Author Topic: Alien Infiltration questions.  (Read 179 times)

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
    • View Profile
Alien Infiltration questions.
« on: February 14, 2020, 12:06:38 pm »
Hi, I am currently having problem with Alien infiltration. The Problem is, it is not happening at all. Country is not infiltrated.

Please examine my code, and check if this will work.

Code: [Select]
From Alienmission.
  - type: STR_ALIEN_INFILTRATIONTFTD
    points: 150 #Pact score only awarded on month end
    objective: 1   
    siteType: STR_ALIEN_BASETFTD_ASSAULT
    spawnZone: 0 #Mission zone for alien bases
    raceWeights:
      0:
          STR_AQUATOID: 60
          STR_GILLMAN: 40
      1:
          STR_AQUATOID: 30
          STR_LOBSTERMAN: 10
          STR_GILLMAN: 50
          STR_TASOTH: 10
      3:
          STR_AQUATOID: 20
          STR_GILLMAN: 60
          STR_LOBSTERMAN: 5
          STR_TASOTH: 15
      5:
          STR_AQUATOID: 20
          STR_GILLMAN: 60
          STR_LOBSTERMAN: 5
          STR_TASOTH: 15
      7:
          STR_AQUATOID: 20
          STR_GILLMAN: 60
          STR_LOBSTERMAN: 5
          STR_TASOTH: 15
    waves:
      - ufo: STR_SURVEY_SHIP
        count: 1
        trajectory: P20
        timer: 16500
      - ufo: STR_ESCORT
        count: 1
        trajectory: P21
        timer: 15000
      - ufo: STR_ESCORT
        count: 1
        trajectory: P26
        timer: 13800
      - ufo: STR_CRUISER
        count: 1
        trajectory: P27
        timer: 9000
      - ufo: STR_CRUISER
        count: 1
        trajectory: P27
        timer: 60
      - ufo: STR_BATTLESHIPTFTD
        count: 1
        trajectory: P27
        timer: 60
      - ufo: STR_FLEET_SUPPLY_CRUISER
        count: 1
        trajectory: P27
        timer: 60
      - ufo: STR_DREADNOUGHT
        count: 2
        trajectory: P27
        timer: 60
From Missionscript
  - type: invasionTFTD
    firstMonth: 0
    missionWeights:
      0:
        STR_ALIEN_INFILTRATIONTFTD: 100
    #researchTriggers:                   
      #STR_ALIEN_SIGNAL: true  
    maxRuns: -1
    varName: invasionTFTD
    executionOdds: 100
    regionWeights:
      0:
        SEASPAWNS: 100
From REgion
  - type: SEASPAWNS
    missionWeights:
      STR_ALIEN_COLONY_UNDERWATER: 25
      STR_ALIEN_BASETFTD_UNDERWATER: 25
      STR_ALIEN_INFILTRATIONTFTD: 25
      STR_ALIEN_BASE_UNDERWATER: 24
      STR_TLETH_BASESPAWN: 1  
    missionZones:
      -
        - [184.75739359788, 274.613881262233, -7.2152083519448, 58.483014136636]
        - [53.92031369938098, 99.983170864964, 1.9373401729753, 58.952620625928]
        - [326.422418969555, 7.409762904452691, 3.645104510856, 58.523326761397]
        - [309.860217900914, 343.902122677988, -56.993921982435, -41.117011925817]
        - [294.00811363881, 339.798136121454, -39.544049296503, -12.991163898289]
        - [130.42586604067, 183.96842691473, -30.566285955406, -1.332762133742]     
        - [8.972336515979805, 52.313259332168, 35.667417401477, 58.029782041193]   
        - [148.52943671583, 230.83540802436, -49.187071196022, -31.344774958656]   
        - [184.24236865251, 204.47029137963, -30.643228609459, -7.9957972802132]
        - [211.30376932388, 242.39275040942, -30.726901173324, -7.2815245860444]   
        - [100.72180705587999, 136.38307911105, 37.7399259228, 60.102290562516]   

Please note I am not using the normal missionzone for Alien Infiltration. Is this where I have gone wrong?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5864
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #1 on: February 14, 2020, 12:46:59 pm »
your region is empty... no countries belong to it

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #2 on: February 14, 2020, 01:44:16 pm »
I need more info. Empty as there are no "areas" assigned to it?

One thing I have yet to fully comprehend. How does "areas" work in the region.rul?

Missionzone are straight forward enough.

Thank you.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5864
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #3 on: February 14, 2020, 01:51:26 pm »
I need more info. Empty as there are no "areas" assigned to it?

Yes.

One thing I have yet to fully comprehend. How does "areas" work in the region.rul?

It's a list of rectangles defining the area of the region.... just check vanilla region for Europe for example.

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #4 on: February 14, 2020, 02:18:51 pm »
Thank you. If that is the case. If I do this.

