Author Topic: MAPVIEW upgrade  (Read 186478 times)

Offline hellrazor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1992
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #150 on: April 21, 2015, 09:49:30 am »
Btw were can i find the newest Version of Mapview?

Offline hellrazor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1992
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #151 on: June 03, 2015, 12:56:34 am »
Soo i was just on the IRC with good old JonnyH,

and he made a branch for Linux -> here

We were able to get the tools to compile under mono, the main culprit were the usage of "\" in paths instead of "/"....

Well anyway after this was solved, the programm compiled and i was able to get a map to display.
Somehow the transparency is not being used either in PCK or MapView directly...

Offline Arthanor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2489
  • XCom Armoury Quartermaster
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #152 on: June 03, 2015, 03:54:24 am »
A linux version would be great. I would love to edit maps but don't own a windows computer..

I had managed to run mapview in wine earlier, but had the same transparency issue. Seeing mostly black backgrounds kind of ruins the whole thing. :/

Offline hellrazor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1992
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #153 on: June 03, 2015, 09:46:52 am »
A linux version would be great. I would love to edit maps but don't own a windows computer..

I had managed to run mapview in wine earlier, but had the same transparency issue. Seeing mostly black backgrounds kind of ruins the whole thing. :/

I am assuming that this has to do something with System.DrawImage and how it handles transparency Alpha Channel stuff and for some odd reason the current code seems to produce different result on Linux and Windows.

But my c# skills are insufficient to solve something like this.
« Last Edit: June 04, 2015, 10:23:54 pm by hellrazor »

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2106
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #154 on: June 11, 2015, 05:40:57 pm »
I'm currently converting the ships from TFTD and I've ran into a few issues with MapView when editing large maps (30x30 or bigger). I've attached a pic of the biggest resolution I can achieve while editing to illustrate the ideas below:
* Is it possible to add the Zoom function to the Top and Routes views?
* I've tried to adjust to the new colors/symbols for the tiles but there are still a few kinks that are distracting: yellow is a color that I usually dislike and but before it had a lesser tone and was more hidden. Would it be possible to have some other way to mark ground tiles?
* The bars used to represent walls can be hard to distinguish from the squares used for objects. Perhaps go back to the straight line used in the previous versions of MapView?

All of this is really very particular to the use (very large maps) that I'm recently doing. Other than that, everything is working well :)
« Last Edit: June 12, 2015, 05:08:34 am by Hobbes »

Offline davide

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 553
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #155 on: June 12, 2015, 01:52:00 pm »
Backgroud color and pen size used to draw bars could be app settings

Offline hellrazor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1992
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #156 on: June 15, 2015, 12:18:10 pm »
Well i guess the copy function isn't working properly.

Cut or copy a selection of fields and try to paste them somewere, won't work as expected...

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 10508
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
    • Email
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #157 on: June 15, 2015, 12:28:15 pm »
Well i guess the copy function isn't working properly.

Cut or copy a selection of fields and try to paste them somewere, won't work as expected...

What is the problem exactly?

Offline hellrazor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1992
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #158 on: June 18, 2015, 09:58:10 am »
What is the problem exactly?

Hm.. i can't reproduce it right now, maybe it was in a older Version. Nevermind.

Offline XOps

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 193
  • Guy who drowns first
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #159 on: June 25, 2015, 05:52:58 pm »
Just a small note for future revisions. The older versions had the madID in the tileset window corner. See top left of the image linked below.
https://www.openxcom.com/content/modimages/BXWGGNOP062520150949.png
This is very handy for those of us working within tile limitations. It would be nice if this info was displayed somewhere.

I'm currently converting the ships from TFTD and I've ran into a few issues with MapView when editing large maps (30x30 or bigger). I've attached a pic of the biggest resolution I can achieve while editing to illustrate the ideas below:
* Is it possible to add the Zoom function to the Top and Routes views?
* I've tried to adjust to the new colors/symbols for the tiles but there are still a few kinks that are distracting: yellow is a color that I usually dislike and but before it had a lesser tone and was more hidden. Would it be possible to have some other way to mark ground tiles?
* The bars used to represent walls can be hard to distinguish from the squares used for objects. Perhaps go back to the straight line used in the previous versions of MapView?

All of this is really very particular to the use (very large maps) that I'm recently doing. Other than that, everything is working well :)
I second this. I've had to use the older version for working on new large UFO maps so I can see the walls.

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2106
  • Infiltration subroutine in progress
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #160 on: June 25, 2015, 06:25:24 pm »
And a request to bring back a missing functionality (I think) from Map View: on the previous versions, when on Top View if you double clicked on any of the Ground/Walls/Content boxes it would bring forward and superimpose the Tile View over Top View.

This was very useful when editing. :)

Offline pjlasl

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #161 on: July 04, 2015, 06:14:01 am »
Anyway of getting this tool to work on windows 8?

I tried to dowload it but unfortunately it won't run on windows 8...

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 10508
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
    • Email
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #162 on: July 04, 2015, 11:41:18 am »
I tried to dowload it but unfortunately it won't run on windows 8...

...I think I'll withhold that Windows 10 update.

Offline davide

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 553
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #163 on: July 04, 2015, 05:21:48 pm »
Anyway of getting this tool to work on windows 8?

I tried to dowload it but unfortunately it won't run on windows 8...

Last year I used it on Win8.1

Offline hellrazor

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1992
  • Deep Ruleset Digger & Bughunter
    • View Profile
    • Github Account
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #164 on: July 20, 2015, 01:20:21 pm »
Whati i noticed and what was driving me nuts recently,
If you edit your Routes of a map, you have to explicitly save the file,
before switching to another map.
Would be nice to be asked for saving the file in case of modified routes.