aliens

Author Topic: Game crashes on base defence  (Read 4342 times)

Offline PAK001

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Game crashes on base defence
« on: June 20, 2014, 04:20:23 pm »
Hi everyone!

Maybe You will enlight me what should I do. I'm playing 1.0 and I have a base defence which causes the game to freeze and crash (before the message about the defence). I've deactivated all the mods, save is loading ok (with the proper warning about missing mods) and this time message appears and I'm into the inventory and then game hangs and crashes when I get to the third or fourth soldier. Can You help me, which mod should I get rid of before starting the game over again?
I'm providing a savegame.

Thank You.

Offline essohbe

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: Game crashes on base defence
« Reply #1 on: June 20, 2014, 04:30:15 pm »
Thread above you. We're trying to figure this out here: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php?topic=2285.0

What I did was load a previous save file and build a ton of plasma defences so it prompts the hit/miss thing for the attacking ship. Most the time they get shot down but the few times I had where it didn't it went ahead and loaded the defense mission without any hangups.

So, basically just research plasma defences asap and build about 8 of them. You need 4 hits to destroy the attacking UFO (on veteran difficulty anyway).

Offline Shoes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 502
    • View Profile
Re: Game crashes on base defence
« Reply #2 on: June 20, 2014, 05:40:22 pm »
Did you install the Commendations Mod? If you did, turning it off is not enough, you have to swap the .exes again.

However, the fact that it happens before the mission and not after makes me think it's not related to stat tracking... the save will go a long way to help find the error though!

Offline PAK001

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: Game crashes on base defence
« Reply #3 on: June 20, 2014, 06:26:37 pm »
I don't have Commendations mod.
These are mods I've installed:
Retaliator https://www.openxcom.com/mod/retaliator - unlikely to cause anything as I didn't reach that plane yet in my game
Combat - Uniform Armors  https://www.openxcom.com/mod/combat-uniform-armors
Armored Vest - https://www.openxcom.com/mod/armored-vest
Thunderstorm Interceptor https://www.openxcom.com/mod/thunderstorm-interceptor - just like with Retaliator, not reached yet
Sniper Rifle https://www.openxcom.com/mod/sniper-rifle
Grenade Launcher https://www.openxcom.com/mod/grenade-launcher
Alien Armoury Expanded https://www.openxcom.com/mod/alien-armoury-expanded (AlienArmouryExpanded UFOs submud disabled, it didn't want to load for some reason)
Shotgun https://www.openxcom.com/mod/shotgun
Fusion Torch https://www.openxcom.com/mods?s=Fusion+Torch - not yet reached
Railgun https://www.openxcom.com/mod/railgun - not yet reached
Sectopod HWP https://www.openxcom.com/mod/sectopod-hwp - not reached yet
Single Shot Rocket Launcher, Light Machinegun, Taser pistol (dl'ed from this collection https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php?topic=1598.0
Quick Draw Hip Slot - https://www.openxcom.com/mod/quick-draw-hip-slot
Scout Drone - https://www.openxcom.com/mod/scout-drone

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2333
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Game crashes on base defence
« Reply #4 on: June 20, 2014, 06:55:56 pm »
found the bug, it's related to having uninstalled the inventory slots mod. grab the latest nightly to fix it.