Author Topic: MAPVIEW upgrade  (Read 37072 times)

Offline davide

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #195 on: February 11, 2017, 12:49:29 am »
it is a privilege to have you here with us :)

Offline JonnyH

  • Rookie
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #196 on: February 13, 2017, 05:30:29 pm »
I imported the history I had from the old sourceforge page to a new github repo.

https://github.com/ratzlaff/XCom-tools

Add your feature requests as issues. I have no idea what state the code is in yet. I only brought up the 'set your paths' dialog with Xamarin Studio (on my mac, no less) last night, so it compiles, yay!

Anyone want to be a collaborator?


Is that the "One True Upstream" now? I had some patches trying to get it to work properly under linux, and half a mind to see if it's worth trying to extend for Apocalypse (or at least shamelessly rip off code that happens to do the same thing if it turns out to be 'too' different to keep in the same codebase)

Offline DaiShiva

  • Squaddie
  • *
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #197 on: February 13, 2017, 06:02:24 pm »
Is that the "One True Upstream" now?

It could be. I would want to first get some collaborators on board to avoid repeating the current situation where the code goes years without any activity.

Offline SteamXCOM

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #198 on: June 09, 2017, 11:47:27 pm »
MAPVIEW, on a Windows 7 computer, it works fine

HOWEVER, on a Windows 8.1 it seemed to develop the issue of  once the main window is open, other windows cannot be worked with. 
Only one other window at a time can be open.  This seems to be on all versions of Mapview. 
Small Edits are  not a  problem, I could not imagine using it otherwise on bigger projects.

As indicated , works fine on a Windows 7 computer I have access to.
The feature of the MAGNIFIER is good. I can see easily the project being worked on.
I prefer to have CUT/COPY/PASTE in text in the Map Editor window as in some versions rather than icon becasue I have to hover my mouse over to doublecheck UI have the right thing seclcted.

If possible you may wish to make the link for latest version of MAPVIEW more prominent, i had to dig for this one. 
Thanks

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2946
  • This alien aggression will not stand, man!
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #199 on: June 16, 2017, 09:01:52 pm »
Been using MapView in the past days and also noticed this problem. It most likely is related to the recent security patch released for Windows since MapView was running great on Windows 10 before.

I've checked kevL's github page but I couldn't find a release version. Anyone knows how to get one?

Offline davide

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 481
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #200 on: June 16, 2017, 10:35:08 pm »
do you try to run the app with admin privilegy ?(there is an options on context menu)

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2946
  • This alien aggression will not stand, man!
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #201 on: June 16, 2017, 11:00:00 pm »
do you try to run the app with admin privilegy ?(there is an options on context menu)

Doesn't solve anything but thanks for the idea

Online Kammerer

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 96
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #202 on: June 17, 2017, 07:15:04 am »
I've checked kevL's github page but I couldn't find a release version. Anyone knows how to get one?

The kevl's current build is here: https://github.com/kevL/OpenXCOM.Tools/tree/master/Distribution

Offline Hobbes

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2946
  • This alien aggression will not stand, man!
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #203 on: June 17, 2017, 06:33:24 pm »
The kevl's current build is here: https://github.com/kevL/OpenXCOM.Tools/tree/master/Distribution

Thanks, just tried it but the windows are still messed up on his latest version.

Plus it breaks compatibility since it doesn't load my old map sets...

Offline SteamXCOM

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
Re: MAPVIEW upgrade
« Reply #204 on: June 18, 2017, 04:23:28 am »
Latest MAPVIEW June 2017
JUST got this
THIS version is getting close for a release upon the unwashed masses:

--It got rid of the offending UFO000 UFO01a  UFO010 so people won't think their MAPview is broke.
--it lists settings errors in the MCD file such as if a non-existent swap frame was referenced
--a "save as" feature for the map file is included, one can rename their map (still testing to see how this works)

EDIT Yes it does, it places the renamed files in the routes and map folder both.

Yes, one still has to edit settings files to add tilesets, and that interface to add them has been removed probably since MAPVIEW could not find them anyway

Hobbes==> Plus it breaks compatibility since it doesn't load my old map sets...

I hope you find a work around for incompatibilities , you must have tonnes of maps by now

Hobbes==>Been using MapView in the past days and also noticed this problem. It most likely is related to the recent security patch released for Windows since MapView was running great on Windows 10 before.

if YOU MUST have an older version of Windows (even with with an ISA slot):
http://www.nixsys.com/

Bought a Win XP/7 unit for the old stuff
One can get cheaper elsewhere refurbished, but it IS refurbished.
« Last Edit: June 19, 2017, 06:18:45 pm by SteamXCOM »