aliens

Author Topic: FmP Really long playthrough and an Old sea tale.  (Read 147 times)

Offline Gondolavi

• Squaddie
    • View Profile
FmP Really long playthrough and an Old sea tale.
« on: April 07, 2024, 05:31:01 pm »
I'm a veteran from when the game was new. Had great fun with both Enemy Unknown and Terror From the Deep. Never finished TFtD, got lost in a Crabman base with a commander in my backpack and all my saves in the same loop. Realized much later that I could probably have finihed the mission with a Commander as my only loot. Guess I thougt I deserved all the other loot as well after hours in the mission. So I just left it for later and never got around to do it. It all comes back to me now. There were stunned navigators and other alien leadership laying around as well, the whole loot was what I needed to finish the game. I a had two surviving guys one of them fataly wounded, searcing for the last foe while those pesky Crabmen started to wake up. The game had actually become a bit monotonous by then, research for vessels had stalled. There's an interwiev with the maker of X-Com 1 Julian Gollop on YT. He said the alien base maps in TFtD were to big to be fun, I couldn't agree more.
Big shoutout to Lewis and Ben, playing my favorite games on youtube, just like my friends and I did it, one pc crewed by severel men. They nailed it about TFtD "There's way to many cupboards to go through on the Terror missions in Cruiseships" For me when the game makes me put in work like that is part of what makes the victory feel deserved. There's a limit of course, but fear and loathing is and important part of my motivation in Ufo, "I have to stop this alien menance before they can Terrorize another cruiseship." 

I played The final mod Pack from 2019. I invested quite som time in the game and had a near "losing the savegame experience" when my son tried out the 40k mod on the same pc. After that we did no more fidgeting with the game until I had finished.