Author Topic: [REMOVED] [DONE] [Suggestion] Add Execution Advanced Option  (Read 11571 times)

Online Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 9683
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #30 on: December 31, 2015, 11:38:30 am »
"Decapitate"? :)

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6286
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #31 on: December 31, 2015, 12:04:50 pm »
"Decapitate"? :)

Nah, that takes a lot more time... and is also politically and socially sensitive right now.
Cutting the throat (of an unconscious being) should take only a fraction of time (we've all seen Die Hard 2, right?) ... but I think I won't do a fixed TU cost... if possible I'll try to use the TU cost of a melee weapon you have in your other hand.

EDIT: and it will be an insta-kill, not just damage
« Last Edit: December 31, 2015, 12:06:57 pm by Meridian »

Offline Dioxine

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5276
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #32 on: December 31, 2015, 12:59:14 pm »
EDIT: and it will be an insta-kill, not just damage

Inb4 someone cuts Lobsterman's throat with a baseball bat :P Also cutting throat is basically a half-assed beheading, if you want to be PCorrect :)

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6286
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #33 on: December 31, 2015, 01:10:48 pm »
Inb4 someone cuts Lobsterman's throat with a baseball bat :P Also cutting throat is basically a half-assed beheading, if you want to be PCorrect :)

Not possible with baseball bat, it must be STR_DAMAGE_MELEE (in piratez "Cutting" I think) weapon.

Offline Dioxine

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5276
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #34 on: December 31, 2015, 02:30:23 pm »
Well, how does cutting throat with a Thermal Lance sound, then? :) I'd prefer a less physiological name, anyway (coup-de-grace, as I said earlier).

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6286
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #35 on: January 01, 2016, 08:11:45 pm »
Well, how does cutting throat with a Thermal Lance sound, then? :) I'd prefer a less physiological name, anyway (coup-de-grace, as I said earlier).

OK, you win...

Technical name: STR_CUT_THROAT
Translation: Coup de grâce

Mechanics:
1. Take live unconscious unit (enemy/neutral/friend) into one hand
2. Take a melee weapon with melee attack (e.g. a blade) into the other hand
3. Click on the unit
4. Select Coup de grâce
  - accuracy 999% is just for fun... indicating you cannot miss
  - time units are actual TUs from the melee weapon... which will be also used
  - if the weapon requires stamina or other cost, it will also be used up as normal
5. The unit will be executed instantly (you cannot miss and you always kill)
6. A message will appear informing you about the fact
  - technical name: STR_TARGET_WAS_EXECUTED
  - Translation: Target was executed!

See attached screenshots.

EDIT: ranged weapons with melee add-ons don't work (e.g. Bayoneted Rifle)... it has to be a genuine blade... finally those worthless daggers have some use ;-)
« Last Edit: January 01, 2016, 08:13:28 pm by Meridian »

Offline KiethSomataw99

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #36 on: January 09, 2016, 02:12:44 am »
OK, you win...

Technical name: STR_CUT_THROAT
Translation: Coup de grâce

Mechanics:
1. Take live unconscious unit (enemy/neutral/friend) into one hand
2. Take a melee weapon with melee attack (e.g. a blade) into the other hand
3. Click on the unit
4. Select Coup de grâce
  - accuracy 999% is just for fun... indicating you cannot miss
  - time units are actual TUs from the melee weapon... which will be also used
  - if the weapon requires stamina or other cost, it will also be used up as normal
5. The unit will be executed instantly (you cannot miss and you always kill)
6. A message will appear informing you about the fact
  - technical name: STR_TARGET_WAS_EXECUTED
  - Translation: Target was executed!

See attached screenshots.

EDIT: ranged weapons with melee add-ons don't work (e.g. Bayoneted Rifle)... it has to be a genuine blade... finally those worthless daggers have some use ;-)

Maybe when it goes Target was executed, you hear the death scream of the target.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6286
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #37 on: January 09, 2016, 02:18:10 am »
Maybe when it goes Target was executed, you hear the death scream of the target.

They are unconscious, how could they scream?

Offline ivandogovich

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2409
  • X-Com Afficionado
    • View Profile
    • Ivan Dogovich Youtube
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #38 on: January 09, 2016, 08:13:32 pm »
They are unconscious, how could they scream?

A neck crack sound maybe?  Or even just the knife hit sound. :)  Just brainstorming.  I haven't tried the feature, and don't know if it gives auditory feedback, but it makes senses and could be rewarding to the player. ;)

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6286
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #39 on: January 09, 2016, 10:56:31 pm »
A neck crack sound maybe?  Or even just the knife hit sound. :)  Just brainstorming.  I haven't tried the feature, and don't know if it gives auditory feedback, but it makes senses and could be rewarding to the player. ;)

It doesn't give any feedback, I will see what I can do...

Offline Dioxine

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 5276
  • punk not dead
    • View Profile
    • Nocturnal Productions
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #40 on: January 10, 2016, 04:35:06 pm »
Simply use the meleehitsound of the weapon used? I agree with Ivan that some audio or visual feedback would be in order.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6286
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #41 on: January 11, 2016, 09:47:53 pm »
Simply use the meleehitsound of the weapon used?

done

Offline KiethSomataw99

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #42 on: January 14, 2016, 06:41:50 am »
They are unconscious, how could they scream?

Well in standard version, soldiers make a death scream when they bleed out either unconscious or standing. Figured that the target will make its death scream when executed as if it bled out unconscious.

Offline Eddie

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 545
    • View Profile
Re: Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #43 on: February 01, 2016, 10:45:13 pm »
Could we also have something like handcuffs? Apply to a stunned enemy to keep them from getting up, without killing them. Same mechanics as execution, hold alien in one hand and item in the other.

Of course, handcuffs wouldn't work with lobstermen, so somthing else like cryo clamps would be needed. You need to research Alien Cryogenics to get these, but handcuffs would still work for weaker aliens. With these items, a new gameplay mechanic could be introduced where stun damage on aliens decreases more rapidly. So, you stun an alien, then you have three rounds to cuff it before it gets back up.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6286
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [REMOVED] [DONE] [Suggestion] Add Execution Advanced Option
« Reply #44 on: September 30, 2018, 11:17:00 am »
This feature has become too incompatible (on code level) with other features.
Also, players mostly used it as a cheat.

I've decided to remove it (already a long ago), but today it happened.

If someone wants to maintain it on their branch, here's the commit to revert: https://github.com/MeridianOXC/OpenXcom/commit/a936d1c7205cd11dd7c937516b3b9d4580bd0772