Author Topic: Installing Nightly on Linux  (Read 4744 times)

Offline zetapulse

• Squaddie
    • View Profile
Installing Nightly on Linux
« on: March 04, 2018, 01:46:18 pm »
Hi there, I'm new to both XCom & Linux. I've been playing OXCom just fine for a few days now but read that it hasn't been updated and that I'm better off setting up the nightly build, so I removed OXCom via the software manager and have been trying to apply the instructions on ufopaedia to get the directory structure matched to no avail, always returning a "No installation found" error. Honestly I'm not confident I'm following the instructions right as I have neither the "common" nor "standard" directories, nor their contents anywhere as far as I know.
Can I kindly ask someone to walk me through it?

Offline R1dO

• Colonel
    • View Profile
Re: Installing Nightly on Linux
« Reply #1 on: March 04, 2018, 02:14:42 pm »
First things first .. how did you install openxcom (build it yourself, or installed via a ppa of appimage)? Since you claim not to have "common" or "standard" folders i suspect the installation is broken

Secondly can you post the openxcom.log file, it should show where it is currently looking for those files.

And finally can where is your directory structured located (e.g the full path, you can anonymize your username if you want).

With this information we might be able to help.

Also this video might be of some help.

Offline zetapulse

• Squaddie
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 05, 2018, 03:37:07 pm »
I believed I used the terminal, or perhaps the software manager, to install the files from repos. This is further supported by the fact that I don't have a copy of the milestone appimage lying around. I don't think this counts as building it myself though.