Code: [Select]
  - type: SEASPAWNS
    missionWeights:
      STR_ALIEN_COLONY_UNDERWATER: 25
      STR_ALIEN_BASETFTD_UNDERWATER: 25
      STR_ALIEN_INFILTRATIONTFTD: 25
      STR_ALIEN_BASE_UNDERWATER: 24
      STR_TLETH_BASESPAWN: 1
    areas:
      - [266, 292, -70, -50]
      - [291, 349, -66, -30]
      - [279.5, 292, -43.5, -30]
      - [349, 355, -42, -30]
      - [300, 347.5, -30, -3]
      - [317.5, 11, -4, 22]
      - [297, 11, 22, 40]
      - [305, 320, -3, 5]
      - [142, 230, -70, -20]
      - [230, 243, -57, -30]
      - [142, 230, -20, 8]
      - [230, 266, -30, 8]
      - [142, 292, 8, 65]
      - [1, 40, -48, -30]
      - [353, 1, -41, -32]
      - [101, 142, -24, 30]
      - [96, 101, -3, 30]
      - [54.5, 78, -24, 40.5]
      - [78, 101, -24, -3]
      - [78, 96, -3, 40]
      - [112, 142, -47.5, -24]
      - [133, 142, -50, -47.5]
      - [349, 27, -66, -50]
      - [349, 5, -50, -41]
      - [266, 301, -30, 8]
      - [292, 142, 40, 80]
      - [96, 142, 30, 40]
      - [142, 212, 64, 80]
      - [212, 292, 64, 80]
      - [0, 360, -80, -70]
      - [292, 40, -70, -66]
      - [27, 40, -68.25, -58]
      - [40, 118, -70, -24]
      - [118, 142, -70, -50]
      - [230, 266, -70, -57]
      - [240.5, 279.5, -57, -30]
      - [347.5, 11, -30, -3]
      - [11, 40, -30, 40]
      - [40, 55, -24, 40]   
    missionZones:
      -
        - [184.75739359788, 274.613881262233, -7.2152083519448, 58.483014136636]
        - [53.92031369938098, 99.983170864964, 1.9373401729753, 58.952620625928]
        - [326.422418969555, 7.409762904452691, 3.645104510856, 58.523326761397]
        - [309.860217900914, 343.902122677988, -56.993921982435, -41.117011925817]
        - [294.00811363881, 339.798136121454, -39.544049296503, -12.991163898289]
        - [130.42586604067, 183.96842691473, -30.566285955406, -1.332762133742]     
        - [8.972336515979805, 52.313259332168, 35.667417401477, 58.029782041193]   
        - [148.52943671583, 230.83540802436, -49.187071196022, -31.344774958656]   
        - [184.24236865251, 204.47029137963, -30.643228609459, -7.9957972802132]
        - [211.30376932388, 242.39275040942, -30.726901173324, -7.2815245860444]   
        - [100.72180705587999, 136.38307911105, 37.7399259228, 60.102290562516]     

I have combine all the areas from every "types" inside the region.rul together. What unforeseen result this will have? Or will it work as intended?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5864
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #5 on: February 14, 2020, 02:27:04 pm »
Thank you. If that is the case. If I do this.

<snip>

I have combine all the areas from every "types" inside the region.rul together. What unforeseen result this will have? Or will it work as intended?

It will not work.
(Real) globe regions must be unique.

You cannot have a point that belongs to both Europe and Africa for example.

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #6 on: February 14, 2020, 02:47:30 pm »
That means I have a problem.

Will infiltration always need to have a base build on an enemy country to work? Or it doesn't

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #7 on: February 14, 2020, 02:52:19 pm »
Or using the current example I have for missionzone. Eg, I am not using the standard format like "Type, areas, region weights, missionweight and lastly missionzone.

I am using my own format following the artifact spawn as an example.

Is there any other solution you can come up with that could make it work?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5864
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #8 on: February 14, 2020, 02:55:49 pm »
Is there any other solution you can come up with that could make it work?

Use standard solution like UFO and TFTD?

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #9 on: February 14, 2020, 03:18:51 pm »
If that is the case then I have to make a decision on whether to keep Alien infiltration in the game as a feature or drop in entirely. It will take a week to recreate and organised new polygons to match mission zone. Last question on this, does infiltration need an alienbase set up in a country to work, or this can be done without one?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5864
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #10 on: February 14, 2020, 03:35:03 pm »
If that is the case then I have to make a decision on whether to keep Alien infiltration in the game as a feature or drop in entirely. It will take a week to recreate and organised new polygons to match mission zone.

I don't know if that is "the case".
It's the option I know about... there can be other options, modders always invent something.

Last question on this, does infiltration need an alienbase set up in a country to work, or this can be done without one?

The mission doesn't need an alien base, it will create its own alien base.

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #11 on: February 14, 2020, 04:20:44 pm »
Unfortunately, this modder is out of time, I really need to get this Hybrid mod done by the end of Feb. In a quality that it is playable, as bug free as possible, modder friendly to others and it is a mass distributed version for many who wants a Hybrid mod.

Thus shall be my main contribution to the modding community, for all the investment you have done for me,  because I really don’t know when my personal mod shall be done.

Without getting off topic and straight to the point. This created alien base, it follows the standard procedure like how an alien base is generated? (It uses standard missionzone?)

Or it is a special case that it always generate the base on a land texture? (Countries are on land)

If the bases generation are missionzone specific, I have to drop the infiltration feature. I don’t know where the base shall be generated like on land or sea.  Personally, I am not a fan of infiltration. Unless you are generous in allowing that hack UFO feature some time somewhere in the far future.

So, depending on the answer to my question, which I have a strong feeling it is missionzone dependant, then.. I shall await your reply.






Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5864
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #12 on: February 14, 2020, 04:39:45 pm »
yes, the base is spawned in a standard mission zone specified by spawnZone, just like you have it in your example... there is nothing special there

Code: [Select]
  - type: STR_ALIEN_INFILTRATIONTFTD
    points: 150 #Pact score only awarded on month end
    objective: 1   
    siteType: STR_ALIEN_BASETFTD_ASSAULT
    spawnZone: 0 #Mission zone for alien bases             # <--------------- this one

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 649
    • View Profile
Re: Alien Infiltration questions.
« Reply #13 on: February 15, 2020, 02:52:11 am »
Just check the missionzone 4 again, most of the spawn are on land. I think I will keep it. Again, thank you for the great reply and help as always.
« Last Edit: February 15, 2020, 03:36:26 am by Precentor Apollyon »