Author Topic: [HWP] Sectopod HWP V6 OpenXCOM  (Read 14411 times)

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2319
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP OXCOM0.9
« Reply #15 on: June 16, 2014, 02:13:41 pm »
i always assumed the hover tanks WERE re-purposed cyberdisks.

Offline harry

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP OpenXCOM
« Reply #16 on: September 23, 2014, 08:11:16 pm »
I updated the mod but I'm still struggling to make the HWP secondary weapon use ammunition.
but I can make ammo for the primary.

If anyone succeeded please let me know.

Offline Mr. Quiet

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 575
  • Likes: Quiet things. Dislikes: Loud things.
    • View Profile
    • =Open_X_Com= Mods
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP OpenXCOM
« Reply #17 on: September 23, 2014, 11:48:09 pm »
Love this mod so much  8)

Offline harry

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP OpenXCOM
« Reply #18 on: September 28, 2014, 03:17:20 am »
Love this mod so much  8)

thank you, and I think I finally managed to get the mod I wanted in that last update.

Offline jackstraw2323

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP V6 OpenXCOM
« Reply #19 on: October 28, 2014, 02:02:06 am »
I just get corrupted graphics when attempting to use these. I'm trying to work on my own HWP project, and ran into the same issue on my graphics. I thought maybe I just had a palette  error, and my image size was different as I was using https://falkooxc2.pythonanywhere.com/hwpbuild

I'm using open X com on a mac, so that version maybe doesn't support the custom spritesheets?

Going to try the unofficial osx nightly and see if that helps.

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP V6 OpenXCOM
« Reply #20 on: October 28, 2014, 02:51:05 am »
oxc-mac has problems with png(/gif?) images that have a transparent color in index 0
most of the images i see in mods have this setting
if i ever find a macuser in irc i could make a script that fixes this problem but i cant remember the last time one was in the openxcom channel
PS:
the drawingroutine numbering schema was changed some weeks ago
drawingroutine 20 is now 21 and 19 is now 20

Offline NoelBuddy

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP V6 OpenXCOM
« Reply #21 on: October 28, 2014, 03:02:42 am »
oxc-mac has problems with png(/gif?) images that have a transparent color in index 0

I've been using OXcom modding as a good excuse to learn what I'm doing with graphic editing software(mostly Photoshop and GIMP). I've seen some talk about what's causing the problem, apparently the way Macs handle the Alpha channels in the colors is different? Anyhow my question is, as a modder who is working in Windows and is interested in developing a better understanding of what I'm working with, is there something I can do when creating the images to make them compatible?

Offline jackstraw2323

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP V6 OpenXCOM
« Reply #22 on: October 28, 2014, 03:20:38 am »
Okay, I worked out how to fix. If I'm understanding what I ready, the engine pretty much ignores your actual palette and uses what it has stored for the battlescape. So it's safe to open the image in photoshop, under the image>mode>color table (assuming the image is already indexed) and replace the transparent color with something like R:0 G:255 B:0 that isn't used in the tables. The image will now render correctly. Sweet.

Offline jackstraw2323

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP V6 OpenXCOM
« Reply #23 on: October 28, 2014, 03:28:02 am »
So how did OP get the sprites in the right order? I'm finding that the tool at https://falkooxc2.pythonanywhere.com/hwpbuild produces a very different sprite sheet layout that seems out of order when I use them on an HWP using the code it suggests. Currently attempting using the sectopod routine as the base.

Offline NoelBuddy

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP V6 OpenXCOM
« Reply #24 on: October 28, 2014, 03:35:39 am »
So if I understand this correctly,  it is as simple as making sure the first color(index:0) is set as a color?

So the first image will only show up correctly on PCs, but the second will work for both Mac and PC?

Offline jackstraw2323

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP V6 OpenXCOM
« Reply #25 on: October 28, 2014, 03:37:35 am »
That seems to be the case for me. It's the difference between a pile of static and the graphic as intended.

I haven't installed a ton of mods yet, so further testing would confirm.

Offline NoelBuddy

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP V6 OpenXCOM
« Reply #26 on: October 28, 2014, 03:50:36 am »
Dog nmad it! Well at least reformatting will be simple.

Between it's refusal to let you actually work with an index and the very limited info I've been able to find on the matter it seems photoshop only very begrudgingly supports indexed colors.

Offline eL5haD

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP V6 OpenXCOM
« Reply #27 on: November 04, 2014, 06:50:46 am »
Hello,

Thank you so much, guys! This mod is amazing! But, what am I doing wrong?

ps Once again, thank you for your time.

Offline XCOMFan419

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 190
  • Wait I'm still here I swear
    • View Profile
Re: [HWP] Sectopod HWP V6 OpenXCOM
« Reply #28 on: November 04, 2014, 08:09:08 am »
Hello,

Thank you so much, guys! This mod is amazing! But, what am I doing wrong?

ps Once again, thank you for your time.
I believe that there are no en-GB or en-US strings, either or. I thought that the first time I tried playing this mod thinking "What did I do wrong?"