Author Topic: Old OXCE+ discussion thread  (Read 252308 times)

Offline clownagent

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 377
    • View Profile
Re: Meridian's resources and mods for X-PirateZ
« Reply #990 on: December 18, 2016, 09:46:45 pm »
EDIT2: I guess not, just imageText with a custom palette? The buttons confused me...

Exactly.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5479
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki

Offline clownagent

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 377
    • View Profile
Re: Meridian's resources and mods for X-PirateZ
« Reply #992 on: December 19, 2016, 10:25:52 am »
Yeah, my bad, title was also using the text_width parameter... I just made it 310px wide now (5px padding left and right)... I don't see a reason to limit the title width.


This handling of title width is reasonable.

If you want to keep campatibility to vanilla, be aware that at least for one ufopedia entry there was a linebreak in the title (see screenshot), which is now overlaying the image.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5479
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Meridian's resources and mods for (not only) X-PirateZ
« Reply #993 on: December 19, 2016, 10:27:32 am »
ok, suggestions?

EDIT: ok, changed back... the rect_text info is now applied only when rect_text.width > 0... otherwise all vanilla
« Last Edit: December 19, 2016, 11:26:38 am by Meridian »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5479
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Meridian's resources and mods for X-PirateZ
« Reply #994 on: December 20, 2016, 11:59:44 am »
The sleep and wounded indicators on unconscious units are very useful.
Is it possible to define a 'burning indicator'?
I think I had a few unconscious units who burned to death, because I had no indicator.

Added support for unit-burning indicator.

Code: [Select]
  - type: BigStunIndicator
    singleImage: true
    files:
      0: Resources/UnitUI/Zzz.png
  - type: BigWoundIndicator
    singleImage: true
    files:
      0: Resources/UnitUI/Bleed.png
  - type: BigBurnIndicator
    singleImage: true
    files:
      0: Resources/UnitUI/burning.gif
  - type: FloorStunIndicator
    singleImage: true
    files:
      0: Resources/UnitUI/Zzz.png
  - type: FloorWoundIndicator
    singleImage: true
    files:
      0: Resources/UnitUI/Bleed.png
  - type: FloorBurnIndicator
    singleImage: true
    files:
      0: Resources/UnitUI/burning.gif
« Last Edit: December 20, 2016, 04:44:37 pm by Meridian »

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8842
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [OXCE+] Meridian's resources and mods for (not only) X-PirateZ
« Reply #995 on: December 20, 2016, 12:40:12 pm »
This was actually quite needed, thank you.

Offline CaptainCorkscrew

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
    • Let's Play: XPiratez
Re: [OXCE+] Meridian's resources and mods for (not only) X-PirateZ
« Reply #996 on: December 20, 2016, 04:22:47 pm »
I think the fire is a bit odd, especially with the thick black outline. Not having access to the flame I have created a new one. Use it if you like it.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5479
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Meridian's resources and mods for (not only) X-PirateZ
« Reply #997 on: December 20, 2016, 04:43:15 pm »
New version is up.

2016-12-20
 - unhardcoded minimum accuracy to trigger reaction fire: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,4830.msg76356.html#msg76356
 - added unit-on-fire indicator: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,4187.msg76347.html#msg76347
 - hotkey to move all remaining ground inventory items from craft to base: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,5120.msg76289.html#msg76289
 - manual soldier demote: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,5059.msg76277.html#msg76277
 - fixed pedia title width, as discussed above...

Download: https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B8itkFQbhj-YM1hnVGtKVTR0ejQ

WARNING: please note this is still not compatible with newest piratez to date (0.99e3). A compatible version of piratez will be released mid-january, if all goes well

GOOD NEWS: on the other hand, it's already compatible with XcomFiles (0.5 or higher), Dune/LandsOfSand (0.21 or higher) and all vanilla-based mods (FMP, Area51, Hardmode, etc.)
« Last Edit: December 21, 2016, 01:01:52 pm by Meridian »

Offline clownagent

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 377
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Meridian's resources and mods for (not only) X-PirateZ
« Reply #998 on: December 22, 2016, 11:24:56 am »
I tried to use a linebreak in the country-names  as introduced in the last version.

