Author Topic: [Request][UI] Open door button  (Read 9163 times)

Offline ufomesh

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
[Request][UI] Open door button
« on: June 29, 2014, 02:42:20 pm »
Hi!
I found that one of the important features of openXcom is missing in android port. It is opening doors by right click. So the idea was to make an additional button for this. I think it's not bad if PC version will have this UI button, too :)
The problem is: I'm not a coder and even can't check out the possibility of creating new UI buttons, but I can draw them.
Also I found that size of a standard button is 32х16. Maybe this is made for some memory reasons and it isn't possible to change button sizes.
Anyway, new ones are 28x16. Check out attached files: normal view and zoomed in x2. For now I have 2 variations of open door button, don't know which is better. I will appreciate any comments, help and advice.

The second problem is: all buttons go in pairs, so it would be good to find another action for this second button in a column. For now this blank place is used for a variation for "open a door" button.

Offline davide

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
    • View Profile
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2014, 07:27:43 pm »
+1

Offline Unknown Hero

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2014, 07:44:46 pm »
Why not: "Close the door"

Your first soldier, with a power suit, opens the door and enters the UFO.
Your second soldier, with no armor, closes the door.
Then, your first soldier can throw a grenade inside the UFO without risking to hurt the second soldier.


**********
***** Added 07/04/2014 - Start
**********


Forget the "Close the door" button, this can be done with the same button "Open/Close Door".
It's better to reserve the other button for another action.


**********
***** Added 07/04/2014 - End
**********
« Last Edit: July 04, 2014, 01:47:16 am by Unknown Hero »

Offline SupSuper

  • Lazy Developer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2158
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2014, 02:19:05 am »
The other button could be for the Reload shortcut that people keep missing. :P

Offline Unknown Hero

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2014, 02:58:30 am »
Yes, great; select the active weapon (if the soldier has 2 weapons with clips (one in each hand)), then reload if enough TUs. Should work.

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 10846
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
    • Email
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #5 on: July 11, 2014, 06:26:15 pm »
Yes, great; select the active weapon (if the soldier has 2 weapons with clips (one in each hand)), then reload if enough TUs. Should work.

You know it already works with the R key, right?

Offline Muukalainen

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #6 on: July 11, 2014, 07:26:39 pm »
I would love to have hand icon that would work as a use button.

Open and close doors. It would also pick up or place items on the tile ahead.

Offline Unknown Hero

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #7 on: July 11, 2014, 07:41:20 pm »
@ Solarius Scorch

Quote
You know it already works with the R key, right?

Yes, but for players who can/want not use a keyboard.

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #8 on: July 12, 2014, 03:08:52 pm »
You know it already works with the R key, right?
???
Thanks for the tip

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1558
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
    • Email
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #9 on: July 13, 2014, 12:43:57 pm »
Would love a Lock door button :)

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 731
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #10 on: July 13, 2014, 12:49:48 pm »
Would love a Lock door button :)

And some thief "unlock" capability ?  8)

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1558
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
    • Email
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #11 on: July 13, 2014, 09:37:02 pm »
And some thief "unlock" capability ?  8)
One day maybe :P just causing people to waste the extra TUs to shoot it down for now would be enough 8)

Offline NeoWorm

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 104
    • View Profile
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #12 on: July 14, 2014, 12:29:50 pm »
I found that one of the important features of openXcom is missing in android port.

It isnt missing. When you turn towards the door you want to open by hold+flick motion you can open the door by doing the same thing again. Its a little wonky but nothing that harsh. And it works.

Offline ufomesh

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #13 on: July 22, 2014, 10:51:20 pm »
It isnt missing. When you turn towards the door you want to open by hold+flick motion you can open the door by doing the same thing again. Its a little wonky but nothing that harsh. And it works.

Wow, didn't know that, thanks for tip. Anyway, it would be much easier to open doors with icon rather than this tricky gesture.

Offline Tarvis

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 111
    • View Profile
Re: [Request][UI] Open door button
« Reply #14 on: July 24, 2014, 10:50:24 pm »
So the idea was to make an additional button for this. I think it's not bad if PC version will have this UI button, too :)
Quite frankly, I think the Android version just needs a new UI entirely. The buttons are entirely too small for a finger on 4 or 5 inch screens. There's been a few mockups in the old Android port thread.

I think the best place to start though would be if UI layouts and such were externalized. Then they could simply be handled by mods.