Author Topic: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread  (Read 194371 times)

Offline Ethereal

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #855 on: August 14, 2021, 05:42:49 pm »
So I ran UFO: Enemy unknown in DOSBox to check it.
Turns out, it was inconsistent.

Radar ranges in miles, Aircraft armament ranges in KM, Aircraft speeds without units.

This, of course, makes some mess in a clear picture. I was also surprised by this. I were even more surprised by the three Russifications for the dos version. In one, everything is translated into kilometers, in another into miles, in the third... It is better to delete the third Russification and forget it as a terrible dream.

Offline The Reaver of Darkness

  • Commander
  • *****
  • Posts: 1486
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #856 on: August 23, 2021, 09:46:53 pm »
I don't worry whether it's in kilometers or miles as long as it's listed which one it is and the values are correct. I just think of it as Magic Numbers A and Magic Numbers B, because they're really just good for comparison to each other.

For those who don't know, 1 knot is 1 nautical mile per hour. The base game uses knots for speed and nautical miles for distance on the geoscape, and it uses km for distance in the interception window. With knots vs nautical miles, you're really just comparing aircraft speed to flight distance, or flight time, so you don't need to know how far a nautical mile is. Similarly, in the interception window, you're simply comparing one weapon's range with another weapon's range, so you don't need to know how long a kilometer is.

Offline 0xEBJC

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Y'all are awesome! Thankful for this community.
    • View Profile
    • My Projects
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #857 on: September 11, 2021, 04:43:36 pm »
Hey Yankes,

Just wondering if your YAML syntax for mod extensions supports starting base? 
Like the following

Code: [Select]
startingBase:
  facilities: !add
    - type: STR_GENERAL_BUILDING
      x: 3
      y: 2

or

Code: [Select]
startingBase:
  items: !add
    STR_MARK_I_ARMOR: 1

also, is it possible to update properties of items without rewriting the entire items properties like such

Code: [Select]
ufopaedia:
  - id: STR_LMG
    requires: !add
      - STR_ADVANCED_FIREARMS
  - id: STR_LMG_CLIP
    requires: !add
      - STR_ADVANCED_FIREARMS
  - id: STR_LMG_AA_CLIP
    requires: !add
      - STR_ADVANCED_FIREARMS

or not sure on this one either?

Code: [Select]
  - type: STR_AUTO_CANNON
    tuAuto: 40
    tuSnap: 28
    tuAimed: 60
    autoShots: 6

I'm currently testing, but the starting base isn't working.

Thanks!

Offline Yankes

  • Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 2547
    • View Profile
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #858 on: September 11, 2021, 08:40:29 pm »
Answer is simple `!info` will give you hit if given node support this.

For given question, `startingBase` do not support this, overall this nodes have specific handling that prevent use of this functionality.
For `ufopaedia` is not implemented but could be supported.

Offline mercy

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #859 on: September 16, 2021, 06:39:42 pm »
Can the turret be turned for tanks 85mm and 60mm cannons?
I searched through the forum, but only found CTRL + RMB and touch buttons. They don't work: my whole tanks are turning, just like the RMB function on all units.

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7141
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #860 on: September 16, 2021, 06:46:23 pm »
Can the turret be turned for tanks 85mm and 60mm cannons?
I searched through the forum, but only found CTRL + RMB and touch buttons. They don't work: my whole tanks are turning, just like the RMB function on all units.

You need the "alternate movement methods" user setting turned on (the one that enables running and strafing).

Offline 0xEBJC

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Y'all are awesome! Thankful for this community.
    • View Profile
    • My Projects
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #861 on: September 16, 2021, 08:00:33 pm »
I'm guessing this is a problem with X-Com files, but maybe an underlining issue with OXCE.  I'm running v7.0 13 Mar 2021 and XCF v2.0.1 as of 6d ago.  I figure I'd post here instead of on github ticket since it doesn't look like that option is enabled. Posting on openxcom.org/forum OXCE & on mod.io --> X-Com Files, not sure who would ultimately track this issue.

-Issue
Caused By:
-- UFO detected --> Intercept with 'public car' --> UFO detection lost --> choose 'patrol'

Effect:
-- public car immediately disappears from globe geoscape --> open up base menu, equip craft --> shows the craft is at the base currently --> next time an event comes up and choose intercept with same 'public car' --> it immediately appears at the location that it dispersal.

sorry I didn't have a save file for reproducing this.

-JC

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7141
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #862 on: September 16, 2021, 08:06:16 pm »
Sorry, I don't understand the description, too much stuff going on.

Can you create just a single list of numbered steps to follow? And clearly highlight the step which contains the unexpected behaviour.

