Author Topic: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla  (Read 448 times)

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« on: November 28, 2019, 07:58:28 am »
Well since every man and there dog is getting on the hybrid Mod band wagon, i thought i may as well do the globe for the community. I was going to use SupSupers one as a starting point but its in the OTHER format, where i like to use Falkos Tool. I will just keep chipping away at this a hour here and there until its done, it will mostly be done when i am stressed out with Code changes for my own Hybrid mod so I am guessing it will take a few weeks. I am resisting the urge to start off someone else work as if they took some shortcuts it could cost me days trying to patch them up later so i will just start from scratch....the things i do for this community :P

below is 1 hours work.

Offline efrenespartano

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 563
  • I know a lot about the law and other lawyerings.
    • View Profile
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #1 on: November 28, 2019, 07:59:43 am »


Enviado desde mi LG-M400 mediante Tapatalk


Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #2 on: November 28, 2019, 09:04:05 am »
2 hours ( including the time it took me to eat Dinner), well thats enough of that, i have a broken ruleset to try to fix.

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
    • View Profile
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #3 on: November 28, 2019, 09:36:08 am »
Took me hours or two days of pure commitment to get mine done. Good luck Luke, what about using mine as a modding continuation? I say the more people jump in it, the merrier. This would jump start a stronger demands for the missing features I had requested.

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #4 on: November 28, 2019, 10:50:44 am »
I looked at your one, its ...how do i put it nicely, no good for textures, SURE you can raid a UFO that lands on there but how do you make it sexy? You have too many points merging off the same pionts, this limits your options for textures as you would need to make the cluster of the all the same texture to hide it.

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
    • View Profile
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #5 on: November 28, 2019, 11:15:28 am »
It is not easy, that is why I made compromises.

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #6 on: November 28, 2019, 11:22:18 am »
I know its not easy, i am not having a go or anything, believe me when i say i understand the challenges of that tool,  i have made 2 other globes already and the tool has a few bugs in it that you need to work around :o

 This is why i will build this globe for everyone, as i think i am last one who knows this tool pretty well ( I believe  Hobbes uses Volutars tool but i couldn't even get that to start last time i tried) but i have not seen any other modder publicly try to use falkos tool in a very long time.

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
    • View Profile
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #7 on: November 28, 2019, 12:31:16 pm »
By the way Luke, if it is alright with you, I will include this globe in the release that I had made for my Hybrid mod, once it is finished. This one the mod authors can use it with my already Hybrid resources. It will be nice if you can provide your Pals resources early. I know you are feeling strongly till new years day release.

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #8 on: November 28, 2019, 06:57:55 pm »
Yes, it will be available for all to do with as they wish,i will maintain the master copy on the MOd site but anyone who wants to install into any mod can.

I expect it will be:
globe item
globe new MZs ( land only and Water only)
Geoscape Textures
Geoscape Hybrid Pallet
and i will throw in the pals for underwater also  i guess :)

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #9 on: November 29, 2019, 01:37:04 pm »

Offline Precentor Apollyon

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 499
    • View Profile
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #10 on: November 29, 2019, 09:41:19 pm »
Oh yeah, I remember those days when I build my globe..

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #11 on: November 30, 2019, 11:08:04 pm »
Well, i have sunk another 2 hours in over the weekend,  i am also trying to get a extra 2 textures to work ( i have 1 working band one not so much), this is difficult to do since i have a limited colour range and dont want it to just be the same colours as the other ones but i will see how i go.

Thats enough globe fun for now, back to Factions :)

Offline luke83

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1534
    • View Profile
    • openxcommods
Re: Hybrid Globe - Vanilla
« Reply #12 on: December 08, 2019, 10:30:45 am »
Another work in progress video