Author Topic: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed  (Read 10635 times)

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8597
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #15 on: October 04, 2018, 08:24:16 pm »
Great!
The syntaxis has been not changed?

No change, syntax is still the same.

Offline robin

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
  • ULTIMATE ROOKIE
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #16 on: October 05, 2018, 12:42:24 am »
nooOOOoooo stop adding good features i absolutely must use!
 :P
thanks for adding it.


Offline davide

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 565
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #17 on: October 05, 2018, 09:56:30 pm »
nooOOOoooo stop adding good features i absolutely must use!
 :P
thanks for adding it.

....It is a double strike!! ;D

Offline robin

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
  • ULTIMATE ROOKIE
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #18 on: November 01, 2018, 11:38:20 am »
Question: do I need to add the progression to every deployment in the chain, or only to the first one?

example A:
Code: [Select]
  - type: STR_BASE_0
    alienBaseUpgrades:
      0:
        STR_BASE_0: 100
      1:
        STR_BASE_1: 100
    data:
      ...

  - type: STR_BASE_1
    alienBaseUpgrades:
      0:
        STR_BASE_1: 100
    data:
      ...

example B:
Code: [Select]
  - type: STR_BASE_0
    alienBaseUpgrades:
      0:
        STR_BASE_0: 100
      1:
        STR_BASE_1: 100
    data:
      ...

  - type: STR_BASE_1
    data:
      ...


Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8597
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #19 on: November 01, 2018, 02:40:28 pm »
That's a damn good question... I wanted to implement B (only first one), but I have implemented A (every deployment in the chain).

I can change that easily... but before I do... which one would you prefer?

Offline robin

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1203
  • ULTIMATE ROOKIE
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #20 on: November 01, 2018, 03:18:58 pm »
I think after all that A is better.
The reason is that, in the mission scripts, you can make the chain start from an advanced point, as the game progresses, and it will still upgrade from there.
Example:
Code: [Select]
missionScripts:
  - type: alienBase
    missionWeights:
      0:
        STR_BASE0: 100
      2:
        STR_BASE1: 100
      4:
        STR_BASE2: 100

alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_BASE_2
    alienBaseUpgrades:
      0:
        STR_BASE_2: 100
      2:
        STR_BASE_3: 100
    data:
      ...

From month 4 missionScripts spawns BASE_2 bases directly, but the progression to BASE_3 still happens because it is directly defined for BASE_2; if the upgrades were defined only on BASE_0, I guess the progression wouldn't happen if you start from BASE_2.
Sure there is some duplicate data, but it matters little.


« Last Edit: November 01, 2018, 03:20:35 pm by robin »

Offline Nord

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1625
  • The Gate is open.
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #21 on: April 19, 2020, 05:52:58 am »
Please, point me to the right syntax.
How is correct:
Spoiler:
  - type: STR_ALIEN_NEST_1
...
    alienBaseUpgrades:
      0:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_1: 100
      2:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_2: 100
      4:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_3: 100

  - type: STR_ALIEN_NEST_2
...
    alienBaseUpgrades:
      0:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_1: 100
      2:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_2: 100
      4:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_3: 100
or

Spoiler:
  - type: STR_ALIEN_NEST_1
...
    alienBaseUpgrades:
      0:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_1: 100
      2:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_2: 100

  - type: STR_ALIEN_NEST_2
...
    alienBaseUpgrades:
      0:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_2: 100
      2:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_3: 100
Thanks.

Offline Thermite

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #22 on: April 19, 2020, 05:42:40 pm »
Would this be available as a default (the mods that come with the install on the standard folder) mod?

Offline ohartenstein23

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1931
  • Flamethrowers fry cyberdisk circuits
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #23 on: April 19, 2020, 07:36:26 pm »
Would this be available as a default (the mods that come with the install on the standard folder) mod?

No. The standard folder is only for recreating the original game and the UFOExtender/XComUtil features. Any features OXCE adds will have to be activated by a mod in the users folder. In other words, almost nothing in OXCE is activated "by default".

Offline Thermite

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #24 on: April 21, 2020, 02:31:40 pm »
No. The standard folder is only for recreating the original game and the UFOExtender/XComUtil features. Any features OXCE adds will have to be activated by a mod in the users folder. In other words, almost nothing in OXCE is activated "by default".

I see...
Thanks

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8597
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #25 on: May 05, 2020, 11:00:44 am »
Please, point me to the right syntax.

Syntactically, both are correct.

Semantically, the first option is better IMO.
But I would even suggest a third option (to prevent accidental downgrade back to STR_ALIEN_NEST_1 in case you make it more complicated):

Code: [Select]
  - type: STR_ALIEN_NEST_1
...
    alienBaseUpgrades:
      0:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_1: 100
      2:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_2: 100
      4:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_3: 100

  - type: STR_ALIEN_NEST_2
...
    alienBaseUpgrades:
      0:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_2: 100
      4:
        STR_ALIEN_NEST_3: 100

The number of months is always "since the creation of the original base"... when upgrading a base, its age does NOT reset back to zero months.

Offline Nord

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1625
  • The Gate is open.
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #26 on: May 05, 2020, 01:52:18 pm »
The number of months is always "since the creation of the original base"... when upgrading a base, its age does NOT reset back to zero months.
This is a key, thanks.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8597
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #27 on: December 30, 2021, 11:00:01 am »
Since OXCE 7.3 it is possible to reset the base age when upgrading.

Let's assume you are upgrading an alien base with deployment type A into deployment B.

To reset the base age, you have two options:
1. set `resetAlienBaseAgeAfterUpgrade: true` on deployment A
2. or set `resetAlienBaseAge: true` on deployment B

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8597
    • View Profile
Re: [DONE] [Suggestion] Changing alien base deployment by time passed
« Reply #28 on: January 21, 2022, 03:31:00 pm »
Since OXCE 7.4.4 it is possible to change the race of an alien base during the upgrade.

Attribute `upgradeRace`

Example:

Code: [Select]
alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_ALIEN_BASE_OLD
    alienBaseUpgrades:
      0:
        STR_ALIEN_BASE_OLD: 100
      3:
        STR_ALIEN_BASE_NEW_MUTONS: 100

Code: [Select]
alienDeployments:
  - type: STR_ALIEN_BASE_NEW_MUTONS
    upgradeRace: STR_MUTON
« Last Edit: May 08, 2022, 02:53:04 pm by Meridian »