aliens

Author Topic: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds  (Read 25883 times)

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« on: January 11, 2013, 12:26:59 pm »
in 1994 monitors has a few resolution, now we have fullHD and more

why we increare dimention of pixel on increase of resolution?
for me is better to increase number pixel to view on screen

this does not change gameplay because black area and visible area are same, we can just scroll screen a little less

I do not know if it is feasible

Offline michal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile

Offline kkmic

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
  • Undefined
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2013, 12:39:15 pm »
This is something that was discussed more than one time on this very forum.

It's something that I want also, and maybe it will happen sometime later... It just remains to be seen if the engine will be able to support it.

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2013, 01:03:12 pm »
im trying michal patch at fullhd and it's seams good (there is only some bugs, for example do not see the hud) but performance are good

im on linux 64 bit with AMD FX 4100 and geforce 550 ti with proprietary driver

Offline michal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2013, 01:54:15 pm »
Wow, that patch still works? :)

Offline kkmic

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 582
  • Undefined
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2013, 01:57:17 pm »
michal, time for a champagne bottle and congratulations :)

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2013, 02:07:48 pm »
this https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,363.msg3964.html#msg3964

based on this post i done some try and the final are just change this 2 line
const double Screen::BASE_WIDTH = 320.0;
const double Screen::BASE_HEIGHT = 200.0;

in
const double Screen::BASE_WIDTH = 1920.0;
const double Screen::BASE_HEIGHT = 1080.0;

in Screen.cpp and the battlescape works fine but without hud

Offline Daiky

  • Battlescape Programmer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 904
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2013, 02:40:55 pm »
The reason it somewhat works in the battlescape is because I've once started to implement flexible screen resolutions in the battlescape to make this possible, but as you noticed it is far from complete.

Offline michal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #8 on: January 11, 2013, 03:09:39 pm »
but as you noticed it is far from complete.

So, what about completing it? :D

Xan, could you post some screenshots? ;)

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #9 on: January 11, 2013, 06:51:00 pm »
https://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/687/xcomfullhd.png/

this is xcom in Full HD with only 2 rows changed !

this with bug fix, some antialiasing and some effects and we make best game of 2013 :D
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 06:54:32 pm by xan »

Offline michal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 629
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #10 on: January 11, 2013, 07:39:34 pm »
Cool, whole map visible on screen ;)

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #11 on: January 11, 2013, 08:41:40 pm »
someone is interested in creating a patch to make the game fully functional at this resolution?
I need a person who knows the source code of openxcom because I get lost in all these classes

if yes we can exchange facebook or gtalk accounts, tell me

Offline Daiky

  • Battlescape Programmer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 904
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #12 on: January 11, 2013, 09:14:18 pm »
someone is interested in creating a patch to make the game fully functional at this resolution?

Well, I'm certainly interested, as I said, I started it already. And it's probably easy to make it work quickly by hacking and code some ugly stuff in the battlescape, but I'd vote for an elegant solution, which works over the entire game, so including geoscape and every screen in the game. We need to carefully identify what needs to be stretched and what not and where all GUI stuff is positioned.

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #13 on: January 11, 2013, 10:18:58 pm »
from what I understand by reading the code: theres a middle layer between the texture and the native resolution, so you can view low-resolution textures also going to choose a high resolution

I think this is a bad thing.

the first thing is to eliminate this intermediate layer, so doing openxcom only work in native resolution (320x200 I think).

as a next step is to go to support different resolutions deciding screen by screen which components should be expanded and which should be fixed length.
As a general rule: the buttons and HUD must be fixed, others can be expanded

I can help, but I can not coordinate this because I do not know enough about the openxcom source code

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #14 on: January 12, 2013, 03:12:47 am »
with some new fix

1440x900