Author Topic: MAPVIEW upgrade  (Read 163288 times)

Offline FeruEnzeru[RETIRED/I QUIT]

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 427
  • retired, because of Meridian and his followers. 👎
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #210 on: January 23, 2018, 05:18:47 pm »
:) good luck

like i said, or implied, if someone can't get MV2 working on their machine I'm as lost as they are.


I do know, that the design of MapView and MapView2 does stuff that later versions Windows (eg. 10) considers security breaches. That is, it wants to write files to a subfolder of itself. Apparently "Program Files" does not like that.

so you'd be wise/smart to install MapView outside of the Program Files hierarchy ...
Okay. But no worries.

I'm very busy with stuff right now like making an alien orbital platform map (I already done a small  Alien Power Plant map which is 10x10) on MVII.

I'll be doing nodes later or after i pinpoint all of the map nodes from all of the vanilla and user made maps.

Because i know making maps for OXC are very important for everything.

I know that will consider a bad security breach on my Windows 10 computers.

Trust me, kevL. Trust me.  8)
« Last Edit: January 23, 2018, 05:22:50 pm by FeruEnzeru »

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #211 on: January 24, 2018, 02:03:52 am »
k

/salut

Offline FeruEnzeru[RETIRED/I QUIT]

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 427
  • retired, because of Meridian and his followers. 👎
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #212 on: January 24, 2018, 02:19:12 am »

Offline RSSwizard

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #213 on: January 24, 2018, 07:48:32 pm »
Maybe there's something I did wrong with installing MV2...
I placed it in its own subdirectory (mapview) under the openxcom directory. I play xpiratez with it but I have the appropriate vanilla files located under the required folders.

My MV2 doesnt have a configuration file, but I was expecting it to load and ask me "okay where are the files" so that I could dictate the proper locations for them and it could find what it needed. It didnt have a config file with it on github.

If ive got it in the wrong folder and its crashing because of that, then where am I supposed to put it? (openxcom root folder? ufo or tftd files root folder?)

Again the crash that I am getting with it is... upon execution a blank Dos Cmd window opens up and then it closes (thats all she wrote). I dont have any antivirus running so I know thats not getting in the way of it.

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #214 on: January 24, 2018, 10:30:48 pm »
I have no idea, i really don't.


If i were you, as a test I'd create a directory on the root of your C: drive, dl the 7 files from the github distribution dir (you don't need the ConfigConverter..) to that new dir on your C:

double-click MapView.exe


then a smallish window should pop up asking about installation.

--
I don't know what limitations win7 Home has or not, I don't know if it has .NET 3.5, I don't know what MS redistributables are required, I don't know when the dinosaurs went extinct.

The .Chm helpfile was manufactured with the standard Windows Chm creator (HTML Help Workshop), and if even *that* doesn't open ... that's just mind-boggling

Offline RSSwizard

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 607
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #215 on: February 13, 2018, 09:01:29 pm »
If i were you, as a test I'd create a directory on the root of your C: drive, dl the 7 files from the github distribution dir (you don't need the ConfigConverter..) to that new dir on your C:

Here you go sir. What is "NTVDM" by the way?

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #216 on: February 14, 2018, 03:37:38 am »
NTVDM = Windows NT Virtual DOS Machine

(supposedly) it's for running 16-bit programs in a Dos-shell. But MapView I/II are not 16-bit programs ... I forced MVii to 32-bit build; i could be wrong because I'm just not sure about that stuff. In this case, however, it's highly unlikely - i suspect that it would be very difficult to even compile a program to 16-bit in today's age.

Also, when I run MV2, if it were 16-bit (which it isn't ;) ) ntvdm.exe should show up in my TaskManager. It doesn't. Neither does it show up when i run PckView2, which is built with the same settings. Also, in the Help screen for PckView i twiddled-in a brief system-inspection routine that prints the build-type (release or debug), the bit-type (for lack of a better way of putting it), and the OS-interaction-type (ditto). Mine says:

release
X86
WoW64

meaning it's a release-build, 32-bit, running under WoW64

It'd be kinda nice if you could get PckView2 to run, just to check that ... but NOTE: PckView2 should not be run until *after* MapView2 runs at least once (because settings that pckview relies on are written to disk only *after* MVII runs).


> im running Win7 Home Premium 32 bit

hm. There's something called a VirtualStore in windows. I don't know much about it; it seems to be a so-called virtual space on the harddrive that Windows will write things like MapView's configuration files to if MapView is installed to a protected space. It has its problems because files are being written to places they aren't expected to be.

I mention the VirtualStore since in your 2nd screenshot i think i see "@MSITStore:C\Mapview2\MapView.chm" .... "Store" suggests to me that Windows is trying to shuffle stuff into the VirtualStore ... eg, it could be trying to make a copy of the .CHM file to the store before opening it.


