aliens

Author Topic: How do I make a subMod?  (Read 7014 times)

Offline Thermite

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
How do I make a subMod?
« on: April 10, 2020, 04:53:34 pm »
I had this idea for a XCF submod, actually more like a few features, but I don't know how I would do them, could someone help me? It would involve a few recipes and techs.

Offline vadracas

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Just another player/modder combo.
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2020, 12:17:21 am »
Alright, here's how-
1. Make the mod
2. put the folder with the rulesets in another folder
3. Add metadata.yml to the same folder hierarchy as the ruleset folder.
4. Configure metadata .yml to something similar to my attached metadata.yml.


P.S. obviously based on the description this mod is intended for both xcomfiles and xpiratez. To do that, you need to change the x-com-files inside to a *.

Offline Thermite

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2020, 08:53:18 am »
Alright, here's how-
1. Make the mod
2. put the folder with the rulesets in another folder
3. Add metadata.yml to the same folder hierarchy as the ruleset folder.
4. Configure metadata .yml to something similar to my attached metadata.yml.


P.S. obviously based on the description this mod is intended for both xcomfiles and xpiratez. To do that, you need to change the x-com-files inside to a *.

But how would I work around the rule sets?
This would be my first mod...
>_<
Is there a guide anywhere?
*screms*

Offline TheCurse

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 334
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2020, 09:51:08 am »
well if its your first modding attempts, i´d suggest trying something easier than customizing xcf.
in the modding section is most stuff described you need to know.
however, most of starting to mod is figuring stuff out.
so get to it and read and try stuff ^^

Offline vadracas

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Just another player/modder combo.
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2020, 12:54:09 pm »
But how would I work around the rule sets?
This would be my first mod...
>_<
Is there a guide anywhere?
*screms*

There is the ruleset reference, it's stickied in the OXCE sub-forum. However, if you want to mod, you will have to work with rulesets in some form or another.

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 11408
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2020, 06:15:06 pm »
Here's you new bible :)
https://www.ufopaedia.org/index.php/Ruleset_Reference_Nightly_(OpenXcom)

I would start with analysing other mods and copying them.

What exactly are you trying to do, by the way? We can show you the ropes.

Offline Thermite

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2020, 12:57:32 am »
Here's you new bible :)
https://www.ufopaedia.org/index.php/Ruleset_Reference_Nightly_(OpenXcom)

I would start with analysing other mods and copying them.

What exactly are you trying to do, by the way? We can show you the ropes.

I want to make two things: a mod that allows you to breed domesticated strange creatures (rats, gilldogs and hellhounds).

And another one that would allow you to have a sort of "blood donation" system for the more intelligent zombies (vampires, ghouls and mummies) since they seem to be able to be reasoned with.

Offline vadracas

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Just another player/modder combo.
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #7 on: April 12, 2020, 01:19:10 am »
First idea is pretty simple if you want it to be, make a manufacturing project along the ruleset guidelines, put 2 strange creatures of whatever type as input and 3+ as output.
Or, if you want it more complicated, you could set up a random production system, outputting only 1(net loss), 2(failed breeding, 3(successful breeding), 4(extra successful breeding).

The second idea needs to be clarified first. What exactly do you mean by a blood donation system?

Offline Thermite

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #8 on: April 12, 2020, 01:32:13 am »
The second idea needs to be clarified first. What exactly do you mean by a blood donation system?

Creature goes in, price and work is done, creature goes out + blood plasma.
Possibly a way to purchase it, at a hefty price, from the buy list too?

Offline vadracas

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Just another player/modder combo.
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #9 on: April 12, 2020, 02:58:31 am »
Heres a sort of template for the second one, using a zombie boomer(shamelessly copied and edited from the live zombie boomer blood plasma extraction in xcomfiles).

  - name: STR_BLOOD_PLASMA_DONATION_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_LIVING
    category: STR_BIOEXTRACTION
    requiresBaseFunc: [BIOLAB]
    requires:
      - STR_MUTANT_BLOOD_PLASMA
      - STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER
    space: 3
    time: 50
    cost: 100
    requiredItems:
      STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_TERRORIST: 1
    producedItems:
      STR_MUTANT_BLOOD_PLASMA: 2
      STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_TERRORIST: 1
    listOrder: 207915


I hope most of the values in this are self-explanatory

Offline Solarius Scorch

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 11408
  • WE MUST DISSENT
    • View Profile
    • Nocturmal Productions modding studio website
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #10 on: April 12, 2020, 06:22:27 pm »
Yep, the code looks fine at a glance.

But please kindly use the "code" marking in the future, otherwise it's impossible to copy and paste without messing up the indentation - like this:

Code: [Select]
  - name: STR_BLOOD_PLASMA_DONATION_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_LIVING
    category: STR_BIOEXTRACTION
    requiresBaseFunc: [BIOLAB]
    requires:
      - STR_MUTANT_BLOOD_PLASMA
      - STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER
    space: 3
    time: 50
    cost: 100
    requiredItems:
      STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_TERRORIST: 1
    producedItems:
      STR_MUTANT_BLOOD_PLASMA: 2
      STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_TERRORIST: 1
    listOrder: 207915

Offline vadracas

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Just another player/modder combo.
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2020, 07:37:53 pm »
Yep, the code looks fine at a glance.

But please kindly use the "code" marking in the future, otherwise it's impossible to copy and paste without messing up the indentation - like this:

Code: [Select]
  - name: STR_BLOOD_PLASMA_DONATION_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_LIVING
    category: STR_BIOEXTRACTION
    requiresBaseFunc: [BIOLAB]
    requires:
      - STR_MUTANT_BLOOD_PLASMA
      - STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER
    space: 3
    time: 50
    cost: 100
    requiredItems:
      STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_TERRORIST: 1
    producedItems:
      STR_MUTANT_BLOOD_PLASMA: 2
      STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_TERRORIST: 1
    listOrder: 207915


Thank you, never posted a code snippet up here before :)

Offline Thermite

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #12 on: April 13, 2020, 12:53:24 am »
Thanks you all.
All of this was lovely.
xoxo

Offline Thermite

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 146
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #13 on: April 13, 2020, 01:12:31 am »
Heres a sort of template for the second one, using a zombie boomer(shamelessly copied and edited from the live zombie boomer blood plasma extraction in xcomfiles).

  - name: STR_BLOOD_PLASMA_DONATION_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_LIVING
    category: STR_BIOEXTRACTION
    requiresBaseFunc: [BIOLAB]
    requires:
      - STR_MUTANT_BLOOD_PLASMA
      - STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER
    space: 3
    time: 50
    cost: 100
    requiredItems:
      STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_TERRORIST: 1
    producedItems:
      STR_MUTANT_BLOOD_PLASMA: 2
      STR_ZOMBIE_BOOMER_TERRORIST: 1
    listOrder: 207915


I hope most of the values in this are self-explanatory

How did you figure out the list Order, btw?

Offline vadracas

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 285
  • Just another player/modder combo.
    • View Profile
Re: How do I make a subMod?
« Reply #14 on: April 13, 2020, 01:40:14 am »
The list order is completely arbitrary based on where you want this project to appear in the manufacturing screen. As stated earlier, I copied most of the ruleset code from Solar's blood plasma extraction projects and this was the list order he had assigned to zombie boomer extraction.