aliens

Author Topic: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?  (Read 554 times)

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5973
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
[Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« on: February 02, 2020, 10:08:12 pm »
Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?

(not OXCE, I mean just the Microsoft Windows XP/7/8/10 etc. in 32bit flavour)

If yes, why?

Offline Rubber Cannonball

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2020, 10:55:41 pm »
Yes, because the very old crappy computer I'm using for x-piratez is 32 bit 3 GHz Celeron 1G ram winXP SP3.  It will eventually get replaced with something new and shiny but for now it is still doing the job.

Offline BlackStaff

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 206
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #2 on: February 03, 2020, 12:02:41 pm »
I have a computer with Win XP 32b.
Why do I have it?
Because it has many programs (software, games, utilities, ...) that only work in 32 bits !

Offline Docent

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2020, 12:12:42 pm »
I have a computer with Win XP 32b.
Because I'm a fan of old games. There are so many old games that I have not played so far.

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2020, 01:55:49 pm »
Yes, I'm too using Win32-XP SP3.

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 681
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2020, 02:09:09 pm »
I was able to isolate out the problem, but not the exact one. I have 4 different terror mission per faction. It is possible I have coded it incorrectly. Thanks.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5973
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #6 on: February 03, 2020, 04:41:52 pm »
I was able to isolate out the problem, but not the exact one. I have 4 different terror mission per faction. It is possible I have coded it incorrectly. Thanks.

WTF does that even mean?

We are talking about 32bit Windows here... are you using it or not?

Offline new_civilian

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 749
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #7 on: February 04, 2020, 01:46:26 pm »
Win XP 32bit service Pack 3, single-core AMD Duron 3000, my computer is 13 years old. Why I use it? because it works and refuses to quit. It would feel like throwing away an old dog that lives with you for years just to replace it with a puppy. And yeah, in run into slowdowns on bigger X-Piratez levels, especially when multiple floors (>4) are used.

Apart from that my PC does everything I want it to: Play Doom (Zandronum), Play OpenXCom, watch youtube videos and DVD. I even have 2 monitors and there is no to little lag. and the stabilty: Ecellent.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5973
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #8 on: February 04, 2020, 02:07:09 pm »
OK, thank you everyone.

Does anyone have also Win 7 or Win 10 in 32bit?

Offline Ethereal

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 349
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #9 on: February 04, 2020, 02:50:12 pm »
Win 7 in 32bit? And so it is possible? I have a second computer with Win-7 64bit, but I mainly use it for video and Skype. Modding in Win-7 is hellish torment for me.

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5973
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #10 on: February 04, 2020, 02:54:56 pm »
Win 7 in 32bit? And so it is possible?

Yes, all Windows are available also in 32bit versions.
(That's why I am asking if anyone is still using them.)

Offline betatester

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 163
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2020, 08:59:33 am »
One of my computer is win7 32 bit and I'm still using it.
Why? Because it works, because I hate Windows 8, because it doesn't have enough memory for windows 10.

Offline N7Kopper

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #12 on: February 08, 2020, 05:37:20 pm »
I still do, because the one time I was able to get a proper upgrade, it crapoed out on me very quickly. So my poor laptop keeps limping along with a slowly dying hard disk.

Online Finnik

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 95
    • View Profile
Re: [Question] Is anyone still using a 32bit Windows version?
« Reply #13 on: March 14, 2020, 08:52:37 pm »
I have 64bit and 32 GB RAM for my Kerbal Space Program heavy modded build as lot of mods has memory leaking when working together))
« Last Edit: March 14, 2020, 09:03:25 pm by Finnik »