aliens

Author Topic: [Craft] [TftD] Baracuda/Manta Upgrades (inspired by Xcomutil option for Xcom1)  (Read 5280 times)

Offline Roxis231

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
  • Catching the feral kitten hiding in my rubish bin
    • View Profile
It has always bugged me that in UFO there is a Xcomutil option to make the Interceptors into mini-transports, but there has never been anything like that for TftD.

Since I've had some time on my hands recently, I decided to have a go at makeing a copy for the Baracuda and Manta.





The Baracuda can transport up to six troops, and to represent the fact its a small craft, has a limit of 50 items.
The Manta can transport up to eight troops (including one tank), and like the Baracuda is a small(ish) craft, and so has a limit of 65 items.

I am sorry about the low graphics quality, but if someone wants to lend a hand, send me a message.

If there are any problems with the files/maps ect. please post info and pictures so I can fix it.
« Last Edit: May 01, 2016, 04:02:37 am by Roxis231 »

Offline new_civilian

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
    • View Profile
That is really nice, good work with the graphics.  Thanks for this.  :)

Now all we need for a complete fleet is a Manta map.....  ;D
« Last Edit: April 18, 2016, 01:10:01 pm by new_civilian »

Offline harre

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Looks cool, going to try it out for my next playthrough

Offline yrizoud

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1018
    • View Profile
This is lovely and a very worthy contribution. Not only is this is a quite sexy ship, you also managed to take into account the design of the Barracuda picture in the Ufopedia.
Now, I wonder how you can comb the giant battelfields of TFTD with only a team of 6 ...

Offline 7Saturn

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 452
    • View Profile
Well, when taking down a small scout vessle, it shouldn't be a problem. My only question is: The OP says, that there's an option for X-COM, to do that as well. Is that somehow included in a mod or something, or does that only go for X-COM and xcomutils?

Offline new_civilian

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
    • View Profile
Well, when taking down a small scout vessle, it shouldn't be a problem. My only question is: The OP says, that there's an option for X-COM, to do that as well. Is that somehow included in a mod or something, or does that only go for X-COM and xcomutils?

It is one of the default OpenXcom mods, it is called XcomUtil_Fighter_Transports

Offline 7Saturn

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 452
    • View Profile
Indeed. Thanks for the hint.

Offline Roxis231

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
  • Catching the feral kitten hiding in my rubish bin
    • View Profile
That is really nice, good work with the graphics.  Thanks for this.  :)

Now all we need for a complete fleet is a Manta map.....  ;D

Great Idea - Working on it - Proof of Concept image



Yes, it is crap - as I said Proof of Concept.  The out-of-place floors are being used as placeholders at the moment.  I hope to work on the graphics this week. (when I have time)
« Last Edit: April 20, 2016, 02:05:17 am by Roxis231 »

Offline new_civilian

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
    • View Profile
Looks fine already, even with the placeholders  :)

Offline Roxis231

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
  • Catching the feral kitten hiding in my rubish bin
    • View Profile
That is really nice, good work with the graphics.  Thanks for this.  :)

Now all we need for a complete fleet is a Manta map.....  ;D

Done - See First Post.

Offline Blank

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 60
    • View Profile
Now that looks really smooth!

Offline new_civilian

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 726
    • View Profile
Wow, now THAT is some great work.  8)
Thank you for this!

edit: tested it in the Battle generator and it looks and works flawlessly.  :)
« Last Edit: May 01, 2016, 07:35:34 pm by new_civilian »

Offline Roxis231

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
  • Catching the feral kitten hiding in my rubish bin
    • View Profile
Hi All - This is being posted in all my threads.

This is a Note to everyone who uses my Mods.

On Monday morning, when I went to turn my PC on, there was a bang and smoke started to flow from the power supply. While my drives and data are intact, the power supply and motherboard are toast. (I'm posting this from a borrowed laptop at the local library)

I have got a replacement lined up, but I'm currently waiting for some parts to arrive. (They should be here in a week/week and a half) I'm sorry but untill my PC is back up and running I have to put any changes/fixes to my mods on hold.

However please keep any suggestions/requests/bug reports comeing in. I can still work with these - I just can't make any changes till I get my new PC.

Roxis231

Offline Roxis231

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 488
  • Catching the feral kitten hiding in my rubish bin
    • View Profile
Sorry about the large time out, but life has been busy recently, and now I have the curve ball of having to shift for the first time in 20 years as the landlord has had no choice but to sell.

I'll try to keep these going, but any help would be appreciated.

Andrew. (Aka Roxis231)

Offline chickenx4

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 75
  • We Are The Nobodies
    • View Profile
Looks like a chibi Triton, would it work with ufo defense