aliens

Author Topic: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.  (Read 3682 times)

Offline VunderGuy

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« on: February 26, 2020, 08:52:35 pm »
Hello all. I recently tried downloading the Iron Man Super Suit mod from openxcom.mod.io

However, when I tried activating it, I got this error message instead:

Active mods:
[24-02-2020_10-41-39] [INFO] - xcom1 v1.0
[24-02-2020_10-41-39] [INFO] - IronManSuperSuite v0.7
[24-02-2020_10-41-39] [INFO] Loading rulesets...
[24-02-2020_10-41-40] [WARN] disabling mod with invalid ruleset: IronManSuperSuite
[24-02-2020_10-41-40] [ERROR] failed to load 'IronMan Super Suite'; mod disabled
Error for 'STR_CORPSE_MARK_I_ARMOR': offset '1900' exceeds mod size limit 1000 in set 'BIGOBS.PCK'

What does that mean and how do I fix it? Help would be much appreciated.

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11453
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #1 on: February 27, 2020, 09:55:43 am »
Never heard of this mod, but the author clearly thought it a good idea to use sprite ids over 1000. (It wasn't.) It can be done, but only with a special modification to the metadata file:
Code: [Select]
  reservedSpace: 2
But the proper way would be to reindex the sprites properly.

Offline VunderGuy

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #2 on: February 27, 2020, 12:27:10 pm »
Never heard of this mod, but the author clearly thought it a good idea to use sprite ids over 1000. (It wasn't.) It can be done, but only with a special modification to the metadata file:
Code: [Select]
  reservedSpace: 2
But the proper way would be to reindex the sprites properly.

Apparently the guy who posted it on mod.io didn't originally author the mod by his own admission and just reposted it after the original mod author disappeared along with the link to the original mod. I tried contacting him first on mod.io but he's been offline for months now, so I figured it best to post here.

So it's just a sprite error then? Nothing more? If so, it should be relatively simple to fix, right? Step by step, what do I do?

wcho035

  • Guest
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #3 on: February 27, 2020, 12:30:18 pm »
Look for a file name

metadata.yml

then in the content.

Code: [Select]
name: "Mod"
version: "0.9.9e"
requiredExtendedVersion: "5.6.4"
author: "name of author"
description: "Ufo game."
id: something-files
master: xcom1
reservedSpace: 2  <--------------------------******
resourceConfig: Ruleset/transparency.rul



Offline VunderGuy

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #4 on: February 27, 2020, 05:48:46 pm »
Look for a file name

metadata.yml

then in the content.

Code: [Select]
name: "Mod"
version: "0.9.9e"
requiredExtendedVersion: "5.6.4"
author: "name of author"
description: "Ufo game."
id: something-files
master: xcom1
reservedSpace: 2  <--------------------------******
resourceConfig: Ruleset/transparency.rul



I took your advice and this is how the yml looks.

name: "IronMan Super Suite"
version: "0.7"
author: "Unknown"
description: "IronMan Super Suite."
id: IronManSuperSuite
master: xcom1
reservedSpace: 2  <--------------------------******
resourceConfig: Ruleset/transparency.rul

However, I still get an error:

[27-02-2020_10-43-49]   [INFO]   Loading rulesets...
[27-02-2020_10-43-49]   [WARN]   mod IronManSuperSuite: unknown rulefile 'Ruleset/transparency.rul'.
[27-02-2020_10-43-50]   [WARN]   disabling mod with invalid ruleset: IronManSuperSuite
[27-02-2020_10-43-50]   [ERROR]   failed to load 'IronMan Super Suite'; mod disabled
Error for 'STR_CORPSE_MARK_I_ARMOR': offset '1900' exceeds mod size limit 1000 in set 'BIGOBS.PCK'



Offline ohartenstein23

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Flamethrowers fry cyberdisk circuits
    • View Profile
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #5 on: February 27, 2020, 06:30:49 pm »
Remove the arrow and asterisks that Precentor Apollyon added for emphasis. The line should look like what Solarius Scorch posted:

Code: [Select]
reservedSpace: 2

If you want to add arrows or comments in a ruleset like that, put a # symbol before it:

Code: [Select]
reservedSpace: 2 #<--------------------------******

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8616
    • View Profile
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #6 on: February 27, 2020, 06:30:57 pm »
You just need the line with

Code: [Select]
reservedSpace: 2

as Solarius said. Ignore the rest.

