aliens

Author Topic: MAPVIEW upgrade  (Read 104542 times)

Offline osd_daedalus

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #465 on: October 07, 2019, 11:58:35 pm »

must resist urge to delete Windows™

Just make a dual boot Windows/Linux. Or install Virtualbox and create a Linux virtual machine.
There is no real reason you have to trash Windows over Linux, but it's an experience I really suggest.

(and I had also a tri-boot Win/Linux/Hackintosh, but I deleted the latter)

Just... I wish there is a Windows.Forms designer working for Linux.


Can I ask you a question... did you have

Code: [Select]
//#define __Mono__

defined (uncommented) for that last Mono build? Because if we don't need #define __Mono__ i'd like to take it out of the code.
at the top of the TopView.cs file

Nope, just git-pull and built. Wonders of Mono trying to do .NET work!

Wait a sec... trying to do right now...

ADD: find in attachment what happens if I uncomment the #define. Eeeek! DELETE IT!!!
« Last Edit: October 08, 2019, 12:02:36 am by osd_daedalus »

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #466 on: October 08, 2019, 12:27:32 am »
why the bleep does it to that /rant

anyway, i deleted that #define and kept the line that adds the toolstrip to the left side of the container ... hopefully it's all good, if it still renders properly. Because the 'logic' of what just happened is absurd.


/committed to master branch

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #467 on: October 25, 2019, 04:52:54 pm »
2019 October 24

- fixed PckView not starting. Thanks to luke83 for reporting and helping troubleshoot the probl.
- plus tweaks for Mono (if applicable). Thanks to osd_daedalus for reporting Mono issues and testing changes.

https://github.com/kevL/OpenXCOM.Tools/blob/master/Distribution/README.md

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #468 on: November 16, 2019, 11:05:26 pm »
2019 November 16

Tileslot Substitution [Ctrl+U] - opens a dialog box for replacing tileparts of a given setId with tileparts of a different setId across the currently loaded Map. Tileparts of a given setId can optionally be cleared from a Map.

thanks to Kato for the suggestion

Offline Finnik

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #469 on: November 30, 2019, 08:38:53 pm »
cant see an option to create new map? am i blind?

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1566
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #470 on: November 30, 2019, 09:45:09 pm »
I dont think it does yet ( if it does, i have never found it, but to be honest, i have not gone looking before today), you just edit it through the "MapTilesets.yml" file in your favourite Text Editor, you will find this in the Settings folder of Mapview2.

the Process is:
Manually duplicate your desired  .map file and .Rmp files, renames these to what ever you want
Open MapTilesets.ym
Edit the file to create your new map names

as you can see below, the format of the MapTilesets.ym is pretty straight forward:
Code: [Select]
#----- base XCOM --------------------------------------------------------------#
  - type: XBASE_00
    terrains:
      - XBASE1
      - XBASE2
    category: base XCOM
    group: ufoLandscapes
  - type: XBASE_01
    terrains:
      - XBASE1
      - XBASE2
    category: base XCOM
    group: ufoLandscapes
  - type: XBASE_02
    terrains:
      - XBASE1
      - XBASE2
    category: base XCOM
    group: ufoLandscapes

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #471 on: November 30, 2019, 11:35:58 pm »
what luke says is correct, but MapviewII's design policy is that ->

left/right clicks on the MapTree should/ought handle all procedures ...

a) create and/or select a Group->Category in the tree
b) select the Category you want to create the tileset (aka Map) in
c) right-click -> add Tileset ...
d) check the displayed Basepath (change it if you want to), type in a Map label (aka filename w/out extension)*, click "create"
e) add some terrains since Maps without terrains won't be saved, iirc.

ACCEPT the TilesetEditor and a fresh blank 10x10 tileset should appear


* or browse to an existing Map's file if you want to add one that already exists on your hardrive

Offline Finnik

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #472 on: January 07, 2020, 02:14:38 am »
is there a option to duplicate maps? im making a set of very similar maps and id like to see some option in UI like that

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #473 on: January 07, 2020, 04:05:45 am »
is there a option to duplicate maps? im making a set of very similar maps and id like to see some option in UI like that

hm. good idea

not available at present though. @luke83 or others might have a finer answer, but I'd say go to your hardrive, MAPS and ROUTES directories, and copy the maps/routes you want over to new filenames ... then go back to MapView2 and set them up manually with the TilesetEditor

will put it on my TODO.


(note, there is a command to export/import routes in RouteView ...)

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1566
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #474 on: January 07, 2020, 07:53:19 am »
I just manually copy the Maps and Routes to temp file, then use a Bulk Renaming Tool to change the names. In mapview, just open the Map Tileset.YML file, find the data you want and duplicate and rename there with your favourite Text Editor and your good to go.

Offline Finnik

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 123
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #475 on: January 09, 2020, 05:27:29 pm »
yeah, but it would be so nice to have a UI option to do that)

Offline bulletdesigner

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #476 on: January 21, 2020, 12:11:47 pm »
hello, i started using mapview 2 and it´s a better than mapview 1 on a lot of aspect , so thks for the upgrade.
Anyway i have a strange issue, on same maps the app crashes when taking a image, and i can´t figure out why, for example map_05 with the same MCDS of map_13 crashes and map_13 don´t and map_13 is even bigger

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #477 on: January 21, 2020, 06:33:16 pm »
heya,

(i thought i fixed that...)

some things to try:
there are screenshot settings under MainView|Edit|Options|Screenshot
- BackgroundColor
- CropBackground
- Png_notGif

(esp. CropBackground and/or Png_notGif)

some questions:
what OS are you on?
how many levels of your Map are currently displayed when taking the screenshot? iirc, the previous bug happened when MainView was on its top level, ie taking a screenshot of all levels.


Could you send me a package w/ the .MAP and .RMP, plus the terrains? And steps to reproduce ...
« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 06:35:19 pm by kevL »

Offline bulletdesigner

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #478 on: January 21, 2020, 07:03:18 pm »
well if you fixed, i download a long time ago, and started using now due to windows 10 i cant get the older mapview to work. Maybe i just need to update can you point out the latest update?

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 313
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #479 on: January 21, 2020, 07:41:13 pm »
https://github.com/kevL/OpenXCOM.Tools/blob/master/Distribution/README.md

ps. there may have been some big changes since the version you have. I suggest backing up your old installation folder and reinstalling from scratch

(then copy in your MapTilesets.yml to /settings)

if you scroll down through the changelog on the linked page it has further info about this.
« Last Edit: January 21, 2020, 07:45:19 pm by kevL »