Author Topic: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing L1 Version 1  (Read 17780 times)

Offline ivandogovich

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2409
  • X-Com Afficionado
    • View Profile
    • Ivan Dogovich Youtube
[MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing L1 Version 1
« on: January 07, 2017, 09:19:33 pm »
Version 1 Updated for PirateZ L1: Added Zortium Suit (New in L1)

Being inspired by Meridian's personal mod to streamline manufacturing of Annihilator Armor, I decided this concept was something I couldn't live without.

Designed for convenience, this mod allows alternate manufacturing recipes of all armors that require a lower armor type in one of its ingredients.
All new projects are marked with an asterisk "*" and use raw parts like personal & power armor parts, damaged grav units, synth muscle mesh, etc.




34 armors are included.


Version L1 v1.  Tested, no crashes.

Needs OXCE 6.4: https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,5258.0.html  (6.4.2 is included in PirateZ L1 build)

Enjoy
« Last Edit: April 01, 2020, 08:23:09 pm by ivandogovich »

Offline karadoc

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2017, 03:11:35 am »
What counts as "raw parts"?

Kustom Power Armor is buyable - so is that a raw part? Or does it use power armor parts? Or unplugged power armor?

For drugs, does it just use the drugs directly? Or does it use medical supplies and crack? Or does it use chemicals, and assume that you'll make your own drugs?

For armors based on the tactical vest, is the tactical vest itself a raw part? Or does it use armor parts, and assume you'll build the tactical vest?

Offline Absalom

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2017, 06:47:10 am »
Could we have more information on how it actually works?

Offline ivandogovich

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2409
  • X-Com Afficionado
    • View Profile
    • Ivan Dogovich Youtube
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2017, 07:06:22 am »
Raw parts are considered things you can pick up on the battle field:
- Personal Armor Parts
- Power Armor Parts
- Rare Earth Elements
- Combat Drugs
etc.

No, Tac Vests, Buyable Armors, etc, are not used in these recipes, only their components are.  The goal is to make it easier to assemble the end product from a pile of simple resources and not have to deal with intermediary steps. 

Yes, some of these simple resources are manufacturable (Combat Drugs, Rare Earth Elements, etc.), but I don't base the recipes on these processes, only the "battle field drops."

Some armor lines build on each other.  (Tac Vest> Tac Armor> Heavy Suit> Defender> Guardian, etc.).  There could be many recipes for Defender based on the different configurations of subordinate armors.  I have chosen to keep it simple by using the basic ingredients.

For those with existing armors that need upgrades, I recommend Dioxine's traditional recipe.  The times for these late stage armors is compounded from earlier versions, so it may be faster to buy earlier components from the black market, but it won't be cheaper (not figuring runt costs).  I envision these streamlined recipes most useful in late game expansions of the fighting forces, and the need for new high end armor.  I'd be interested to hear from anyone who uses this mod, when they use it and if they find it useful or not.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 6286
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2017, 11:27:10 am »
Idea is great, maintenance is a PITA.

If there would be interest, I can make these duplicates automatically via user option, or new armor flag or something of the kind.

Offline ivandogovich

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2409
  • X-Com Afficionado
    • View Profile
    • Ivan Dogovich Youtube
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2017, 05:57:21 pm »
Idea is great, maintenance is a PITA.

If there would be interest, I can make these duplicates automatically via user option, or new armor flag or something of the kind.

Yup.  If you can code it, go for it.  I agree maintenance as new armors are added or Dioxine tweaks their recipes will be a pain.  I can't code it, but I can do yaml, so I did what I could.
:)

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 9681
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #6 on: January 09, 2017, 01:21:39 am »
If there would be interest, I can make these duplicates automatically via user option, or new armor flag or something of the kind.

As a player, I think it's a great idea. It's pretty obvious why.

As a modder, I also think it's a great idea. It removes another limitation.

Offline legionof1

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1528
  • Bullets go that way. Money comes this way.
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #7 on: January 10, 2017, 08:52:22 pm »
Seems good so far in my use. Thou i would prefer if the revenat and brute armor used the much more common/buyable/producible chemicals and crack then combat drugs. Particularly in light that drugs are a consumable and it is conceivable to either disrupt production or field use in large batch cases.

Offline ivandogovich

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2409
  • X-Com Afficionado
    • View Profile
    • Ivan Dogovich Youtube
[MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing: Updated for 99G
« Reply #8 on: May 12, 2017, 08:53:44 pm »
Changes in 99G required updating the mod from sectoid corpses to academy corpses.  New zip in first post.

Offline arbee81

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #9 on: May 13, 2017, 06:59:18 pm »
I've been using it and love it. I'll usually check if I have what I need for the traditional recipe first to use up outdated armor, but once that's gone and I need more i find it so much easier to use the streamlined versions. I would frequently run into a problem where I wanted a certain armor, needed an earlier armor, would start manufacturing it, then get distracted and not build the final armor for (sometimes) months. This mod may literally save some of my bases (it was mostly armor for bases that I would forget about)

Sent from my LG-V520 using Tapatalk


Offline Boltgun

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • [UTTERANCES]
    • View Profile
    • Piratez let's play
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #10 on: May 19, 2017, 01:08:48 pm »
Really nice, I agree that armor manufacturing is a tad annoying and could use the laser/gauss weapons models (disassembly and assembly).

Offline Ethereal_Medic

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 936
  • Pet Lokk'Nar 9,99 $/hour
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #11 on: May 19, 2017, 01:15:33 pm »
Damn it, just got used to my calculator to pinpoint how much resources I've to pile up to build high-end techs.

Offline ivandogovich

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2409
  • X-Com Afficionado
    • View Profile
    • Ivan Dogovich Youtube
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #12 on: May 20, 2017, 05:06:15 pm »
Bug fix release (in first post)

arbee81 pointed out Batcostume was missing and provided a new recipe for that.  He also pointed out that I a bug for guardian armor (still requiring a Defender Armor).  Fixed.

Thanks a ton!

Offline Zharkov

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 404
    • View Profile
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #13 on: May 21, 2017, 02:28:31 pm »
Oh, my god! Illegal tab! Call Megapol!

And, the Need for STR_SECTOID_CORPSE in armors is out of date.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2017, 02:37:15 pm by Zharkov »

Offline ivandogovich

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2409
  • X-Com Afficionado
    • View Profile
    • Ivan Dogovich Youtube
Re: [MOD] Streamlined Armor Manufacturing
« Reply #14 on: May 22, 2017, 03:33:15 pm »
Thanks for the catch, Zharkov!   
Looks like my bug fix put the Sectoid Corpse bug back in. Fixed (thanks!)
I've updated the .zip in the OP.