Author Topic: Slacking scientists/engineers indicator  (Read 1300 times)

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6931
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Slacking scientists/engineers indicator
« on: May 14, 2020, 01:22:43 pm »
Indicates that some employees are not assigned any task.
Only visible if at least one such employee exists.

Position/color can be changed in interface.rul

Code: [Select]
interfaces:
  - type: geoscape
    elements:
      - id: slackingIndicator
        color: 244   # even lighter blue
        color2: 133  # minty green
        custom: -12  # above Intercept button

Structure of the indicator can be changed via translations:

Code: [Select]
  STR_SLACKING_INDICATOR: "{0}:{1}"

where {0} is number of slacking scientists and {1} is number of slacking engineers.

Offline krautbernd

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile
Re: Slacking scientists/engineers indicator
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2020, 01:25:47 pm »
Oh, nice. Could we get an option to have the text centered in the UI, like the other button labels and/or an option to have it displayed at the bottom instead of at the top?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6931
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Slacking scientists/engineers indicator
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2020, 01:30:58 pm »
Oh, nice. Could we get an option to have the text centered in the UI, like the other button labels

No

and/or an option to have it displayed at the bottom instead of at the top?

Read first post.

Offline krautbernd

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 803
    • View Profile

Offline BlackStaff

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 260
    • View Profile
Re: Slacking scientists/engineers indicator
« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2020, 03:18:48 pm »
No work in my game Ex v6.5 !
There's no extra line up and down...

Is there anything else?
« Last Edit: May 14, 2020, 03:24:24 pm by BlackStaff »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6931
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Slacking scientists/engineers indicator
« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2020, 03:37:14 pm »
By default it shows above Intercept button.
If you don't have any space there it's not shown.

wcho035

  • Guest
Re: Slacking scientists/engineers indicator
« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2020, 03:42:37 pm »
How does one configure the menu or screen to make it fit? So the above feature will show?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6931
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Slacking scientists/engineers indicator
« Reply #7 on: May 14, 2020, 04:28:57 pm »
By changing video resolution and scaling in Options > Video.

wcho035

  • Guest
Re: Slacking scientists/engineers indicator
« Reply #8 on: May 14, 2020, 05:34:07 pm »
Thanks, feature enabled.

Offline Finnik

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 223
    • View Profile
Re: Slacking scientists/engineers indicator
« Reply #9 on: May 14, 2020, 08:02:40 pm »
I know its one of the canonical examples from "why my suggestion rejected" https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,6498.0.html
Quote
OpenXcom is a 320x200x8 game and anything that cannot fit into that won't be done.
So please don't ask for "just one more button above Intercept button on the Geoscape", you're wasting your time.
But still, if we are already there. What about making buttons for optional features that were implemented only as geoscape state hotkeys - global research screen, manufacture, daily experience, and stuff like that - useful features, that are already in the game, but only accessible with a hotkey. That hotkeys are not obvious, many people do not know they exist. Having UI buttons for it would be handier, IMO. It would not heart people who play 320x200 (though, IDK if it's me, but I can't set up this resolution in video options) - nothing would change for them, they would have only hotkeys as they do now. And it's not like much work - all states are there, just new methods for buttons, it's not hard at all.
I'd also like to have it behind some option like extended "Extended Geoscape UI" for those, how used to vanilla button set, and would not like changes.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 6931
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Slacking scientists/engineers indicator
« Reply #10 on: May 14, 2020, 08:26:29 pm »
I know its one of the canonical examples from "why my suggestion rejected" https://openxcom.org/forum/index.php/topic,6498.0.htmlBut still, if we are already there. What about making buttons for optional features that were implemented only as geoscape state hotkeys - global research screen, manufacture, daily experience, and stuff like that - useful features, that are already in the game, but only accessible with a hotkey. That hotkeys are not obvious, many people do not know they exist. Having UI buttons for it would be handier, IMO. It would not heart people who play 320x200 (though, IDK if it's me, but I can't set up this resolution in video options) - nothing would change for them, they would have only hotkeys as they do now. And it's not like much work - all states are there, just new methods for buttons, it's not hard at all.

No.

I'd also like to have it behind some option like extended "Extended Geoscape UI" for those, how used to vanilla button set, and would not like changes.

Even bigger no.