Author Topic: [DONE][Suggestion] Touch controls  (Read 8919 times)

Offline Meridian

• Global Moderator
  • Commander
    • View Profile
[DONE][Suggestion] Touch controls
« on: July 11, 2017, 04:31:13 pm »
Hello all,

I would like to add Android support for various actions that are currently only possible on PC version, i.e. all ctrl/shift/alt+click/hotkey actions and various right/middle button actions.

For that, I would like to introduce new toggle-buttons on the battlescape UI, see attached screenshot.

I am no artist tho, so I would need help from someone (robin, bloax, anyone?) to create these buttons (both toggled and not-toggled variant and both UFO and TFTD variants). Size of the buttons doesn't matter too much (all buttons should have the same size tho), but the look and feel should be as true to vanilla as possible. Pictogram or text is also up to the artist to decide...

Anyone up for the task?

As a teaser, at least the following actions would be supported via such buttons:
   - ctrl: force fire, run, strafe
   - alt: extra HUD
   - shift: ignore enemies when walking
   - RMB: open doors, turn around, etc.
   - MMB: ufopedia shortcut, alien inventory
   - combo: extra dialog for all ctrl+? shortcuts (e.g. hit log, damage preview and various debug shortcuts); and maybe options for button configuration, if people don't want to see all of them all the time

M.

PS: this would help people, who don't have middle mouse button on their laptops too :)
« Last Edit: February 02, 2023, 10:14:18 pm by Meridian »

Offline ivandogovich

• Commander
  • X-Com Afficionado
    • View Profile
    • Ivan Dogovich Youtube
Re: [Suggestion] Touch controls
« Reply #1 on: July 11, 2017, 07:31:37 pm »
I'm trying out a new program for sprite work called Pro Motion NG.  I think it respects and preserves pallettes but I'm not sure.

I worked up a concept for a "Shift" key.

Edit: added the rest.
« Last Edit: July 11, 2017, 11:31:40 pm by ivandogovich »

Offline Nord

• Commander