Author Topic: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map  (Read 2763 times)

wcho035

  • Guest
Hi, I am attempting to allow a mission from alien deployment to go from one surface map to another surface map.

I am keep encountering segmentation error. Here is my coding. From the screenshot below is the ufo transport. It shall take my troops to Cydonia.

The transport gives the illusion that it goes to Cydonia but it works like going from surface to an underground map.

However, in this case here, the transport goes from from one surface map to another surface map.

From the Alart terrain then to Mars terrain, before the third level, underground cydonia.

The game crashed while switching to the Mars Terrain segmentation fault. I am using

    - type: addCraft
      craftName: STR_PTOWER

in the Mapscript for Cydonia, so it gives the illusion the ufo transport did travel there.

Initially, I thought it was a spawning tiles problem. 

I have used mapview2 to replace the ground tiles of the PTower  with the spawning tiles from the planes.map and the green ones which starts the game for underground alien bases.

None of the two worked.

#Cydonia
  - type: STR_CYDONIA_BASE_LANDSTARPORT
    data:
    HIDDEN STUFF
    width: 60
    length: 60
    height: 4
    terrains:
      - ALARTSTARLAND
    shade: 15
    markerName: STR_ALIEN_COLONY
    markerIcon: 7
    #genMission:
    #  STR_ALIEN_SUPPLY: 100
    genMissionFreq: 6
    script: ARTIFACT_P1
    #alienBase: true    # this is only to tell new battle mode what to do with this deployment
    nextStage: STR_MARS_CYDONIA_LANDING
    briefing:
      title: STR_ALIEN_COLONY_ATTACK_MISSION
      desc: STR_ALIEN_COLONY_P1_BRIEFING
      palette: 4
      music: GMTACDRY
      background: BACK01.SCR
    points: 5
  - type: STR_MARS_CYDONIA_LANDING
    data:
    HIDDEN STUFF
    width: 50
    length: 50
    height: 9
    terrains:
      - MARS
    shade: 15
    race: STR_SECTOID
    nextStage: STR_MARS_THE_FINAL_ASSAULT
    #finalDestination: true
    loseCutscene: loseGame
    abortCutscene: loseGame
    briefing:
      textOffset: -16
      palette: 6
      music: GMNEWMAR
      showTarget: false

Mapscript

  - type: MARS
    commands:
    - type: addCraft
      craftName: STR_PTOWER
    - type: addBlock
      groups: 2
    - type: fillArea

CRAFT coding.
  - type: STR_PTOWER
    size: STR_SMALL
    modSprite: PlaceHolder
    damageMax: 50
    speedMax: 2200
    accel: 12
    power: 0
    range: 0
    score: 50
    reload: 56
    breakOffTime: 200
    battlescapeTerrainData:
      name: PTower
      mapDataSets:
        - BLANKS
        - U_EXT01
        - U_WALL01
        - U_DISEC1
        - U_OPER1
        - PUFOL83
        - PUFOL83-B
      mapBlocks:
        - name: PTower2
          width: 10
          length: 10
« Last Edit: October 20, 2019, 07:48:48 pm by Precentor Apollyon »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8616
    • View Profile
Re: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2019, 08:15:17 pm »
need the entire mod and a save to reproduce

PS: and no PMs

wcho035

  • Guest
Re: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map
« Reply #2 on: October 20, 2019, 08:23:44 pm »
Hi Meridian, I get back to you on this.

Thanks.

wcho035

  • Guest
Re: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map
« Reply #3 on: October 20, 2019, 09:34:23 pm »
Here is the test stuff.
« Last Edit: October 21, 2019, 03:34:08 am by Precentor Apollyon »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8616
    • View Profile
Re: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map
« Reply #4 on: October 20, 2019, 10:08:50 pm »
Looks like there are no spawn points for xcom.

wcho035

  • Guest
Re: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map
« Reply #5 on: October 20, 2019, 10:20:14 pm »
I have laid spawn tiles on the PTower craft, using spawn tiles from Plane.MCD and PCK. Also from Organic1,2,3 MCD and PCK, I have also laid green tiles which under ground  Mission starts on.

If you start the Cydonia mars surface terrain mission from the Battle section, the Pyramid UFO does spawn with troops.

Some how, maybe the spawn points wasn’t connected or something missing while the game is transitioning from the ALART Map to the mars map?

« Last Edit: October 20, 2019, 10:23:41 pm by Precentor Apollyon »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8616
    • View Profile
Re: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map
« Reply #6 on: October 20, 2019, 10:25:30 pm »
I don't have the tools to check the maps, maybe some other modder can help.

I can only say for sure that the game finds zero compliant spawn nodes for the xcom soldier.

wcho035

  • Guest
Re: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2019, 03:33:41 am »
Thanks kindly as always Meridian for the great advice. I think where the fault is now. Its the RMP file need modding.

Thanks again.

wcho035

  • Guest
Re: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2019, 06:20:31 am »
Quick questions on this Meridian

1) Are there different type of Spawn points for the maps?

2) If there are, are there surface and underground type spawn points?

Thanks Meridian

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 8616
    • View Profile
Re: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map
« Reply #9 on: October 21, 2019, 09:35:59 am »
1/yes
2/no

Offline Nord

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1637
  • The Gate is open.
    • View Profile
Re: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map
« Reply #10 on: October 21, 2019, 03:00:20 pm »
Dont forget that X-Com units needs two type of nodes to spawn:
1 - route spawn nodes
2 - terrain floor tiles, marked as "Target Type"=1

wcho035

  • Guest
Re: Segmentation fault goingl from one Surface map to another surface map
« Reply #11 on: October 21, 2019, 05:35:21 pm »
Thanks Nord, Thank you Meridian. I appreciate the answers.

What I did, I kind of took the level map from TFTD and able to turn it into a surface map. Problem solved. However, I have a lot of terrain editing ahead to get them fully presentable.

Thank you all again!