Author Topic: ??? symbols in game  (Read 243 times)

Offline BOBAH

  • Rookie
  • Posts: 7
  • XX
    • View Profile
    • 1917
??? symbols in game
« on: November 20, 2018, 09:57:18 am »
i download this wonderful game with many languages inside (latest version). But in some translations - many or all words displayed in symbol "?". Its mean incomplete translation, or what? All this languages in my WinOSxp have installed. And Internet, i see all languages symbols.

(and other remark: When switching next language, some words remain from the previous language. Why?)

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
    • View Profile
Re: ??? symbols in game
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2018, 10:49:32 am »
I think the question marks mean that the typeface doesn't understand the character being used. It "shouldn't" happen, because the typeface is supposed to have all usable characters represented. But there are a lot of characters to cover, so it's not surprising. Thank you for reporting this, hopefully someone will fix it but unfortunately there is usually very low activity here toward improving translations and language files.

If you wish to contribute any language work, we'd be very happy to receive it! The dev team is currently seeking more translators and perhaps also typeface specialists.

Offline BOBAH

  • Rookie
  • Posts: 7
  • XX
    • View Profile
    • 1917
Re: ??? symbols in game
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2018, 12:47:37 pm »
it turns out that for example in Vietnamese translation: they translated the text, but in the alphabet of the font of the game no have all their symbols?

 But some Vietnamese letters are present. This means that they began to draw their letters in the font of the game, but not finished?

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1113
    • View Profile
Re: ??? symbols in game
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2018, 07:37:51 pm »
Vietnamese probably shares some letters with a language that has been done. The symbols I see on the Vietnamese translation appear to all be either Chinese symbols, Japanese Katakana, or Romantic letters. These symbols likely all exist in other languages already.

Offline BOBAH

  • Rookie
  • Posts: 7
  • XX
    • View Profile
    • 1917
Re: ??? symbols in game
« Reply #4 on: November 21, 2018, 09:25:21 am »

you listed those languages, because they are in that first screenshot? But this is different. When switching to Vietnamese, remain the symbols of any PREVIOUS language. (for example switched to Vietnamese after the Greek)

Offline SupSuper

  • Lazy Developer
  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2104
    • View Profile
Re: ??? symbols in game
« Reply #5 on: November 22, 2018, 06:42:21 am »
i download this wonderful game with many languages inside (latest version). But in some translations - many or all words displayed in symbol "?". Its mean incomplete translation, or what? All this languages in my WinOSxp have installed. And Internet, i see all languages symbols.
A lot of translations are incomplete. If text is missing, it will show up in English instead. You can check translation status and help here: https://www.transifex.com/openxcom/openxcom/dashboard/
OpenXcom uses a bitmap custom font, not a system font. Missing characters will display as ?. New characters have to be added by translators.
Currently we support most European characters, as well as Japanese and Korean. Adding a few characters is easy, but a whole alphabet like eg. Chinese is hard. You can find the fonts in OpenXcom\common\Language folder.

(and other remark: When switching next language, some words remain from the previous language. Why?)
This is a bug which I have now fixed. Now when a translation is incomplete, the missing text will always default to English.
« Last Edit: November 22, 2018, 06:44:10 am by SupSuper »

Offline BOBAH

  • Rookie
  • Posts: 7
  • XX
    • View Profile
    • 1917
Re: ??? symbols in game
« Reply #6 on: November 22, 2018, 08:24:58 am »
A lot of translations are incomplete. If text is missing,...
good explanation, thx.

This is a bug which I have now fixed. Now when a translation is incomplete, the missing text will always default to English.
wow! my first bug-discover!)