aliens

Author Topic: [Answered] New Modscript hook: fire_weapon, to get "pump action" for a shotgun  (Read 2317 times)

Offline Eddie

• Commander
    • View Profile
Heya,

so I wanted to create a script to give a shotgun "pump action". Meaning that after you fired a shot, you would need to pump the shotgun to chamber the next round. I want to block any fire modes with a different action that needs to be performed before the next shot can be fired. Other uses of such a script could be bolt action rifles and crossbows or bows where the arrows/bolts are not individual items but packs. Another possibility is a charge-up energy weapon.

I'm no scripting expert yet, but I think right now the functionality to create such a script is not available. Feel free to correct my if I'm wrong. I would need a "fire_weapon" hook for a start. Not sure what else I need...

« Last Edit: February 19, 2023, 10:31:24 am by Meridian »

Offline Yankes

• Commander
    • View Profile
This is right now not possible

Online Meridian

• Global Moderator
  • Commander
    • View Profile
A "script hook" is a place in the source code where:
1. normal program execution stops
2. the currently processed variable holding some number (e.g. damage to be dealt to a target unit) is passed to a script
3. script executes and potentially transforms that number into a different number (e.g. damage 100 to damage 200)
4. the new number is assigned to the currently processed variable
5. normal program execution is resumed

Or in simpler words... a place where you can change a value of some variable from value A to value B, using a script that does some math.

What number/variable would your "fire_weapon" hook be changing?

Offline ohartenstein23

• Commander
  • Flamethrowers fry cyberdisk circuits
    • View Profile