Author Topic: Terrain Pack - Info & Feedback  (Read 263462 times)

Offline VSx86

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #375 on: September 07, 2014, 01:04:09 pm »
´╗┐Good day, Hobbes.
 
There's a bug in new Missions_Pack ruleset. Happened on version openxcom_git_master_2014_09_06_0652
 

 
I fixed it. Correct file attached to this message.
 
 
Thanks for the interesting add-on!
« Last Edit: September 07, 2014, 01:05:54 pm by VSx86 »

Offline Hobbes

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 3459
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #376 on: September 07, 2014, 02:21:55 pm »
Another spawning problem... Enemies spawning in a building which has no entrance (and is very, very hard to blow up):

Fixed. Thanks!

´╗┐Good day, Hobbes.
 
There's a bug in new Missions_Pack ruleset. Happened on version openxcom_git_master_2014_09_06_0652
 
I fixed it. Correct file attached to this message.
 
Thanks for the interesting add-on!

Fixed and updated version 2.1 of the pack. Thanks!

Offline Infini

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 120
  • Alien French Translator
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #377 on: September 07, 2014, 05:56:23 pm »
French translation; 3 new lines in v2.1 (Terrain_Pack.rul)

STR_ATLANTDESERT: L'Atlantide
STR_MUJUNGLE: Continent Perdu de Mu
STR_COMRCURBAN: Centre Commercial

Merci!
 :)

Offline myk002

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #378 on: September 07, 2014, 07:44:16 pm »
Hey Hobbes,

Solarius Scorch directed me over here for an issue I found while running the Final Mod Pack (original post).

I've run into a crash issue on one of the maps with the railyard tileset.  On alien turn one, I get a std::vector overrun.  It appears that the alien patrol nodes are corrupt. 

I opened a bug at https://openxcom.org/bugs/openxcom/issues/819 but Warboy closed it, saying (rightly) that he wasn't about to debug mod issues.  I've attached a savegame that shows the issue and written up some more technical details in the bug report, if that helps.  Is there any more info I can get from the debugger that could help track this down?

Offline Hobbes

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 3459
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #379 on: September 07, 2014, 08:06:30 pm »
French translation; 3 new lines in v2.1 (Terrain_Pack.rul)

STR_ATLANTDESERT: L'Atlantide
STR_MUJUNGLE: Continent Perdu de Mu
STR_COMRCURBAN: Centre Commercial

Merci!
 :)

Merci :)

Hey Hobbes,

Solarius Scorch directed me over here for an issue I found while running the Final Mod Pack (original post).

I've run into a crash issue on one of the maps with the railyard tileset.  On alien turn one, I get a std::vector overrun.  It appears that the alien patrol nodes are corrupt. 

I opened a bug at https://openxcom.org/bugs/openxcom/issues/819 but Warboy closed it, saying (rightly) that he wasn't about to debug mod issues.  I've attached a savegame that shows the issue and written up some more technical details in the bug report, if that helps.  Is there any more info I can get from the debugger that could help track this down?

Can you post a pic of the specific map block that is causing issues?

Offline myk002

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #380 on: September 07, 2014, 08:14:29 pm »
sure thing:

Offline Dioxine

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5181
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #381 on: September 07, 2014, 09:05:51 pm »
I don't know if it's the cause of the bug, but the screenshot shows that the Railyard seems to miss a dedicated Landing Zone as well...

Offline Hobbes

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 3459
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #382 on: September 07, 2014, 11:27:53 pm »
sure thing:

I'm afraid this picture doesn't help much since I mean the individual map block (either 10x10 or 20x20). Also, what behavior provokes the bug?

I don't know if it's the cause of the bug, but the screenshot shows that the Railyard seems to miss a dedicated Landing Zone as well...

The dedicated LZ is attached. The terrain will never load if you don't have a specific map block assigned as LZ.

Offline myk002

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #383 on: September 08, 2014, 02:13:10 am »
Ah, I haven't really dealt much with the maps before.  How do I find out which block is causing trouble?

I know the nodeLinks vector contains the following values (from the bug report:
(gdb) print *fromNode->getNodeLinks()
$10 = std::vector of length 5, capacity 5 = {239, 230, -1, 257, 245}

and then 257 is used as index into a vector that only has 253 elements.  How do I find what block this relates to?

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8648
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #384 on: September 08, 2014, 02:14:43 am »
Isn't debug mode showing what is happening when the game crashes, and where?

Offline myk002

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #385 on: September 08, 2014, 02:20:11 am »
yeah -- the stack trace and some poking around with gdb is in the bug report

Offline Hobbes

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 3459
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #386 on: September 08, 2014, 05:54:35 am »
yeah -- the stack trace and some poking around with gdb is in the bug report

Can you check with Warboy if there is a limit to the number of route nodes in a battlescape?

Offline myk002

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 230
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #387 on: September 08, 2014, 10:11:26 am »
Warboy responds:
Quote
RMP files store the data as unsigned 8-bit values, so yes, the limit is 255.

Offline Hobbes

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 3459
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #388 on: September 08, 2014, 02:45:32 pm »
Warboy responds:

So the 256 limit not only applies to RMP files but to the total of nodes in a Battlescape as well? This is the issue I need to confirm since this doesn't happen with the MCD files - they also have a 256 limit but you can use more than 256 entries during a tactical fight.

Or, an even better question: hat wdoes Warboy think it is the cause of the error message?

Sorry for all these questions but I'm not really qualified to understand that bug report since I hardly know any coding.
« Last Edit: September 08, 2014, 02:49:11 pm by Hobbes »

Offline Dioxine

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5181
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: [MAPS] Terrain/Missions Pack (WIP)
« Reply #389 on: September 08, 2014, 09:13:36 pm »
1. Small smoke dispersal issue (see attached screencap; small circle indicates the point of smoke grenade detonation); it doesn't seem right that such a low hedge blocks smoke dispersal...

2. Unsure: while these windows are transparent to bullets and LoS, they're as hard as the rest of the wall (it just withstood a heavy cannon near-miss). Maybe lower the armor a bit or make a broken window tile? It's not an issue with (inferior) vanilla glassless windows, but here this big-ass blue glass feels just wrong when shrugging off nearby HE detonations.

Sorry for incessantly bombarding you with these issues, but that's only because I love your terrains :)