Have you checked for malware recently? (personally i doubt it 'cause there'd likely be a lot else going wrong on your computer if so)

my best **guess** at this point, is that Win7 Home has extra security that aggressively clamps things into protected spaces. I suggest hunting down things like UAC (User Access Control) and Ownership properties on the Mapview directory ....... personally i obliterated as much of that stuff as I could as soon as I got Win7 64. .. i tried, i really tried to live with it but just couldn't,




edit: Another way of looking at it, why is your computer trying to open a dos-box ? o.O

edit2: it's a long shot but you could try right-click mapview.exe, Properties, Compatibility, Windows XP (Service Pack 3)
« Last Edit: February 14, 2018, 04:33:38 am by kevL »

Offline Keth01

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #217 on: April 08, 2018, 04:00:15 am »
Hi KevL!

Just a quick question- my copy of MapView 2 (latest build, downloaded last night) can't/won't save .MAP files. It saves images of the map
 (.GIF) correctly, and doesn't display any error message, but the file just doesn't appear.

I'm running it with admin permissions on a Windows 8.1 machine.

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #218 on: April 08, 2018, 04:31:29 am »
to create a .MAP file

use the MapTree (left panel of MainView). you'll need a Group (top level branch), a Category (a branch under the Group), and select the Category w/ a click. Then right-click it and choose Add Tileset ...

Make sure the Tileset's Path is correct (change it w/ the ... button). Type in the name of your new .MAP/.RMP in the Map input-box. Click "Create". Add some terrrainsets from the lower right panel and gtg.


To save a .MAP, have it open in MainView. use File|Save Map, or File|Save All (also saves the .RMP and the MapTree), or File|Save As ... (also saves the .RMP iirc)

It should get saved to its basepath as specified in Edit Tileset, the Path field (left-click the map in the MapTree, right-click it, choose Edit Tileset ... to see the path)

--
ps. be careful with permissions under Program Files etc etc. I'm not a multi-machine programmer and can't debug problems in operating systems other than Win7 64. So i don't know what "admin permissions" really does (and doesn't do) in 8.1 ... for that matter, i don't know what "admin permissions" does and doesn't do in win7 also.

i'm just a dos 6.22 guy. /jk


Edit: maybe i'll have to run a check after saving files, that tells if a file was successfully saved or not ...

that's in the future tho

Edit2: oh, if a map is created and saved to disk okay, but doesn't appear in the MapTree, it's likely because the MapTree wasn't explicitly saved. And if using File|Save As ... it won't appear in the MapTree unless/until it's added w/ Add Tileset ...


( it's been a while and, needless to say, the whole MapTree business is ... complicated. )
« Last Edit: April 08, 2018, 07:47:34 pm by kevL »

Offline Keth01

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #219 on: April 10, 2018, 06:36:30 am »

Okay, here's an interesting one. MapView was running fine but my computer powered down unexpectedly (power cut) and afterwards MapView won't load- it 'encounters a problem' according to Windows with no useful error messages.

The tricky art is that I deleted and redownloaded MapView off GitHub and fired it up again- but the issue persists!

I'm guessing it's trying to look at something in my OpenXCOM install and not finding it/finding garbage but I have no insight as to what or how to fix it. Any advice you can offer would be appreciated!

Offline ohartenstein23

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1934
  • Flamethrowers fry cyberdisk circuits
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #220 on: April 10, 2018, 06:43:30 am »
MapView has some configuration/data files for remembering settings and paths to the map and terrain files, maybe one of those was messed up and is saved somwhere that wasn't removed on uninstall?

Offline Keth01

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #221 on: April 10, 2018, 07:31:39 am »
That's my suspicion, but I don't know where... I killed everything I could find. Hence asking the astonishingly helpful author :)

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #222 on: April 10, 2018, 09:19:43 am »
if that's me idk ...

unexpected shutdowns can cause weird things to the hardrive. (I once had to reformat an entire drive because chkdisk/scandisk refused to reset the "dirty bit". so ... sounds like you can wipe the sweat off yer brow on that one.)

without sitting at your computer there's not much i know - you could try installing to different directory, try running a deep-scan on the hardrive (takes all night), uhh

Mapview1 writes to the registry, so if that's an issue try a registry cleaner like CCleaner. Mapview2 does not write to the registry and all its files ought be under its parent dir.

unless it's using a so-called virtual store ... which you could search around for .. on my machine it's under C:\Users\User\AppData\Local\VirtualStore and perhaps delete a MapView folder (or rename it like, "Mapview_") I've done that with a few other old programs that wanted to use the virtual store and it doesn't seem to cause problems but you should google it first, i guess.

It partly depends on what the computer was doing when the power was cut.

I really can't think why an app that ran before would refuse to run again. I'd try installing to a different directory. and google is our friend, try "power cut application won't run" ( + permutations )

Offline Keth01

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #223 on: April 10, 2018, 09:23:52 am »
Thanks for weighing in. I'll check the virtual store possibility later tonight.

Failing that, I'm getting a new machine in a couple of weeks so I guess I'll start over on a clean system :P

Offline kevL

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 389
  • pitchforks and torches
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #224 on: April 10, 2018, 09:36:16 am »
that's a bingo  ;D