Author Topic: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod  (Read 43253 times)

Offline Hadan

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #90 on: June 21, 2014, 02:13:06 pm »
PS: you should modify funding, in vanilla you only get $6M funding at start, with this mod I get $12M.
Agreed.
Played some game-month now  with your mod active and my funding went trough the roof, its september now and i have over 100m.

greetz
Hadan

Offline Hadan

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 78
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #91 on: July 02, 2014, 08:29:56 am »
Good morning!

I modified the ruleset myself now:
Starting fund: ~4.1M
Reduced all initial fundings to ~1/3
Reduced max funding to ~60%

Maybe someone can give it a try, i fear the funding might still be to high.

All credits go to the original author, i just changes some numbers  :)

Hadan

Offline ibanix

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #92 on: July 03, 2014, 07:40:51 am »
This is impressive work. Is there any way to get country outlines on the worldmap? Does this require hacking WORLD.DAT?

Offline ibanix

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 73
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #93 on: July 03, 2014, 07:54:09 am »
Nevermind, I just figured out those are hardcoded in XcomResourcePack.cpp on compile. Hope that breaks out into Ruleset availability soon.

Offline arrakis69ct

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #94 on: July 09, 2014, 05:12:07 pm »
when i use this mod, all cities and nation have in front of the text STR_ and this is very bad. i use spanish version, can i do any for correct the mod???

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8588
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #95 on: July 09, 2014, 10:17:30 pm »
when i use this mod, all cities and nation have in front of the text STR_ and this is very bad. i use spanish version, can i do any for correct the mod???

Yes, add Spanish to the mod extraStrings. :P

Code: [Select]
  - type: es
    strings:
      STR_SAOPAULO: Sao Paulo
      STR_MARACAIBO: Maracaibo
      STR_BELOHORIZONTE: Belo Horizonte
      STR_RECIFE: Recife
etc.

Offline arrakis69ct

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #96 on: July 09, 2014, 10:19:00 pm »
Thx

Offline aceshigh

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #97 on: July 10, 2014, 03:36:26 pm »
haven´t tested the mod yet, but two cents based on what I read on the thread:

- add only/all cities in the world with metro areas with populations above a cap... let´s say, 3 million people.
here is a good list...

if we set the cap to 4 million people, there are 108 cities
cap at 3 million people, 153 cities
cap at 2 million people, 245 cities


- with a big number of megacities, China would be very interesting to protect.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

some people talked before about making Africa tactically relevant. I disagree. I would prefer to go for realism. I am brazilian, but I usually throw S.America to the aliens.

I think we should get actual 2013-2014 IMF figures for countries GDP. And adjust them proportionally so the total sum will somewhat get close to Vanilla XCOM (that is, you don´t get super rich too fast, nor poor).

For example... in Vanilla, I started a few games where France contributes a lot more than China. Nigeria contributes as much as China and Brazil contributes more!

Doesn´t really reflects China´s current economic size.

Adjust economies to current status, and China (10 trillion), Japan (5 trillion), S.Korea (1.2 trillion) and India (1.8 trillion) become a source of revenue as important to protect as USA or the European Union.

Offline MKSheppard

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 246
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #98 on: July 10, 2014, 10:33:37 pm »
XCOM is set in 1999 remember? Not 2014.  :P

Offline aceshigh

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #99 on: July 11, 2014, 04:17:08 am »
Poor tiny Uruguay, always forgotten. Too bad, we could have a soldier based on Suarez, who would bite the aliens  ;D ;D

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #100 on: September 15, 2014, 02:02:32 am »
i made some borders, fixed some city positions and other little things
https://imgur.com/a/LBv3A

Offline Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2105
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #101 on: September 15, 2014, 02:07:44 am »
I think you overdo with cities, without some build in filtering by zoom level you should stick to original one. Without it, it will be mess.

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #102 on: September 15, 2014, 02:23:25 am »
i added only praque the rest is from the XCOM1_Improved_Nations_Final.rul file the startpost
and i included the image exactly for this WTF moment :)

Offline Dioxine

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5168
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #103 on: September 15, 2014, 03:09:04 am »
Awesome! Now this mod really has what it takes. Still no option of rewriting existing borders, though...?

Offline Falko

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 810
    • View Profile
Re: [GLOBE] Improved Nations Mod
« Reply #104 on: September 15, 2014, 03:32:10 am »
Still no option of rewriting existing borders, though...?
no or i would have fixed some existing borders