Author Topic: MAPVIEW upgrade  (Read 84494 times)

Offline osd_daedalus

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #465 on: October 07, 2019, 11:58:35 pm »

must resist urge to delete Windows™

Just make a dual boot Windows/Linux. Or install Virtualbox and create a Linux virtual machine.
There is no real reason you have to trash Windows over Linux, but it's an experience I really suggest.

(and I had also a tri-boot Win/Linux/Hackintosh, but I deleted the latter)

Just... I wish there is a Windows.Forms designer working for Linux.


Can I ask you a question... did you have

Code: [Select]
//#define __Mono__

defined (uncommented) for that last Mono build? Because if we don't need #define __Mono__ i'd like to take it out of the code.
at the top of the TopView.cs file

Nope, just git-pull and built. Wonders of Mono trying to do .NET work!

Wait a sec... trying to do right now...

ADD: find in attachment what happens if I uncomment the #define. Eeeek! DELETE IT!!!
« Last Edit: October 08, 2019, 12:02:36 am by osd_daedalus »

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #466 on: October 08, 2019, 12:27:32 am »
why the bleep does it to that /rant

anyway, i deleted that #define and kept the line that adds the toolstrip to the left side of the container ... hopefully it's all good, if it still renders properly. Because the 'logic' of what just happened is absurd.


/committed to master branch

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #467 on: October 25, 2019, 04:52:54 pm »
2019 October 24

- fixed PckView not starting. Thanks to luke83 for reporting and helping troubleshoot the probl.
- plus tweaks for Mono (if applicable). Thanks to osd_daedalus for reporting Mono issues and testing changes.

https://github.com/kevL/OpenXCOM.Tools/blob/master/Distribution/README.md

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #468 on: November 16, 2019, 11:05:26 pm »
2019 November 16

Tileslot Substitution [Ctrl+U] - opens a dialog box for replacing tileparts of a given setId with tileparts of a different setId across the currently loaded Map. Tileparts of a given setId can optionally be cleared from a Map.

thanks to Kato for the suggestion

Offline Finnik

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #469 on: November 30, 2019, 08:38:53 pm »
cant see an option to create new map? am i blind?

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1530
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #470 on: November 30, 2019, 09:45:09 pm »
I dont think it does yet ( if it does, i have never found it, but to be honest, i have not gone looking before today), you just edit it through the "MapTilesets.yml" file in your favourite Text Editor, you will find this in the Settings folder of Mapview2.

the Process is:
Manually duplicate your desired  .map file and .Rmp files, renames these to what ever you want
Open MapTilesets.ym
Edit the file to create your new map names

as you can see below, the format of the MapTilesets.ym is pretty straight forward:
Code: [Select]
#----- base XCOM --------------------------------------------------------------#
  - type: XBASE_00
    terrains:
      - XBASE1
      - XBASE2
    category: base XCOM
    group: ufoLandscapes
  - type: XBASE_01
    terrains:
      - XBASE1
      - XBASE2
    category: base XCOM
    group: ufoLandscapes
  - type: XBASE_02
    terrains:
      - XBASE1
      - XBASE2
    category: base XCOM
    group: ufoLandscapes

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 257
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #471 on: November 30, 2019, 11:35:58 pm »
what luke says is correct, but MapviewII's design policy is that ->

left/right clicks on the MapTree should/ought handle all procedures ...

a) create and/or select a Group->Category in the tree
b) select the Category you want to create the tileset (aka Map) in
c) right-click -> add Tileset ...
d) check the displayed Basepath (change it if you want to), type in a Map label (aka filename w/out extension)*, click "create"
e) add some terrains since Maps without terrains won't be saved, iirc.

ACCEPT the TilesetEditor and a fresh blank 10x10 tileset should appear


* or browse to an existing Map's file if you want to add one that already exists on your hardrive