aliens

Author Topic: Ghost Scientists.  (Read 5459 times)

Offline pilot00

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Back in the day it was gameplay not a feature....
    • View Profile
Ghost Scientists.
« on: March 08, 2015, 11:16:22 pm »
Hello guys.

First of all let me say a big thank you to the dev team for this awesome mod/update/revamp. The game is x1000000000000000000 better than it used to be (and runs on new machines to boot :D )

Now I have a little bug (which to be honest IDK if its due to the original or the update):

I build a second base with the plan to make it an R&D facility. I put a lab under construction and hire the 50 scientists BEFORE it was finished. After the lab is finished I cant assign the scientists to do any research. They take their living space (I cant delete the specific living quarters they are assigned. In use...grrr...) The exist in the pay rolls, I cant fire or transfer them, since I dont get the option. When I hire scientists on the base I see that I have 50 of them already in that screen. Tried to hire more hopping to get them active but nope.

So is there something I can do, or do I have to pay the almost 2 million on ghost scientists? Even If I have to edit a specific file (to delete them if need be) I am ok with it.

Thanks for your time.

Offline Arthanor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2560
  • XCom Armoury Quartermaster
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #1 on: March 09, 2015, 02:51:42 am »
That's rather peculiar.. Which version of the game are you using?

Post a saved game and we can look into what to edit to make it work.

Offline pilot00

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Back in the day it was gameplay not a feature....
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #2 on: March 09, 2015, 01:14:42 pm »
Its the 1.0 (After joining here I found out that there are more builds, so I guess it might be just that).

I cant identify the subfolder that it stores the saves any ideas? I know the original creates files with the names GAME_1 etc, but I cant see anything on the open x-com folder I am using.

Offline hellrazor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2254
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #3 on: March 09, 2015, 01:23:08 pm »
Its the 1.0 (After joining here I found out that there are more builds, so I guess it might be just that).

I cant identify the subfolder that it stores the saves any ideas? I know the original creates files with the names GAME_1 etc, but I cant see anything on the open x-com folder I am using.

You may find the information you seek here: https://www.ufopaedia.org/index.php?title=Installing_(OpenXcom)#User_Folder

Offline pilot00

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Back in the day it was gameplay not a feature....
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #4 on: March 09, 2015, 01:27:30 pm »
Bingo ty bro. Heres the save.

The problem Occures in the Havana (in game X-Com N.A.) base.
« Last Edit: March 09, 2015, 01:30:28 pm by pilot00 »

Offline ivandogovich

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2409
  • X-Com Afficionado
    • View Profile
    • Ivan Dogovich Youtube
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #5 on: March 09, 2015, 05:57:50 pm »
Are your scientists still in Transit?  They take 3 days to get to your base.  Look at Base Information>Transfers to see if they are still on their way.

Offline pilot00

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Back in the day it was gameplay not a feature....
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #6 on: March 09, 2015, 06:02:17 pm »
Are your scientists still in Transit?  They take 3 days to get to your base.  Look at Base Information>Transfers to see if they are still on their way.

Negative, I progressed three months explicitely to see if that was the case, but no luck. They exist only for living space and salary purposes.

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3502
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #7 on: March 09, 2015, 07:32:28 pm »
Negative, I progressed three months explicitely to see if that was the case, but no luck. They exist only for living space and salary purposes.

Your scientists are still in transit. This is what I get on the saved file you posted after hitting the time button.

Offline pilot00

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Back in the day it was gameplay not a feature....
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #8 on: March 09, 2015, 09:10:21 pm »
Your scientists are still in transit. This is what I get on the saved file you posted after hitting the time button.

That might be the case and would explain why I still pay them, and they get space in the living quarters. The problem persists though, they never arrive, I cant fire and they arent available for research.

Have you moved the time up as to see weather they ever arrive or not? I tried fast forward a month without completing missions just for that but nothing.

In any event is there a way to delete them by modifying the game files if need be?
« Last Edit: March 09, 2015, 09:22:49 pm by pilot00 »

Offline Arthanor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2560
  • XCom Armoury Quartermaster
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #9 on: March 09, 2015, 11:10:28 pm »
Your save says that there are 50 scientists in transit arriving in 14 hours at X-Com N.A.

In your save, do a search for "transfers:" and you will find the entry.

A few lines above it, it also says "scientists: 0", which is the number of scientists currently at the base. If you want to, you could delete

Code: [Select]
transfers:
  - hours: 14
    scientists: 50

and a few lines above where it says "scientists: 0", just write "scientists: 50". When you load the game, you should have 50 scientists ready to work in your base.

Why they would be stuck in transit forever though, I don't know.. Maybe something was broken in 1.0... The nightly is much better btw ;)

Offline pilot00

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Back in the day it was gameplay not a feature....
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #10 on: March 09, 2015, 11:22:54 pm »
Your save says that there are 50 scientists in transit arriving in 14 hours at X-Com N.A.

In your save, do a search for "transfers:" and you will find the entry.

A few lines above it, it also says "scientists: 0", which is the number of scientists currently at the base. If you want to, you could delete

Code: [Select]
transfers:
  - hours: 14
    scientists: 50

and a few lines above where it says "scientists: 0", just write "scientists: 50". When you load the game, you should have 50 scientists ready to work in your base.

Why they would be stuck in transit forever though, I don't know.. Maybe something was broken in 1.0... The nightly is much better btw ;)

Thanks! It worked. I just made them 50 and they are available.

When I do check the transfers (before the edit) they dont show there, but as I said they were taking up living space. Weird who knows?

Thanks again for the time and effort.

I am new to the forums, so I guess the nightly is not a final version but something in progress? Would the saves work if I transfer over?

Offline Arthanor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2560
  • XCom Armoury Quartermaster
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #11 on: March 10, 2015, 06:03:44 pm »
It is probably best to finish your campaign without changing anything. Hopefully the next bath of scientists doesn't get lost again..

The nightly is a version of the game that is updated regularly with fixes and new features. It has its own issues (new features often break mods, or introduce new bugs) but it is generally a better game than 1.0 so I would suggest updating before your next campaign.

Offline NoelBuddy

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #12 on: March 10, 2015, 06:34:32 pm »
About the nightlies, they have a history of destroying saves. It doesn't happen often but this is another reason to play thru your campaign till completion before updating if you are concerned about losing saves.

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2337
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #13 on: March 10, 2015, 06:42:30 pm »
saves from 1.0 should work fine with the current nightly, but for best compatibility, use a geoscape save rather than a tactical one.

Offline pilot00

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Back in the day it was gameplay not a feature....
    • View Profile
Re: Ghost Scientists.
« Reply #14 on: March 11, 2015, 12:25:16 am »
Me thinks ill finish it as it is now. At least I edited the file as Arthanor suggested and I finally got them to function. No problems so far, a bunch of engineers I ordered arrived no problems. Just that Canada followed the U.S.A. and defected to the alliens, even after I shot down 3 scouts, one abductor and 2 battleships on the same filight.... I wonder what managed to land and I didnt see it....oh well...at least those are gameplay problems.

Thanks again for the responces, and to the dev team and moders. The game has become THAT MUCH awesomer.
« Last Edit: March 11, 2015, 12:27:05 am by pilot00 »