aliens

Author Topic: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds  (Read 18688 times)

Offline xracer

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 564
  • X-COM lover, we've gone at it everywhere
    • ICQ Messenger - 21921810
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - jxracer007
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #30 on: January 13, 2013, 10:58:19 pm »
I think the best way will be to leave the screen as it is and simply center them, the battlescape can be enhanced to show more tiles as it was mentioned and then the other screen will just be floating windows on top of the battlescape. That way there is no weird proportions errors.

That can be even done base view screen, of course sometimes it might be a little small so maybe a 2X might be good.

Offline 54x

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 208
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #31 on: January 14, 2013, 07:39:21 am »
I'd definitely want a zoom feature so I could play with 1px = 4px to avoid needing a magnifying glass at . I should also point out I have excellent vision too, so I think anyone with a high-resolution monitor will have some difficulty playing with an expanding battlescape without lowering the resolution.

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #32 on: February 03, 2013, 01:12:53 am »
the best option are to add a zoom option in preference to set zoom level, actually battleground works fine

to make this possible to all xcom we refactor entire GUI

this is zoom 1x to 4x
« Last Edit: February 03, 2013, 01:14:33 am by xan »

Offline DiceMaster

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #33 on: February 03, 2013, 01:18:45 pm »
I suggest to zoom map and gui separetely.
And maybe make zoom with the mouse wheel?

anonilsus

  • Guest
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #34 on: February 03, 2013, 01:41:26 pm »
Ctrl+Mousewheel is the standard zoom shortcut .

I think this should go into the git as soon as possible.
Not only does it look nice but it also makes 16:9 resolutions in battlescape not so ugly anymore.

Can the program be forced internally to always keep the aspect ratio? Right now I think it just sets the resolution and the rest (how big a pixel is) is up to the OS/screen.
Modern games usually are prepared for that and force the aspect ratio by quering the screen to compare it with the actual dimensions, I think.

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #35 on: February 03, 2013, 02:14:32 pm »
actually zoom works only on battlescape, we need to refact all other GUI elements

it requires much time

Volutar

  • Guest
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #36 on: February 04, 2013, 05:36:47 am »
Currently screen zoom works as manual image scaling and greatly reduce FPS. Especially with blitNshade.

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #37 on: February 04, 2013, 12:05:25 pm »
standardResolution = 320*200
actually zoom = actualResolution/standardResolution

so the user will always see the same resolution

if we add manual option to set zoom we can play xcom completely old style or increasing the display area
to do this first of all we need to rewrite all GUI element to permit dinamical position of elements, actually works only for battlegrounds (see screenshot)

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #38 on: February 09, 2013, 01:59:49 pm »
an orgasmatic geoscape  ;D

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #39 on: February 09, 2013, 04:00:45 pm »
with some fix,
now completely working refactor

soon recieve pull request on github

Volutar

  • Guest
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #40 on: February 09, 2013, 04:04:05 pm »
Pull request on github? At least I see here wrong "blue" radius.
And what about shading? It will work totally wrong!

anonilsus

  • Guest
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #41 on: February 09, 2013, 04:19:50 pm »
Can you make a screenshot that has a zoom factor like the original xcom only with the viewing area increased to 16:9 ?
so.. 320x180 resolution? or 640x360 ? I don't know

Offline xracer

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 564
  • X-COM lover, we've gone at it everywhere
    • ICQ Messenger - 21921810
    • Yahoo Instant Messenger - jxracer007
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #42 on: February 10, 2013, 12:30:47 am »
I think that looks reall nice for a full screen, would it be possible to make the menu flotaing above the geoscape on the right top corner?

Offline xan

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #43 on: February 10, 2013, 01:02:29 pm »
Pull request on github? At least I see here wrong "blue" radius.
And what about shading? It will work totally wrong!

you are right but i commit in pull request only the part to make right menu resolution free (now the menu will be always on center right of the screen)
actually with normal resolution you dont see any change
https://github.com/SupSuper/OpenXcom/pull/288

anyone can help me for blue range and shading? i think that if there is a problem with high res and no in low res, so there is a problem that we cant see in low res


this is some screen at 2 3 and 4 x of zoom

need fix for shadow and blue range
« Last Edit: February 10, 2013, 01:23:04 pm by xan »

Volutar

  • Guest
Re: Increase area on the screen in Battlegrounds
« Reply #44 on: February 10, 2013, 03:07:34 pm »
not only shade and blue. background scale, menu/windows scale, as well as other UI elements. it no use if menus will become tiny. there's no fun of pixel-hunting to push some button.
btw, doubling resolution of globe shade will make fps drop 4 times (at least). x4 (1280x800) will make fps drop 16 times. it it was 200, it will become 12. and it's quite unplayable. in order to keep mouse responsive, it will require for rendering pipeline refactoring. this is task noone help you. and this task cannot be completed "partly". and i'm affraid any SOFTWARE HD will be unplayable, so it won't work unless engine will be hardware-accelerated (opengl for example). but it will introduce other problems, battlescape shading for example.