No extra characters anywhere. No extra lines (e.g. resourceConfig from appolyon's example) anywhere.
« Last Edit: February 27, 2020, 06:32:31 pm by Meridian »

Offline VunderGuy

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2020, 07:34:03 pm »
You just need the line with

Code: [Select]
reservedSpace: 2

as Solarius said. Ignore the rest.

No extra characters anywhere. No extra lines (e.g. resourceConfig from appolyon's example) anywhere.

I gotcha. This was something I managed to figure out on my own by looking at the difference between the second and third posts. Can't believe it still took me 15 minutes to get it tho. XD. In any event, thank you all for replying so quickly. Can confirm the mod now runs like a kerosene dream. I have a quick question tho: if you remove all of the dependencies of something does that mean you get access to tech at the start of the game or is there a hidden dependency all the tech you have at the start of the game has that you would need to give to tech you want unlocked at the start of the game? Also, since I don't like how Chrysallids can turn even dudes in full power armor, let alone dudes in Iron Man suits, into Chrysallids in just one shot, is there a value I could give the Iron Man armors so that Chrysallids cannot turn you into more Chrysallids unless they kill you first?

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11453
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2020, 09:28:38 pm »
if you remove all of the dependencies of something does that mean you get access to tech at the start of the game or is there a hidden dependency all the tech you have at the start of the game has that you would need to give to tech you want unlocked at the start of the game?

If there are no dependencies, no item required etc., then it should be available for research from day 1.

Also, since I don't like how Chrysallids can turn even dudes in full power armor, let alone dudes in Iron Man suits, into Chrysallids in just one shot, is there a value I could give the Iron Man armors so that Chrysallids cannot turn you into more Chrysallids unless they kill you first?

Unless something has changed, the zombification happens if you lose any hit points, so a natural solution would be either to increase the armour value to pornogaphic levels or give it complete immunity to melee. Both solutions are of course questionable. If you want something more sensible, you need to venture into the insanity inducing magical world of scripting (OXCE only).

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8616
    • View Profile
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #9 on: February 27, 2020, 10:07:17 pm »
Unless something has changed, the zombification happens if you lose any hit points

We've been through this several times :)
Damage is not necessary, never was.
Hit is enough.

Offline VunderGuy

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #10 on: February 27, 2020, 11:37:40 pm »
Is there a way to make you start off with a certain amount of a certain type of equipment but otherwise keep the pre-requisites for said armor intact? Because I want to start off with 14 sets of the Mark 1 Iron Man armor as a donation from Stark Industries but still have to research everything I need to research in order to make more so I still have to sink in resources if I play stupid like I do and get one of my guys in armor Le Dead.

Offline WaldoTheRanger

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 112
    • View Profile
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #11 on: February 28, 2020, 08:19:58 am »
Is there a way to make you start off with a certain amount of a certain type of equipment but otherwise keep the pre-requisites for said armor intact? Because I want to start off with 14 sets of the Mark 1 Iron Man armor as a donation from Stark Industries but still have to research everything I need to research in order to make more so I still have to sink in resources if I play stupid like I do and get one of my guys in armor Le Dead.

edit your save file?

as for the chrysallids, this:
https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,7365.0.html

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 11453
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Having Trouble with the Iron Man Super Suit Mod.
« Reply #12 on: February 28, 2020, 12:52:05 pm »
We've been through this several times :)
Damage is not necessary, never was.
Hit is enough.

Yeah, sorry, I keep hearing otherwise. *facepalm*

I will attempt a repentance by flogging myself with 7-digit listOrders.