aliens

Author Topic: Problem with Spawning Alienbases and missionsite using technical Region.  (Read 1854 times)

wcho035

  • Guest
Hi guys,

I have been trying to spawn alien bases and missionsite using technical region like TFTD Artifact spawns and Shipping strikes, instead of the normal Missionzones.

So far, I have mixed results.

For my human enemy faction bases, they generate on the globe with no problem in the start of each game. However, later when new bases are to be generated a few weeks after the game has started, the game keep crashing.

Please see the error screenshot.

The base generator keeps searching for a missionzone value greater than zero, despite the technical region only have one missionzone.

In the Alienmission entry for the base. I have listed operationSpawnZone: 0, it should not be looking for other missionzone other than 0. Why is it searching for a value >0?

This is the Alienmission entry.

  - type: STR_FACTIONBASEGENERATIONWILDWESTSEA
    objective: 0
    operationType: 2
    operationSpawnZone: 0
    operationBaseType: STR_HUMAN_BASE_ASSAULTWILDWEST_UNDERWATER
    points: 50
    retaliationOdds: 20         
    raceWeights:
      0:
        STR_WILDWEST_REGIMENT: 100
    waves:
      - ufo: Dummy
        count: 1
        trajectory: MISSION_SPAWN
        timer: 0
      - ufo: STR_PLANE1
        count: 1
        trajectory: P1
        timer: 13500

Missionscript entry
#################


  - type: invasionBASEWILDWESTSEA
    missionWeights:
      0:
        STR_FACTIONBASEGENERATIONWILDWESTSEA: 100
    firstMonth: 0
    varName: invasionWildsea
    maxRuns: -1
    executionOdds: 5
    regionWeights:
      0:
        SEASPAWNS: 100      

The technical region in region.rul
##########################
  - type: SEASPAWNS
    missionWeights:
      STR_ALIEN_BASETFTDSEA: 3
      STR_FACTIONBASEGENERATIONNAZISEA: 1
      STR_FACTIONBASEGENERATIONWILDWESTSEA: 2   
      STR_FACTIONBASEGENERATIONMERCSEA: 2      
      STR_FACTIONBASEGENERATIONMARSECSEA: 1      
      STR_FACTIONBASEGENERATIONCORPORATESEA: 1      
      STR_FACTIONBASEGENERATIONCHURCHSEA: 1   
      STR_FACTIONBASEGENERATIONBANDITSEA: 2
      STR_DIMENTIONAL_BASESEA: 6    
    missionZones:
      - - - 181.20506333988
          - 274.058487886591
          - -7.1259618138434
          - 59.914386517837

Only this section the missionwieght mentioned STR_FACTIONBASEGENERATIONWILDWESTSEA:, so why is it keep searching for a missionzone greater then 0?

Can technical region be used for Alien base and mission site generation?

If it can, can a sample coding for Alienmission and Missionscript be provided? Having some examples using the already examples provided prior above?
 


Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8596
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with Spawning Alienbases and missionsite using technical Region.
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2019, 03:43:29 pm »
Mission zone 5 probably comes from the UFO that you are trying to spawn and its P1 trajectory.

Code: [Select]
      - ufo: STR_PLANE1
        count: 1
        trajectory: P1
        timer: 13500

wcho035

  • Guest
Re: Problem with Spawning Alienbases and missionsite using technical Region.
« Reply #2 on: December 19, 2019, 03:51:00 pm »
Okay, I forgot about the Ufotrajectories need modifying to missionzone 0, perhaps that might solve the problem. Thanks again Meridian.
« Last Edit: December 19, 2019, 04:28:29 pm by Precentor Apollyon »

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8596
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with Spawning Alienbases and missionsite using technical Region.
« Reply #3 on: December 19, 2019, 04:29:14 pm »
So that means for the generation of new bases, I can't have the attendance ufos that spawn with it?

You can.

Is there anyway around this?

No need for workarounds.
Just use normal procedure.

Like the attendance Ufo also using the technical region as spawn point instead of regular missionzone?

Question makes no sense. A region is not a missionZone.

At the end, everything uses a mission zone. Bases, sites, UFOs, everything.

Solutions:
1. Either define mission zones 5, 0, 1, 2 (and any other used by P1 trajectory)
2. Or define a new trajectory that will use only mission zone 0

Lastly, is this applicable to Alien Infiltration mission as well? I read infiltration is same as an alien base being generated or spawn?

Yes, it is applicable to absolutely everything.

Mission zones are used to spawn all types of objects in xcom.

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8596
    • View Profile
Re: Problem with Spawning Alienbases and missionsite using technical Region.
« Reply #4 on: December 19, 2019, 04:30:46 pm »
Okay, I forgot about the Ufotrajectories need modifying to missionzone 0, perhaps that might solve the problem. Thanks again Meridian.

And stop fu**ing asking questions only to delete them 30 minutes later.
You're wasting my time!

Think before you ask.

wcho035

  • Guest
Re: Problem with Spawning Alienbases and missionsite using technical Region.
« Reply #5 on: December 19, 2019, 04:44:16 pm »
Sorry Meridian, late at night, tired mind not working efficiently. However, your help is always appreciated, none less.