be sure only after it's reproduced.

Offline hellrazor

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2013
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #126 on: May 17, 2022, 05:46:47 pm »
Yes, Briefing. Save scumming appears to be turned on. Hopefully it won't affect reproducibility. Here is a save.

Thank you for the savegame file. I take a look at it in detail this evening :)

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8597
    • View Profile
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #127 on: May 17, 2022, 07:35:43 pm »
I could not reproduce unfortunately.

Please keep an eye on it and let us know when it happens again.

PS: the exact OXCE version, mod version and also a snapshot from options.cfg is directly in the save file.

Offline hellrazor

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2013
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #128 on: May 17, 2022, 07:44:44 pm »
I could not reproduce unfortunately.

Please keep an eye on it and let us know when it happens again.

PS: the exact OXCE version, mod version and also a snapshot from options.cfg is directly in the save file.

I guess it will then also not reproduce for me.
I am only using Version 7.5.3 of OCXE, which is the latest Version released on the Forums.
Newer Version are Gitbuilds only?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8597
    • View Profile
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #129 on: May 17, 2022, 07:49:54 pm »
Yes, newer versions are either built from source by users, or downloaded from the build farm (link in the main download post, at the bottom).

Offline PetarDzopalic

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #130 on: June 22, 2022, 10:39:04 am »
First of all , thank you very much for this great mode and effort that you put on it, I have a lot of fun with this mod.
I have some bug to report so please help me:

1.   Plasma tech don’t open correctly, I captured alien engineer and I researched plasma pistol and clip after that plasma tech won’t work anymore it stopped, I tough maybe I need another captured engineer but after research another engineer tech won’t go any further. Also, to notice that I have all sort of plasma weapons in general store. Why I can’t research Plasma Rifle, Shotgun, Heavy Plasma where is a problem?

2.   How to play your mod in OpenXcom extended , where I need to copy downloaded files?

Thank you in advance.

Offline hellrazor

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2013
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #131 on: June 27, 2022, 11:41:15 pm »
First of all , thank you very much for this great mode and effort that you put on it, I have a lot of fun with this mod.
I have some bug to report so please help me:

1.   Plasma tech don’t open correctly, I captured alien engineer and I researched plasma pistol and clip after that plasma tech won’t work anymore it stopped, I tough maybe I need another captured engineer but after research another engineer tech won’t go any further. Also, to notice that I have all sort of plasma weapons in general store. Why I can’t research Plasma Rifle, Shotgun, Heavy Plasma where is a problem?

2.   How to play your mod in OpenXcom extended , where I need to copy downloaded files?

Thank you in advance.

Please download the patched Version here from my github account: https://github.com/hellrazor4223/hardmode-expansion/archive/refs/heads/master.zip

Sorry for my late reply, i am currently renovating my girlfriends appartment.

Offline omri

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #132 on: September 25, 2022, 03:02:25 pm »
Using:
OpenXcomExtended 7.7
HardMode 1.0

Taser Drones do not require or use up Drone Taser Charges.
They are used up correctly during battle, but it is not then reflected in base inventory.
Smoke pellets work normally.
This is both for normal Taser Drones and Alloy Taser Drones.

Offline hellrazor

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2013
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #133 on: September 27, 2022, 04:46:32 pm »
Using:
OpenXcomExtended 7.7
HardMode 1.0

Taser Drones do not require or use up Drone Taser Charges.
They are used up correctly during battle, but it is not then reflected in base inventory.
Smoke pellets work normally.
This is both for normal Taser Drones and Alloy Taser Drones.

Hello omri,

thank you for notifiying me about this.
I also figured this out when I wanted to give normal Tanks also the ability to Launch Smoke Pellets.
There is currently no way of having Units which are defined as Tanks (Drones are also Tanks but have size 1x1 instead of 2x2), to carry two weapons, which use Ammo from base storage.

The main weapon defined in the unit Item can use Ammo and this also works, but a secondary weapon equipped on the unit via "builtInWeaponSets" does not use Ammo from base storage once equipping the unit to a X-Com Craft.

My solution to this was, to refactor the drones, make the Smoke launcher the weapon which is on the unit (so the Drone Smoke Launcher and Tank Smoke Launchers have free Ammo now).

With the changes I made which you can find here on my github: https://github.com/hellrazor4223/hardmode-expansion/archive/refs/heads/master.zip
The Taser Drone and Alloy Drone Taser does now actually consume Ammo. Smoke Pellets are now free and normal Tanks/Alloy Tanks/Hovertanks/Walkertanks also do have a Smoke Pellets Launcher now, same as the Drones.
Maybe people will now start to also use Tanks again, since the now also can hide ^^.

I am currently working on Version 1.0, so expect a new release in soonish. Until then feel free to use the github Version. :)

Offline omri

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Hardmode Expansion - Bugreports
« Reply #134 on: October 02, 2022, 02:00:37 pm »
Thank you for your great MOD and for addressing the issues.

Looking through the code (commits up to Sep30) I found the following issues:

The diagram implies that Advanced Medikits research requite Medikits, while this in not in the code.
Upgrading Walkertanks seams to be broken. Not only it costs 10% of what it should, it gives you free armor/mobility by starting off with a Sectopod rather then an Armored Sectopod and ending up with a Walkertank Plasma, paying nothing for the extra armor etc. .