aliens

Author Topic: Maps and city scapes  (Read 35593 times)

Offline luke83

• Commander
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Maps and city scapes
« on: July 25, 2011, 10:50:20 am »
Hello,
 Exactly how are maps generated in X-com. Is there a pre-existing list of buildings that just gets placed in different locations to define a map?  Is this something that can be extracted from the original game so people could try to make MORE different types?

Please forgive my ignorance as im new to open source and modding in general but this project really excites me  :o

Offline michal

• Commander
    • View Profile
Re: Maps and city scapes
« Reply #1 on: July 25, 2011, 12:37:06 pm »
https://www.ufopaedia.org/index.php?title=MAPS

As for creating new maps for OpenXcom, i guess that someone will make easier format for that.

Volutar

« Reply #2 on: July 25, 2011, 03:02:34 pm »
Besides "maps" (which are just map blocks of 10x10 or 20x20 tiles) there are different types of terrain. Each type of terrain built by different algorithms. Most of them are pretty straight (random blocks), but some of them, such as alien base and terror mission site - quite complicated. I'd say the most complex is terror mission - it has set of rules of "town" building, like roads, crossings, buildings. Alien Base is like xcom base (which is quite easy to "render"), but with preliminary generation of base structure (also some rules applied).

Offline Daiky

• Battlescape Programmer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 25, 2011, 11:32:26 pm »
There are already map packs and a great map editor, which works with openxcom as good as it worked with the original game. Which is the advantage of being able to handle old file formats.
If we would use a new format, unfortunatly a new map editor has to be written before anyone would be able to make new maps...