Author Topic: MAPVIEW upgrade  (Read 47464 times)

Online Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 7781
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #285 on: October 05, 2018, 07:06:32 pm »
Dear kevL!

Another request (if you like and have time). Can make 2D pictures from the top? I think its very helpfull for base shape!

Thank you!

You mean, minimap rendering?
Yeah, could be useful.

Offline Biggieboy

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #286 on: October 05, 2018, 07:52:05 pm »
You mean, minimap rendering?
Yeah, could be useful.

I need for the facilities base shape (its very hard to draw for me). but yes, its good for minimap too.

Offline kevL

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #287 on: October 05, 2018, 10:50:57 pm »
Quote
minimap rendering

i like the idea... plate's full for forseable future tho...

Offline kevL

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 151
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #288 on: October 19, 2018, 02:18:39 am »
@luke83 [op]

Hello,

Any of you excellent Coders want to try your luck at making a few Upgrades to MAPVIEW? I downloaded the source out of curiosity but have no clue where to start :P

I PM Daishiva but since i have not heard from him in over a year i guess LIFE has gotten in the way of the last upgrade i asked for :-[

My Suggestions for Upgrading Mapview:
1) Fix existing Bugs EG: the PATHS can only be modified by Notepad as doing it by the program wipes everything.

paths, a monster - I rewrote it from scratch. Ie, PathsEditor is gone, replaced by right-click on the maptree. The dataset is stored in a Yaml file and this is the reason that Mapview2 has the "2" (ie, is NOT backward compatible.)

Quote
2) Specify Default Node type was added last time By Daishiva at my request , we need a extra Option to tell it to AUTOLINK to previous Node in both directions ( this will save alot of time)

auto-link seems to work fine in 2 ...

Quote
3) Extra Visual clues as to what Unit type a NODE will be spawning ( Just some letters added to the Green box to represent a Class would be helpful)

not done. There are still the 2 small, side-by-side ImportanceMeters tho, (showing spawn priority and patrol priority iirc)

Quote
4)Move Node Option, There is nothing worse than realising you have fully setup a NODE 1 block to the right of the desired location, a tick box to Drag and drop node at a new location and Keep all current LINK nodes would be awesome

yeh really. Done: drag&drop routenodes.

Quote
5) Numbered Grids ( around the images) i hate goign cross eyed tryign to work out if i am in the right Row or not , a simply Number system down the side on ALL screens could be useful.

good idea -- is not done like that in 2, but i went to some length to ensure that x/y/z coords print accurately on relevant viewers.

Quote
6) AUTO-Link : Not sure HOW you will handle this but this would save alot of headaches if i only needed to clean up a few LINKS instead of manually modding every one of them.

there's auto-link, and checks to ensure that node coordinates are within bounds of the (currently displayed) Map ...

Quote
7) RMP Statistics = Would be great if there was a option somewhere to do a count of all Spawn Ranks per level and a overview of spawn Ranks across the entire map set, just Pop open a new window to display this when requested.

that's actually a fair idea ... not done tho.

Quote
8) Some kind of import Wizard for the PAths , Mapedit page as i have Lots of differnt , half finished maps to import and its very time cinsuming to do them one by one. It would be good if it was clever , and noticed if i selected a Map without a ROute file, that it could ask if i want to make a empty file for it. ALso if you can improve the way the Map tree is controlled ( and allow Drag and Drop to change the sequence) that would be great.

no Wizards, sry (although an empty Routes file ought be written on SaveAs ... if there aren't any route nodes) And, to change the order of the maptree, I guess you'd have to change the order of the Yaml-nodes in your favorite text editor ( read: is not native )*

Quote
This is a Fantastic program it just needs some work to make it easier for people like me to make LOTS of new map types, Any part time coders for OXC want to take a look ?

uh, there's a Search function?


96.78325% of the credit goes to Ben/Daishiva (and others)

caveat. Atm am up to my eyeballs in other projects. but some month, day, year will be back to hacking my way through OxC again,



*edit oh wait, I think the maptree is sorted alphanumeric -- so.
« Last Edit: October 19, 2018, 02:30:09 am by kevL »

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1180
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #289 on: October 19, 2018, 12:31:00 pm »
New version works well, great job. I did notice one thing today though, Crt+Z is not UNDO as i was hoping, it was the shortcut to change map dimensions, not sure if there was an undo button on the control bar somewhere that i may of missed.

Offline Biggieboy

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 177
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #290 on: October 19, 2018, 12:33:05 pm »
New version works well, great job. I did notice one thing today though, Crt+Z is not UNDO as i was hoping, it was the shortcut to change map dimensions, not sure if there was an undo button on the control bar somewhere that i may of missed.

Yepp, i realy like too Undo!