Author Topic: [Request] Extra facilities for human base  (Read 28142 times)

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8907
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #105 on: July 17, 2014, 11:18:05 pm »
Fine but just a little dubious: these extra facilities may be better to be a mod instead merged into openxcom? It isn't in the spirit of vanilla thingh and such :/

Yeah, definitely as a mod. Maybe an option, unless you think we have too many already.

BTW this is a broader question anyway... I guess at some point the project will have to be split into sub-projects, probably with slightly different code, to accommodate the various things introduced. Hopefully not any time soon, though; this should only happen after the basic game is done, if ever.

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1528
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #106 on: July 19, 2014, 04:35:39 pm »
So i reworked my XBASE3 ruleset to go onto the end of Warboys early work, still have some graphics to fix but things are coming along nicely.
« Last Edit: July 19, 2014, 04:37:22 pm by luke83 »

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8907
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #107 on: July 19, 2014, 05:38:25 pm »
Looks really nice, Luke. Very in line with the original game.

So... What's what? :)

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1528
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #108 on: July 20, 2014, 12:35:53 am »
Xbase_56 is my Small security station
Xbase_55 is my advanced Medial Unit, complete with recoverable alien cloning tanks that xcom has installed in the facility full application is not entirely thought out yet ( do i want clones, special organs/implants or both )?
Xbase_57 is my Large security station

Updated version of Expanded Alien base will include some rooms with these cloning tanks included ( might build them next weekend).
« Last Edit: July 20, 2014, 12:43:31 am by luke83 »

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8907
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #109 on: July 20, 2014, 03:30:32 am »
If we get the security stations into the game, don't forget to create spawning points for X-Com personnel inside. :)

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #110 on: July 20, 2014, 11:13:03 am »
I hope you will provide at least two stairways in the Large Security Station
Result is impressive

Question : is there a way to choose wich orientation we wish when building a new facility ? As there is only one door, orientation could become very important
« Last Edit: July 20, 2014, 11:16:17 am by Aldorn »

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1528
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #111 on: July 20, 2014, 12:47:37 pm »
I hope you will provide at least two stairways in the Large Security Station
Result is impressive

Question : is there a way to choose wich orientation we wish when building a new facility ? As there is only one door, orientation could become very important
Could always provide 4 different versions of the map, with 4 different building types for it, that would do the trick, it just wouldn't be very professional

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #112 on: July 20, 2014, 02:52:07 pm »
Could always provide 4 different versions of the map, with 4 different building types for it, that would do the trick, it just wouldn't be very professional
Wait, I did not have in mind you have to design four different maps...

I was just thinking about ufos, I guess there are sometimes oriented differently, without having 4 different designs (in fact I don't really know)
Also idea was just to think about possibility to select orientation (that would need certainly some development), so do not take care as it was just an idea

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8907
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #113 on: July 20, 2014, 03:43:00 pm »
I was just thinking about ufos, I guess there are sometimes oriented differently, without having 4 different designs (in fact I don't really know)

Sadly, there is no method of automatic rotation of blocks. For example, an eastern wall works completely differently than a northern wall, so there would be no easy conversion. If there are multiple orientations, each one must be made from scratch. If there are ways around this, I don't know them.

Offline Vulgar Monkey

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #114 on: July 20, 2014, 05:05:29 pm »
Re cloning tanks -
If you're worried about the lore implications of adopting alien cloning tech, you could always just say they've been adapted for conventional healing techniques, more like a Star Wars bacta tank?

Otherwise I suppose you could just outright steal a couple of alien surgery tables?

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #115 on: July 20, 2014, 07:46:55 pm »
Sadly, there is no method of automatic rotation of blocks. For example, an eastern wall works completely differently than a northern wall, so there would be no easy conversion. If there are multiple orientations, each one must be made from scratch. If there are ways around this, I don't know them.
Huuhh !
Al right...

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1528
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #116 on: July 21, 2014, 03:27:55 pm »
So had a go at making a ruleset, it partially works :P Maybe someone can fix this up. Also, i need graphics for the Basescape screen...Any takers?

Would like to include Warboys maps in this set ( since i built on top of his excellent medical centre but i really should ask first so attached is just my 3 files). ::)

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #117 on: July 21, 2014, 07:34:39 pm »
If it can help

1) Beware, to the unwanted tab and two waste spaces
Cf. line 23 after "- XBASE3" (see 1st screen hot)

2) The keyword "terrains:" is missing (see 2nd screen shot)

3) I added a size of 2 for Fortress, but I think it lacks some blocks : doesn't it need NW, NE, SW and SE ?  (see screen shot 3 and 4)

4) Regarding Security Room, it seems not possible to go upstairs (the small door opens, but path seem to be blocked just behind this small door)

5) Regarding Security Fortress, even if only one corner is visible, it seems some sprites are missing (walls with a window)
« Last Edit: July 21, 2014, 11:47:56 pm by Aldorn »

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1528
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #118 on: July 22, 2014, 12:12:33 am »
I have not been able to test these without it crashing, can you upload your ruleset?

Offline Aldorn

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 762
    • View Profile
Re: [Request] Extra facilities for human base
« Reply #119 on: July 22, 2014, 02:15:40 am »
I have not been able to test these without it crashing, can you upload your ruleset?
I remade a test from a clean environment
Try perhaps with "facilities" section from attached battle.cfg
Ruleset is attached too

Beware that I changed some values like cost and so on (it has nothing to do with a crash, it is just a warning so you do not overwrite your own values by mistake :P)

EDIT : I use night build 2014 07 09
« Last Edit: July 22, 2014, 03:04:26 am by Aldorn »