The funding and graphing screens look a bit weird (see screenshot)

Possible solution:
Use only 1st line of country-name for these screens.
« Last Edit: December 22, 2016, 11:28:58 am by clownagent »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5479
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Meridian's resources and mods for (not only) X-PirateZ
« Reply #999 on: December 24, 2016, 03:54:49 pm »
Possible solution:
Use only 1st line of country-name for these screens.

Nah, that's really ugly code-wise.
Why do you even need to put the continent name after the country name? Does it have any purpose?

I guess I'll return the country name size to the original again... and put a second label just below it.
And add a possibility to specify the second line like this:
Code: [Select]
  STR_GERMANY = "Germany"
  STR_GERMANY_2 = "(Europe)" # this would be used only on the globe
« Last Edit: December 25, 2016, 02:07:57 pm by Meridian »

Offline clownagent

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 377
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Meridian's resources and mods for (not only) X-PirateZ
« Reply #1000 on: December 24, 2016, 07:24:53 pm »
Why do you even need to put the continent name after the country name? Does it have any purpose?

It is the only way to let the player know, where a certain region is.

In vanilla you do not have to put a label on Africa, because everyone knows where Africa is.

On the desert planet you have to put in region labels, to show the player where the region is. Sadly region labels do not exist, so I have to use the country labels.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5479
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Meridian's resources and mods for (not only) X-PirateZ
« Reply #1001 on: December 24, 2016, 07:34:15 pm »
It is the only way to let the player know, where a certain region is.
In vanilla you do not have to put a label on Africa, because everyone knows where Africa is.
On the desert planet you have to put in region labels, to show the player where the region is. Sadly region labels do not exist, so I have to use the country labels.

So, if there were region labels, how would they differ from country labels?
Different color?

Offline Dioxine

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5222
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: [OXCE+] Meridian's resources and mods for (not only) X-PirateZ
« Reply #1002 on: December 24, 2016, 07:44:02 pm »
Labels won't do you much good since there is no way of telling where are its' borders. Using countries as regions makes more sense on a custom planet IMO...

Offline clownagent

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 377
    • View Profile
Re: [OXCE+] Meridian's resources and mods for (not only) X-PirateZ
« Reply #1003 on: December 24, 2016, 09:55:21 pm »
So, if there were region labels, how would they differ from country labels?
Different color?

Yes different color. Maybe also different zoom level (but this is not so important).

As I mentioned above, the most flexible would be:
It would be even better if we could set extra labels anywhere on the globe for naming geological formations or anything else.
 For example one could put labels with "Himalaya or Shieldwall" on a rock formation or "Eternal Wastes" on ice formations.

Code could look like:
Code: [Select]
globeLabels:
   -[x-coordinate, y-coordinate, "label-text", font color, zoomlevel]



Labels won't do you much good since there is no way of telling where are its' borders. Using countries as regions makes more sense on a custom planet IMO...

I may use polylines for the borders. Polylines are independet of country and region definitions.
Using countries as regions is not so easy, since alien missions are defined only by regions and the regions also appear in the graph screen.
« Last Edit: December 24, 2016, 09:57:24 pm by clownagent »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5479
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [OXCE+] Meridian's resources and mods for (not only) X-PirateZ
« Reply #1004 on: December 25, 2016, 01:56:38 pm »
Yes different color. Maybe also different zoom level (but this is not so important).

I have reverted all changes to countries and added new extra globe labels.
Extra globe labels can span 2 lines if separated by "\n".

Example:

Code: [Select]
extraGlobeLabels:
  - type: STR_TEST_ME
    labelLon: 260
    labelLat: -40
    labelColor: 10 # blinding red-yellow
    zoomLevel: 0 # no zoom
extraStrings:
  - type: en-US
    strings:
      STR_TEST_ME: "'MURICA"

As a bonus, countries can also use the labelColor attribute. They ignore zoomLevel attribute tho.

« Last Edit: December 25, 2016, 01:59:56 pm by Meridian »