Author Topic: Question about Sample.cat and sample2.cat  (Read 948 times)

Offline ajnunezr

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
Question about Sample.cat and sample2.cat
« on: October 04, 2018, 02:07:45 am »
Hi

After updating to OXCE5.1, executable started to ask me for sample.cat and sample2.cat on my sound folder of UFO. The thing is, I do not have those files in my UFO copy, and in my TFTD copy, I have only sample.cat, and not sample2.

TFTD is working flawlessly, but UFO is crashing every time for this reason. I copy TFTD Sample.cat to the UFO folder, and made another copy called Sample2.cat. The problem is solved but I don't get why it ask for a file I had never had.

Does I have a bad copy? Or it is something different?

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5473
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Question about Sample.cat and sample2.cat
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2018, 09:48:06 am »
both Steam files and GOG files contain sample.cat, sample2.cat and even sample3.cat

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2326
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Sample.cat and sample2.cat
« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2018, 05:25:29 pm »
yeah, sounds like you have a bad copy.

Offline ajnunezr

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
Re: [Solved] Question about Sample.cat and sample2.cat
« Reply #3 on: October 04, 2018, 06:06:19 pm »
That is very sad. I have the same copy from 1997....

Well, I will look again

Thanks!

PD.

Thanks again. I found the problem. Reinstalled and get files again.

« Last Edit: October 04, 2018, 08:56:27 pm by ajnunezr »

Offline Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 5473
  • Aaand we're back!
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: Question about Sample.cat and sample2.cat
« Reply #4 on: October 07, 2018, 10:23:59 pm »
There might be a bug in the code as well: https://github.com/SupSuper/OpenXcom/commit/0854dec7da01a14503f750aecaf6c624df33859a
Will be fixed in the next version.

Still, having those files gives you better v1.4 sounds (if I understand correctly), so it's good to have them.

Offline Warboy1982

  • Administrator
  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 2326
  • Developer
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Sample.cat and sample2.cat
« Reply #5 on: October 08, 2018, 03:19:05 am »
oh actually that's a good point, if you're running an unpatched original 1.0 version you'll have problems. you'll want the patch from strategycore

Offline ajnunezr

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 286
    • View Profile
Re: Question about Sample.cat and sample2.cat
« Reply #6 on: October 08, 2018, 05:33:45 am »
That was actually what I did. I searched the original copy, reinstalled in openbox, copy the files, and applied the patch from the strategycore page.

Thanks!.