Author Topic: openxcom wii ?  (Read 12631 times)

Offline Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3194
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #15 on: February 05, 2016, 11:46:03 pm »
You can completely remove it for now, this is for debugging purposes.

Offline nebiun

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #16 on: February 06, 2016, 07:25:25 pm »
At the end, all source was compiled, but...
I have a problem loading the final elf.
I think that I need a complete porting of OpenGL for WII... :(

Offline Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3194
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #17 on: February 06, 2016, 08:03:19 pm »
Then simply drop it. OpenGL is only bonus feature. Define macro `__NO_OPENGL` to get ride of it.

Offline nebiun

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #18 on: February 07, 2016, 12:53:39 pm »
Well.
At the end we have a .dol to load on dolphin emulator.
But it is too big.
$ powerpc-eabi-size openxcom.dol
   text    data     bss     dec     hex filename
6742955  399516 70797632        77940103        4a54587 openxcom.dol

Original DOS version requires only 2 Mb of RAM.
Why openxcom is so "fatty"?

Offline Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3194
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #19 on: February 07, 2016, 03:19:27 pm »
do you compile it with debug symbols? Usually on windows my working copy of exe have 200MiB but when I create final version then it have only 3MiB.
Most of this is debug information that used for debugging and not need for normal usage.

Offline nebiun

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #20 on: February 09, 2016, 06:42:29 pm »
do you compile it with debug symbols? Usually on windows my working copy of exe have 200MiB but when I create final version then it have only 3MiB.
Most of this is debug information that used for debugging and not need for normal usage.

Removed -g and recompile all sources, but results are the same.

Offline Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3194
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #21 on: February 09, 2016, 08:35:24 pm »

Offline nebiun

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #22 on: February 13, 2016, 05:06:13 pm »
It's too hard optimize this...

src/Engine/Scalers/init.cpp:uint32_t   RGBtoYUV[16777216];
« Last Edit: February 13, 2016, 05:29:45 pm by nebiun »

Offline Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3194
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #23 on: February 13, 2016, 06:28:50 pm »
I don't touch that code but if I recall correctly you can drop some scalar out without any big consequences. Basic scalars don't use it.

Offline nebiun

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #24 on: April 16, 2023, 08:04:28 pm »
After long time I go back to this project.
Finally I can start OpenXcom on a real Wii, but it stops during initial menu print.
I think that problem is that the game load all data files in memory at startup.
There is a way to load only needed file and free resource when they are not needed?


Offline Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3194
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #25 on: April 17, 2023, 02:10:26 am »
"free" is impossible, but "load" is already controlled by "lazyLoadResources" configure.
Another question what you try to load? if its base game that mean it would be hard to make it more slim. If some big mod, then load on demand loading will have big impact

Offline nebiun

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #26 on: May 14, 2023, 05:05:02 pm »
It is works  :D
Problem is a poor porting of SDL libraries on WII. I had to modify SDL libraries to see  results.
Now I can see the main menu, can chose the level and can see Geoscape. To move the cursor for positioning thefirst base and stop: I need to emulate keyboard for the input phases  ::)
Not sounds (for now).

A question: there is a way to completly replace original graphic and sounds? I can't (eventually) release the Wii version without graphics and sounds... ;D

Offline Yankes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 3194
    • View Profile
Re: openxcom wii ?
« Reply #27 on: May 15, 2023, 01:49:20 am »
In theory yes but we did not try do this as this could awake some ancients lawyers that would lay destruction on their path :)