Author Topic: Black boxes at 1920x1080 resolution  (Read 1060 times)

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1212
    • View Profile
Black boxes at 1920x1080 resolution
« on: September 17, 2018, 09:44:38 pm »
My desktop resolution is 1920x1080 and I also have OpenXcom set to 1920x1080 fullscreen resolution, and I'm getting black boxes at the sides which show up on screenshots. The effective resolution I'm getting is 1728x1080 which makes sense because it's a 16:10 aspect ratio, same as the original X-Com 320x200 resolution. The problem is that I don't have a screen resolution option at this high size that has the same aspect ratio, and OpenXcom is also not correcting for the wrong aspect ratio by continuing backgrounds/battlescape over it.

The top resolution option is 1920x1080 (16:9), and the next one down is a much smaller 1680x1050 which is 16:10 aspect ratio. Can you change the 1920x1080 into a 16:10 that's bigger than 1680x1050? 1920x1200 might be a good option--good multiple of the original resolution--although I don't have the option to set my desktop resolution that high and I don't know why. 1816x1135 Is about the highest you can go at that aspect ratio without going over the number of pixels at 1920x1080.

I also don't have 1600x1000 (next multiple of original going down) as an option. There is 1600x1024 which will give black lines at top and bottom of screen. In fact there's a general lack of 16:10 aspect ratios available.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2019, 07:54:21 pm by The Reaver of Darkness »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4862
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Black boxes at 1920x1080 resolution
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2018, 10:02:25 pm »
You can just click on the numbers and change them to anything you want... even 1234x567 if you want.

And to get rid of black bars (without any distortions), use the "1/3 display", "1/2 display" or "full display" options, instead of "1x original", "1.5x original" and "2x original".

Best way to play IMO is at 1280x720 (16:9) with geoscape at "1/3 display" and battlescape at "1/2 display"... just a tip.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2018, 10:06:08 pm by Meridian »

Offline KZad Bhat

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
Re: Black boxes at 1920x1080 resolution
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2018, 10:44:07 pm »
1920x1080 is a 16:9 resolution anyway. I hadn't actually tried the 1/2 or 1/3 Display, but I do set mine to Full Display anyway, set at 640x480. My computer chugs at any higher resolution, and default 640x400 acts strange. Maybe playing with the 1/2 or 1/3 option will help, I'll check that out some time.

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1212
    • View Profile
Re: Black boxes at 1920x1080 resolution
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2018, 10:51:51 pm »
I hadn't ever tried the 1/2 and 1/3 display before, thanks! But I'm still getting black boxes on the geoscape no matter what I do, and it seems to be because Windows or my screen doesn't properly support the 16:10 aspect ratio. If I set it to a 16:10 resolution, I might get black boxes (sometimes very large) which don't show on screenshots accompanying a highly distorted image which only looks fine in screenshots, or I might get standard black boxes and when I check the resolution, it isn't what I entered in the box.

I am also unable to reach 1920x1200 resolution. I guess it is too high for my hardware or software? If I set 1920x1200 the game puts me at 640x480. 1920x1080 is so close, but 1920x1200 would be perfect because it's 6x the original, making a perfect match for both 1/2 and 1/3 display.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2018, 10:53:59 pm by The Reaver of Darkness »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4862
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Black boxes at 1920x1080 resolution
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2018, 11:04:03 pm »
If your monitor is 1920x1080, you of course can't set 1920x1200.
You can only set equal or less than your max resolution.

1/2 and 1/3 display don't need perfect multiples of original resolutions... that's their advantage (over 1x, 1.5x and 2x options), they just zoom, they don't stretch.

More info here: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,3735.msg47612.html#msg47612

Offline PAK001

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Black boxes at 1920x1080 resolution
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2019, 04:55:15 pm »
Hi, I will pin my issue here.
I'm playing on a 17-inches laptop with native resolution of 1960x1080. If I set the game to a resolution higher than 1024x768 the lower part does not fit into the window (as in the screenshot). The zoom is set up to 1.5. Can you advise? Thx.
« Last Edit: April 05, 2019, 04:59:12 pm by PAK001 »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 4862
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Black boxes at 1920x1080 resolution
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2019, 05:03:06 pm »
Hi, I will pin my issue here.
I'm playing on a 17-inches laptop with native resolution of 1960x1080. If I set the game to a resolution higher than 1024x768 the lower part does not fit into the window (as in the screenshot)

You have scaling in windows set to more than 100% (probably to 150%).

You have two options:
1. set windows scaling to 100%
2. or tell the game to not use windows scaling... right-click on openxcom.exe > Properties >  tab Compatibility > button Change high DPI settings

Offline PAK001

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: Black boxes at 1920x1080 resolution
« Reply #7 on: April 06, 2019, 09:35:00 am »
Thx Meridian, turning off windows scaling for the game worked.