(And most likely the save will be needed too)

Offline 0xEBJC

  • Sergeant
  • **
  • Posts: 20
  • Y'all are awesome! Thankful for this community.
    • View Profile
    • My Projects
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #863 on: September 16, 2021, 09:05:22 pm »
Yeah, sorry for the confusion.

This is early in the game progression of X-Com Files modpack, before blackops unlocked

Geoscape view
1.) UFO Detection
2.) Choose "Intercept"
3.) Choose "Public/Car"
4.) Public/Car is flying towards UFO
5.) UFO tracking lost
6.) At Menu "what to do with craft" - choose 'patrol'

Effect[1] 'public/car' yellow dot on geoscape immediately disappears.

7.) Immediately goto Base Menu
8.) Goto Equip Craft Menu
9.) 'public/car' shows 'ready' and is at the base

Expected[1] 'public/car' should be 'returning' and showing up as moving yellow dot on geoscape globe

10.) Later... another mission pops up on the geoscape view
11.) Choose intercept
12.) Choose public/car (the same one that disappeared earlier) (this will also be the very next time to choose this craft)

Effect[2]  'public/car' yellow dot immediate appears at the location on the globe where it disappeared, (not originating from the base location)

After that I didn't see this glitch again. and didn't think to post/comment on it until any save games around the time of the glitch were all overwritten with later in the game progression.

-JC
« Last Edit: September 16, 2021, 09:07:28 pm by 0xEBJC »

Offline mercy

  • Colonel
  • ****
  • Posts: 337
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #864 on: September 16, 2021, 09:28:52 pm »
You need the "alternate movement methods" user setting turned on (the one that enables running and strafing).

It was the tank type. Tanks with 85mm or 60 cannons have fixed turrets, they cannot turn it. You can also see on the sprite as the turret and tank body is shaded and rendered to flow together way too photo-perfectly.

While the Cars with automatic grenade launchers have a tiny turret, which is easily separated into its own sprite. Because of the separation the shading and rendering is not continous, but a clear edge made of black pixels.

Rotatable turrets for the tanks would have been a lot of extra work.

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7141
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #865 on: September 16, 2021, 09:32:40 pm »
It was the tank type. Tanks with 85mm or 60 cannons have fixed turrets, they cannot turn it. You can also see on the sprite as the turret and tank body is shaded and rendered to flow together way too photo-perfectly.

While the Cars with automatic grenade launchers have a tiny turret, which is easily separated into its own sprite. Because of the separation the shading and rendering is not continous, but a clear edge made of black pixels.

Rotatable turrets for the tanks would have been a lot of extra work.

OK, no problem.

I don't even know which tanks or even which mod you're talking about.
Mod questions normally belong to mod threads, try to keep this thread for engine questions :)

Offline Fomka

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #866 on: September 20, 2021, 12:46:53 pm »
Engine's bug, maybe.
No TU cost is shown for travelling in flying suit from a craft with a ramp to a place somewhere near the right side of the craft, on the same 2nd level. It happens only when the flying unit needs to move diagonally on the ramp in order to get around another unit standing on the ramp. See the picture and the saved game (X-COM Files mod).

Offline Fomka

  • Captain
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
    • Email
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #867 on: September 20, 2021, 01:18:04 pm »
Another bugreport from the same battlescape, about floating weapon.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Kill a floater flying in the 3rd level with powerful plasma to get the body disintegrated.
2. Watch floater's weapon floating in the air on the same 3rd level.

The lucky shot was made with Fire glove, it is X-COM Files mod.

There is a save in the attached ZIP, it was made right after the shot.
« Last Edit: September 20, 2021, 01:21:05 pm by Fomka »

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7141
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #868 on: September 20, 2021, 01:49:03 pm »
Engine's bug, maybe.
No TU cost is shown for travelling in flying suit from a craft with a ramp to a place somewhere near the right side of the craft, on the same 2nd level. It happens only when the flying unit needs to move diagonally on the ramp in order to get around another unit standing on the ramp. See the picture and the saved game (X-COM Files mod).

And what's the problem?

The unit is not flying through that tile, it flies diagonally.

Online Meridian

  • Global Moderator
  • Commander
  • ***
  • Posts: 7141
  • OXCE developer
    • View Profile
    • My Wiki
Re: OXCE (OpenXcom Extended) main thread
« Reply #869 on: September 20, 2021, 02:18:23 pm »
Another bugreport from the same battlescape, about floating weapon.

Steps to reproduce:
1. Kill a floater flying in the 3rd level with powerful plasma to get the body disintegrated.
2. Watch floater's weapon floating in the air on the same 3rd level.

The lucky shot was made with Fire glove, it is X-COM Files mod.

There is a save in the attached ZIP, it was made right after the shot.

We'll have a look at this.
If not difficult, it will be fixed.