Author Topic: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)  (Read 1740 times)

Offline Abyss

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« on: January 18, 2019, 02:24:17 pm »
Had dozens of friendly fire overkills by the rocketeers due to the reaction fire.
May I suggest make a RL reaction fire optionable?

Online ohartenstein23

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1711
  • Flamethrowers fry cyberdisk circuits
    • View Profile
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2019, 02:52:31 pm »
Use the "zero out soldier TUs" button. It looks like a "0", it's to the left of the soldier status bars in the battlescape UI, and you just have to right click it to prevent that soldier from reaction rocketing.

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
    • View Profile
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2019, 06:05:58 pm »
Other things you can do:

1.) select soldiers with low reactions to carry launchers

2.) keep soldiers clear of the launchers' line of fire

3.) spread soldiers out as much as possible -- this also helps defend against alien grenades and blaster launchers

4.) mod the launchers to have 1 waypoint -- it will prevent them from using reaction fire entirely

My mod, Reaver's Faithful, includes a Heavy soldier class which has reduced reactions.

Offline Alex_D

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 290
    • View Profile
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2019, 10:20:55 pm »
Some mods make the RL a must two-handed weapon. In those cases put something on the free hand (usually a pistol or a motion scanner), to prevent the RL reaction fire.

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3463
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #4 on: January 19, 2019, 02:03:54 am »
Had dozens of friendly fire overkills by the rocketeers due to the reaction fire.

In addition to the suggestions listed above, I'll add a couple more: spread out your troops more and don't rely on reaction fire, except when you're inside UFOs.

Offline Abyss

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #5 on: January 20, 2019, 08:07:54 pm »
In the hardest difficulty and Ironman mode there is a chase for the each single TU, sometimes.
But issue is not only a friendly fire but also a reload TU cost in case of.

The question is: is it time consuming to code it in?

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5478
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #6 on: January 20, 2019, 08:12:23 pm »
is it time consuming to code it in?

no

Offline Abyss

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #7 on: January 20, 2019, 08:46:10 pm »
no

Then I suppose it's a matter of the topic's priority. Thank you.

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5478
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2019, 08:52:00 pm »
Then I suppose it's a matter of the topic's priority. Thank you.

Priority is negative infinity, it's the last thing I will not do after all other things I will not do :)

Online ohartenstein23

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1711
  • Flamethrowers fry cyberdisk circuits
    • View Profile
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2019, 09:25:22 pm »
Don't ask for new code when there are already so many options for you to fix this problem yourself, many of which were already suggested to you here.

Offline Abyss

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #10 on: January 21, 2019, 02:16:30 am »
Don't ask for new code when there are already so many options for you to fix this problem yourself, many of which were already suggested to you here.
I am grateful for all these suggestions, which I was totally aware of before posting the question. Except for the the mod for making the launchers to have 1 waypoint.
That is a solution for 1 person, could it be me or anyone else that reads this topic.
How that can be made? Thank you.

Priority is negative infinity, it's the last thing I will not do after all other things I will not do :)

That's the spirit of independence:)
« Last Edit: January 21, 2019, 02:46:34 am by Abyss »

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1248
    • View Profile
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #11 on: January 21, 2019, 03:48:25 pm »
Code: [Select]
items:
  - type: STR_ROCKET_LAUNCHER
    waypoints: 1

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5478
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #12 on: January 21, 2019, 04:40:40 pm »
or

Code: [Select]
items:
  - type: STR_ROCKET_LAUNCHER
    accuracySnap: 0
    tuSnap: 0
    accuracyAuto: 55
    tuAuto: 45
    confAuto:
      shots: 1
      name: STR_SNAP_SHOT

Offline Abyss

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 159
    • View Profile
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #13 on: January 21, 2019, 07:28:32 pm »
Thank you guys. That's a solution. Don't really want to lock the Snapshot, so the Reaver's suggestion fits better. No more Hellerium missiles reaction fire in the CQ!!  :)

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5478
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Rocket launcher reaction-fire menu option (enable/disable)
« Reply #14 on: January 21, 2019, 07:40:14 pm »
In didn't lock the snapshot, it is still available to you same way as before (same accuracy, same time unit cost, same everything... just no reaction shots).